We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Location, Extremely Friendly Staff, Above Average Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Lynchburg
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“Pretty Location, Extremely Friendly Staff, Above Average Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

My colleague and I stayed here on a Saturday night, after working all day. Unfortunately there was a mix-up with the reservation and there was only one bed in the room. I guess all the two-bed rooms were taken (we arrived around 10 p.m.) so they switched us to a suite on the 5th floor with a king bed & sofa bed. Not ideal, but we made do.

Be advised the sofa (pullout) bed is like sleeping on springs with a sheet... there is no discernible mattress pad. However, the king bed was quite comfortable.

The TV and Wi-Fi worked well and we enjoyed having a big desk in the room. The bathroom was reasonably spacious and had nice, upgraded complimentary toiletries. The showerhead has rotating "massage" options.

One of the best things about this hotel, in my opinion, is the impressive complimentary breakfast, which is served until 10 a.m. on weekends. The buffet includes: mini-omelettes, sausage patties, oatmeal, yogurt, cold cereals, oranges, bananas, apples, juices, fresh muffins, Belgian waffle maker, bagels and some things I'm sure I'm forgetting.

To be honest, not all of the food is wonderful, but you shouldn't have any trouble finding at least a few things to please your palate. My buddy didn't care for the pre-made oatmeal and I thought the mini-omelettes were just "okay"... not great, but not bad. The coffee on the other hand, is some of the best I've had in a hotel... not weak, like most lodging facilities.

The breakfast area is spacious and comfortable, and there is a big screen TV showing either news during the week, or sports on the weekends.

The hotel has a fitness room and indoor pool located near the lobby. I didn't make use of them, but I noticed a few guests did.

The hotel is owned by Liberty University, and there's a sign over the front desk in the lobby announcing this fact. The campus is just down the road and I'm guessing there are at least some students included among Wingate's very friendly staff.

Next time I'm passing through Lynchburg, I'll definitely consider staying at this facility again... mainly for the refreshing breakfast!

Room Tip: Higher rooms afford a nicer view. On the weekends, the breakfast area starts getting crowded after 9...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginian01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
We appreciate your flexibility by allowing us to upgrade you to one of our Executive Business Suites. (As part of our remodeling this Fall, we will be adding more rooms with 2 Queen Beds.) Glad you enjoyed your breakfast… we try to have something for everyone! I will share your comments with Teresa, our Breakfast Manager. Thanks also for the kind words about our staff, we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Lynchburg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    344
    182
    70
    33
See reviews for
489
101
91
381
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was a great property. Pool and hot tub were clean and warm and the staff friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for your AWESOME REVIEW of the Wingate Lynchburg… thank you for recognizing that we have a great property and a friendly staff. Glad you have a chance to enjoy our pool and hot tub too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springdale, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Great place to stay,very clean room,excellent customer service,great contiential breakfast..Overall just an excellent place to stay..Highly recommend!!! We stayed two nights and was quite comfortable and happy :)

Room Tip: highly recommend...great place to stay!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanmikebrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thanks you for HIGHLY RECOMMENDING the Wingate Lynchburg! Our goal is to always exceed guest expectations we appreciate you sharing your great experience. We appreciate your compliments on our clean rooms, excellent customer service, and great continental breakfast and will share them with our staff. We want every guest to experience a Great Wingate Stay!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel earlier this week for 1 night (business trip). Check in was pretty fast considering 4 guests showed up at the same time....GRRRR. Anyway, I had stayed at a Wingate in Chrarlotte NC in December, and this hotel was EXACTLY like that one. Every detail was identical. This hotel chain obviously prides itself on cleanliness. I always check the bed mattress for bed bugs/stains before I unpack, etc. As I said, very clean in every area.

The beds are very nice and comfy. I like beds to be slightly firm and that's exactly what I got. The bathroom was very clean as well. Good shower head water pressure. The location of this hotel is really cool. Its up on the mountain across the highway from the main buildings of Liberty University. Great views! My favorite part of the hotel was the hot tub and heated pool. If you stay here before fall kicks in, you have to give both a try! The hot tub had great jets and was a life saver for me (I have a bad back). The pool was heated just enough to be warm. Again give them a try.

Now for my only gripe. The breakfast....not great. Really only the hot part was not good. The bacon was dry and they had what looked like some type of egg omelet thing. It looked gross. Not what I wanted to see after just waking up. The oatmeal was good though, so I had that and yogurt. They do have a fairly good selection of food though.

If I every have to stay in Lynchburg again, I would stay here. Its a great value for what you get!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snorkeljunky2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
We are glad that you had a GREAT STAY with us at the Wingate Lynchburg! Thank you for recognizing the pride that our staff had in our hotel. Our goal is to always exceed guest expectations! Glad you enjoyed the pool and hot tub – they are available year-round for guest enjoyment. We try to offer a variety of breakfast options (both hot & cold) on a daily basis. If you have any suggestions of other breakfast items that you would like us to add, please let us know! THANKS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lynchburg hotels
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lynchburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lynchburg
1.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Lynchburg
SpringHill Suites Lynchburg
#10 of 23 in Lynchburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University
Address: 3777 Candlers Mountain Rd, Lynchburg, VA 24502-2227 (Formerly Wingate by Wyndham Lynchburg/Liberty University)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Lynchburg
#8 Family Hotel in Lynchburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other hotel in Lynchburg offers a better location! Travel with confidence by checking into Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott®, a hotel with outstanding service to make all of your travels easy and comfortable - at an exceptional value. We are always ready to welcome you with amenities like thoughtfully designed guest rooms and suites that allow you to work and relax, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel to stay connected during your stay, and fitness facilities that include a pool and exercise room. You'll find it easy to settle into our vibrant lobby, with spaces to gather, relax and work. Jump-start your day with our free breakfast, now with more hot choices like scrambled eggs, sausage and oatmeal, plus favorites including fresh fruit and yogurt. You'll always find the courteous service you deserve, plus all the little things you expect from Fairfield Inn & Suites to help you get it done when you travel. Complimentary Shuttle Service to/from Lynchburg Regional Airport and Kemper Street Train Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham - Lynchburg Hotel Lynchburg
Lynchburg Wyndham
Wingate Lynchburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing