We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing fancy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Lynchburg
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was my first time coming to Lynchburg. We stayed at the Holiday Inn on a recommendation. I wasn't sure what to expect upon arrival and was surprised to see a children's pageant going on in the meeting room. During check-in the staff couldn't have been nicer. Upon getting to the room we needed to iron some things so we got the iron and noticed it was ruined. We called the front desk and were quickly supplied a replacement. Once we plugged the replacement and started to use it, rust came out and streaked onto my friends shirt. Needless to say we didn't iron anymore. That night when we returned we got into bed. As a previous review states, the beds are extremely loud and semi-uncomfortable. The next morning was uneventful. Sadly, a breakfast was not available for free, but it wasn't promised, although it would be nice. Check out went smooth and we departed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Totallrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcamm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lynchburg, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear TotallRob,

Thank you for your review!

I am sorry to hear that your shirt was damaged by the iron in the room.

If replacement is required, please send an email to hislynchburg@hislynchburg.com

The squeeky bed bases is a manufacturers problem that we are working to eradicate with our preventative maintenance program.

Please accept my apologies for the parts of your stay that did not go well.


Tony Camm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    116
    61
    29
    18
See reviews for
100
55
21
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lawton, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This property is in a great location. Relatively close to both Lynchburg and Randolph Colleges.
The lobby is very spacious, and the guest rooms are clean and well appointed. The bathroom in my room was a little small but workable. The hotel has a bar and restaurant which I did not try. Free parking is offered in an adjacent, well lit parking garage.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcamm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lynchburg, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Biff G,

Thank you for your review!

We hope to see you again as your future travels bring you to our city.


Tony Camm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrsjohnnyp
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I shared a room with my dad and sister. The beds are not only tiny (good thing we are small or we wouldnt have fit) but are the most uncomfortable creeky mattress I've ever slept on. Every move you make wakes you up bc the bed is so loud. There were also a lot of bleach stains on the carpet. The only things positive about this place is the food and that's its downtown. Although it'll be hard to enjoy your vacation bc youll be so cranky from a lack of sleep and a stiff body hahaha.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsjohnnyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcamm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lynchburg, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear MrsjohnnyP,

Thank you for your review!

I can empathize with your issues with both the squeeky beds and the stained hallway carpet.

The squeeky beds are a manufacturer problem that we are working to eliminate, and we will be installing brand new guest hallway carpet within the next month.

Hopefully the next time you find yourself in our area you will give us another chance to make things right with you.


Tony Camm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Park, NC
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Our king leisure room was spacious, included small refrigerator and microwave. Free parking garage. Free Wi-Fi. Rate doesn't include breakfast, but don't complain. Use this as a perfect excuse to go down Main Street to the Community Market. Fabulous bakery and two other breakfast choices there. Hotel staff were very courteous. Would stay here again. Didn't get more than 4 stars because of grimy wallpaper at the lobby elevators, which I noticed while waiting too long for an elevator.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Draftcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcamm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lynchburg, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Draftcross,

Thank you for your review!

I'm delighted that you got an opportunity to enjoy some of the delights of our downtown.

We have addressed the wallpaper at the elevators, and we hope to see you again.


Tony Camm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed there for a wedding. I traveled with my elderly mother and was hoping to check in early so she could rest before the evening wedding. The woman at the reservation counter tried very hard to get our room ready earlier or even to get another room in the same area, but none were available. We finally checked in right at 3:00. The room was clean and met our needs. Breakfast at their restaurant was very reasonable, unlike a lot of hotels, and was very good. The hostess, Pat(ricia) had a great sense of humor and made our meal an enjoyable one. The server, Ralph, was very polite and responsive to our needs as a large group -- a very good experience. The location is perfect for walking to lots of shops and restaurants, and was somewhat hilly depending on where you're headed. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmb_1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcamm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lynchburg, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Imb_1026,


Thank you for your review!

We are delighted that your stay with us was very enjoyable, and that you had a chance to explore our beautiful downtown.


Tony Camm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, VA
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed at this hotel one night for local wedding being held downtown. Overall the hotel is good. The lobby is open and large, front desk friendly and the room was clean. It was large and had a small desk and lounging chair. The bed and pillows were comfortable. The bathroom is on the small side - you need to move to the side of the toilet to close the door. But it is updated and water pressure was wonderful. Parking is free and it is either a very small old lot outside or the parking garage next door. Currently the hotel is being renovated - there was black plastic taped to the ceiling in the hallways.
I was happy with the location only because it was walking distance to the event, but I would say this is not a lively downtown. I've lived in the area so I know some of the other hotels are in nicer areas that are closer to shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trav16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcamm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lynchburg, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Trav16,

Thank you for review!

We are glad that your stay was an enjoyable one.

Renovations on the 8th floor ceiling are almost complete, and will most certainly be done prior to your next visit with us.


Tony Camm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I was very impressed with the Peruvian fare in the restaurant. Surprisingly, the restaurant is very unimposing and there were only a few folks dining on a Saturday evening. The first menu is the normaly burgers, steaks, etc. A second smaller menu is also provided and it was authentic Peruvian food (from the mountain areas). Having been to Peru, I was skeptical but the appetizer and dinner were amazing. The Chef came to see us afterwards and we were delighted to speak with her and discuss the foods of Peru. Thanks for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matt f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lynchburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Craddock Terry Hotel
Craddock Terry Hotel
#3 of 23 in Lynchburg
862 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
3.7 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lynchburg
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
4.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Lynchburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lynchburg

Property: Holiday Inn Lynchburg
Address: 601 Main Street, Lynchburg, VA 24504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Lynchburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Lynchburg 3*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Lynchburg hotel, an anchor of the new Downtown Lynchburg resurgence, is nestled in the heart of five quaint historic districts, with views of the Blue Ridge Mountains and a panoramic view of the city. The hotel is within minutes of the area s largest employers, such as Genworth, Areva, and B&W/McDermott, five universities including Liberty University, Sweet Briar College,Lynchburg College and Randolph College, and Lynchburg Regional Airport. Restaurants, shopping and entertainment are within walking distance, including the reknowned Lynchburg Academy of Fine Arts, and Poplar Forest, Appomattox Courthouse, Natural Bridge and the D-Day Memorial are just a short drive away. Treat yourself to the area's only authentic Peruvian cuisine in our Machu Picchu restaurant. Additional amenities include a seasonal rooftop pool, universal fitness center, complimentary business center, 32 inch flat panel televisions, free wireless high speed Internet, free garage parking, and over 12,000 square feet of flexible conference space. Our general manager, in his 28th year at the property is dedicated to a service culture that will bring you back again and again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Lynchburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Select Lynchburg Hotel Lynchburg
Lynchburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing