We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, comfie beds, nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Lynchburg
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I showed up late at night after a fight with my sister; I was from out of town, staying at her house, due to the death of my father. Emotions were too high. I needed to be alone. I burst into tears while checking in, and the lovely person at the registration desk could not have been nicer. She was sweet and kind, gave me a nice room and a coupon for breakfast the next morning. The rest of the staff was just as kind and professional throughout my stay. I ended up booking a conjoining room for my family who came later for the funeral. We stayed a few days, had dinner in the restaurant--very nice, service excellent, food quite good. Breakfast was a welcome southern fare. Grits, biscuits and gravy, etc. I've lived in the north too long, and I welcomed all of the southern food and hospitality. I recommend this hotel wholeheartedly. For some reason, my attempt to give it five stars is not going through. TripAdvisor, be aware. I give this hotel a five in all categories, no matter what else you see.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank 3kidsintow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 311 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014

I would like to commend one of the employees for excellent service given to me and my family. Mr. Anthony Slaughter was superb in his professionalism and hospitality. He is truly a valuable asset!!!!!

Room Tip: Ensure that the room is free of pets if you have allergies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie1923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Clean Rooms, Excellent Service and great location. This hotel was perfect for a weekend trip to Lynchburg. Bar, Restaurant on site with great food. Walking distance of coffee shops, restaurants and the waterfront park. Waterfront has great trails, bike rentals and ties into the Hertitage Trail that is the rail to trail program.

Room Tip: Our room was non smoking and we had a microwave and refrigerator. Great water pressure in shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dingram4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I stayed here while I was in town for a medical school interview. I am overall pleased. I got a great deal on priceline so I am definitely happy with the quality of room I got for the price paid. The front desk attendant was very friendly and made sure I had everything I need to have a great stay. They happily brought me up an extra comforter. My room was clean and the house keeping staff I encountered was more than happy to answer my questions. The rooms are a little dark as far as lighting but no major complaints! I would recommend this property and return if I am in Lynchburg again. There is a train that goes by for those that are light sleepers.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StudentTraveler14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This is an older property that needs updating, but as far as hotels within walking distance of good restaurants, bars, and the river, this is one of the only ones in Lynchburg.
The hotel, itself, if passable: there is covered parking within a few yards of the hotel (great for winter), and there is a restaurant/bar within the hotel, which is pretty decent, the rooms are a little dated, but not too bad -- most notably in the bathroom.
I will stay here again (I have already stayed here twice), mostly for the location. There are unique restaurants and drinking holes within a short walk from the hotel, which for me is a must when I travel for business.
If you want to eat at the Olive Garden or at Applebees, the HI Express or Hilton Garden Inn would probably be preferable, but if you want something authentic from Lynchburg, stay downtown.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USA_style
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lynchburg, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear USA_style,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. I am pleased you liked the location of our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed one night for a music event held off site (Mangia). Check in was fast and easy. Room was clean, mattress comfy and heating system was excellent....very cold night! Had drinks at bar and the lobby was busy with a Bridal Expo. Front desk recommended Taxi to Limo and they provided round trip door to door service to Mangia (fabulous Italian meal)at a reasonable fare. We walked 2 blocks to Market on Main for excellent breakfast.

Room Tip: 406 has view of pool..covered in snow
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1MizChiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stayed one night in February (thank God). Tired and in desperate need of an entire facelift. And I mean a gutting. Hallways are musty, lobby had no heat, rooms are well worn, grout in bathroom was multi-coloured from grime.
Staff was grat on check in but that's the only dealing I had with them. Too bad the owners don't revitalize this old hotel like the area around it is trying to do.
Good luck.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank Vancouver_CanadaRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lynchburg, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Vancouver_CanadaRick,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. I am glad to see that you left some feedback on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations.

I read with much concern the troubles you have encountered during your stay. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience and truly sorry for we fell below your standards on most of the services and amenities that we provide. Our main concern is for all our guests to experience an exceptional stay and I am truly sorry if we were not able to deliver this to you. Our guests’ satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. With this said, I will assure you that your comments will be taken into consideration to improve our hotel.

Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We deeply regret that you did not receive the level of service that we strive so hard to achieve. We value you as a guest and we hope this incident will not deter you from giving us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lynchburg hotels
5.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lynchburg
6.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
3.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lynchburg
348 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lynchburg
0.5 mi away
Craddock Terry Hotel
Craddock Terry Hotel
#3 of 23 in Lynchburg
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Lynchburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lynchburg

Address: 601 Main Street, Lynchburg, VA 24504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Lynchburg
Price Range: $145 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Lynchburg 3*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Lynchburg hotel, an anchor of the new Downtown Lynchburg resurgence, is nestled in the heart of five quaint historic districts, with views of the Blue Ridge Mountains and a panoramic view of the city. The hotel is within minutes of the area s largest employers, such as Genworth, Areva, and B&W/McDermott, five universities including Liberty University, Sweet Briar College,Lynchburg College and Randolph College, and Lynchburg Regional Airport. Restaurants, shopping and entertainment are within walking distance, including the reknowned Lynchburg Academy of Fine Arts, and Poplar Forest, Appomattox Courthouse, Natural Bridge and the D-Day Memorial are just a short drive away. Treat yourself to the area's only authentic Peruvian cuisine in our Machu Picchu restaurant. Additional amenities include a seasonal rooftop pool, universal fitness center, complimentary business center, 32 inch flat panel televisions, free wireless high speed Internet, free garage parking, and over 12,000 square feet of flexible conference space. Our general manager, in his 28th year at the property is dedicated to a service culture that will bring you back again and again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Lynchburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Select Lynchburg Hotel Lynchburg
Lynchburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing