We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best indoor pool in town but on the decline”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Lynchburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2014

This hotel has been my family and friends go to spot for stay-cations for the last 10 to 15 years. the service was always excellent, rooms clean, beautiful view, close to movies and shopping, and the best indoor pool and hot tub around. we have had birthday parties, family reunions, girls weekends.....but since the hotel management has changed we are seeing a slow but steady decline. the rooms are not crisp and clean. dusty, stained carpet, minor wear and tear damage that has been kept up. Musty odor in rooms on the first floor. Customer service has declined. the staff are not as friendly or helpful. the quality of the breakfast has declined. I generally expect a freshly cleaned hotel room to smell like bleach or cleanser. the tub was visibly dirty and the bathroom smelled musty and of old urine.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hope2heal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

We have enjoyed being part of your “family celebrations” for the past fifteen years! Although we have new management, all the former employees were hired back… many who have been here 10 years or more! It has been a number of years since the Wingate Lynchburg has been renovated and we are excited to announce that we will begin a complete remodeling this summer. This will include all guest rooms, lobby, breakfast and exterior of the hotel. We look forward to celebrating with you more when it is complete!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 1,165 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2014

Beds are EXCELLENT and so comfortable!!! The couch is also very comfortable. Staff and service are excellent and they go above and beyond to make sure you are happy. I missed the shuttle the first day of class and one of the staff members gave me a ride to school. The view is amazing and I got to watch the sun set over the mountains every evening. Close to the scool and many places to eat. Excellent breakfast. Very clean hotel. I will definately come back to this hotel every time I am in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Wingate Lynchburg… we are always looking for ways to make each stay better and glad that we were able to “Exceed All Your Expectations.” Glad that you took the opportunity to enjoy our beautiful view of the City of Lynchburg and the surrounding Blue Ridge Mountains. We look forward to having you stay with us again on your next trip to Lynchburg!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brian K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

The view from the hotel was amazing; however, the amenities were not. My room and bathroom were not clean - including hair in the shower soap dish, a used coffee pod in the coffee pot, and a dirty film on the furniture. (Thank goodness I brought Clorox wipes) The sheets were itchy, fridge wouldn't chill and bathroom smelled of urine-tainted mop water...and when I stated my room smelled poorly, I was handed a can of air freshener. I will be staying elsewhere for my next intensive.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
Thank Sallie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Thank you for taking time to speak with me on my follow-up phone call. One of our values is to “Inspect what you expect” and your room was not up to our high standards. Although we will be starting a major remodeling very soon, there is no excuse for your room not being cleaned properly. Your review has been shared with our entire Wingate Team and we are going to make sure that all rooms are thoroughly inspected before they are made available to our guests. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Amy V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brian K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Preston N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brian K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was ok for the price but could use some routine maintenance as well as a better selection of hot foods for their hot complimentary continental breakfast. They were serving already prepared, read nasty, egg and cheese omelets with mystery meat chicken pattys. I doubt that we will choose to stay here in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank wescoleri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Our goal is to always exceed guest expectations… we always want to be able to “WOW” our guests. One of the ways that we try to do this is by offering a variety of breakfast options. Each morning we try to offer something different on our buffet. Some of the items that we alternate include: Scrambled Eggs, Cheese Omelets, and Western Omelets along with options of either Bacon, Linked Sausage, Smoked Sausage and Canadian Bacon. (One of newest items is the Tyson Chicken Breast Patties.) If you have any other suggestions for items that we may be able to offer, please let us know!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lynchburg hotels
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lynchburg
348 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
1.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University

Address: 3777 Candlers Mountain Road, Lynchburg, VA 24502 (Formerly Wingate by Wyndham Lynchburg/Liberty University)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Lynchburg
#8 Family Hotel in Lynchburg
Price Range: $95 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other hotel in Lynchburg offers a better location! Travel with confidence by checking into Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Lynchburg Liberty University. Our Lynchburg, Virginia hotel offers outstanding service to make all of your travels easy and comfortable - at an exceptional value. We are always ready to welcome you with amenities like thoughtfully designed guest rooms and suites that allow you to work and relax, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel to stay connected during your stay, and fitness facilities that include a pool and exercise room. You'll find it easy to settle into our vibrant lobby, with spaces to gather, relax and work. You'll always find the courteous service you deserve, plus all the little things you expect from Fairfield Inn & Suites to help you get it done when you travel. Enjoy complimentary Shuttle Service to/from Lynchburg Regional Airport and Kemper Street Train Station, and an ideal location close to Liberty University and Lynchburg College. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham - Lynchburg Hotel Lynchburg
Lynchburg Wyndham
Wingate Lynchburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing