We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Lynchburg
Certificate of Excellence
CHESAPEAKE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not so super!”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Location great! Bed super comfy! But----housekeeping needs to do better. Lost a rate savings by reserving room 1 month in advance. Week I went, the rate was $20 less. No wonder they wouldn't give lower rate. Watch the no cancelling warning!!! Never again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
1 Thank NANCY W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
During the month of December we ran a "Holiday Special" with discounted rates for families coming to visit Lynchburg. It sounds like you may have booked with a "3rd Party" web site at a higher rate. (Many of these web sites have a no refund policy.) We always encourage guests to book directly, through our 800# or online through our Wingate web site. If you have any specific problems with Housekeeping we definitely want to know. Our Housekeeping Supervisor will inspect the room that you stayed in and correct any problems. On your next visit, please contact me directly and I will make sure you get the best rate!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    344
    182
    70
    34
See reviews for
494
102
91
381
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2012

My husband and I booked the Jacuzzi suite....it was with out a doubt...Awesome!!!! We wanted a very relaxing weekend away and that is what we got...the only thing I would suggest, is for the cleaning staff to not disturb on check out day until either 12:00 or after you have left. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We plan on going back again soon!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberlynette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Glad you had an AWESOME WEEKEND with us here at the Wingate! It is always great to have a weekend away and our Jacuzzi Suite is our most popular room on weekends. Because it takes 20-30 minutes to thoroughly clean a room our Housekeeping Staff arrives at 9:30 am on weekends to get started. Unless there is a “Do Not Disturb” sign, our Housekeepers will typically knock on the door to see what time you would like to have your room serviced. (Because of their outstanding efforts we have the cleanest rooms in town!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We have been staying at the Wingate occasionally for the past four years while our daughter attended Liberty University. We have always found it to be clean and the staff is more than accommodating. It is convenient to the college, shopping and restaurants. The breakfast is very good, nice variety of food and the same lady has been in charge of it since we started going there. One recommendation would be an update on the fitness area. The machines are old and there are only 3 machines. Would love to see some new equipment in the fitness area. Otherwise, I would definitely recommend the Wingate.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the mountains and college have a beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your comments and for recognizing Teresa, our Breakfast Manager. She really believes in the “Golden Rule -- Do unto others as you would have then do unto you!” This is one of our values for our entire staff at the Wingate. Thanks also for your recommendation on the Fitness Center. We are preparing to make some upgrades next year and we will request that new equipment for our Fitness Center be put on the top of the list! In addition to our current equipment, we also have an agreement in place at Gold’s Gym which allows our guests to use their entire gym for just $5.00 per day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mammoth Spring, Arkansas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I picked this hotel because of the location to a business meeting. There are a lot of hotels in the area that I could have chosen, but the view overlooking the city is fabulous! That being said, the rest was not so great. I did get an AARP discount and the manager upgraded my room to the view side at no cost, which was wonderful.

The employees were pleasant, and I was looking forward to using the gym, but it was very poor quality and the leg and ab press were not usable. The only other equipment was a treadmill and eliptical machine. "Better than nothing" is not high praise.

The actual hotel room was large, and at first glance, was nice, but I did run into some issues: 1.) The small fridge was so noisy I had to unplug it 2.) The hair dryer did not work 3.) There is a scratchy surface on the tub that makes a bath impossible and a shower uncomfortable 4.) The TV did not work properly and kept freezing up and skipping. I called the front desk and they said it was a new system and had a lot of glitches. (Yes, yes it did.)

The check out was at noon according to the info in my room (maybe it had changed?!) and I was continuously harassed by the staff from about 9:00 am on. I even got a call at my home to please remove my things from the room. Since I left before noon - I am guessing they called me when I was having my free breakfast downstairs. Yikes!!! They must have really needed my room! Wow! Would never go there again. Ever.

Room Tip: If you stay at this hotel, in spite of my warnings - get a room on the side that overlooks the city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ralphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for selecting the Wingate for your stay in Lynchburg and I want to apologize for your experience was unsatisfactory. Anytime a guest has a concern, we like to know immediately so that we can correct the problem. (For instance, the Refrigerator and the Hair Dryer that you spoke about has already been replaced.)

We are excited about the many new upgrades here at the Wingate. Recently we refinished all of our tubs and added a non-slip surface to prevent injuries. During your stay we were upgrading our television programming with a new digital signal which increased our television line-up to 150 channels. As part of the remodeling beginning next year, we will be replacing all of our Fitness Center Equipment.

Our conscientious Housekeeping Staff does typically arrive at 9:00 am to begin cleaning rooms and I am sorry that they disturbed you by knocking more than once. We always suggest using a “Do Not Disturb” to ensure that you are not interrupted. Also, with advance notice, we are more than happy to offer a late check-out.

Again we apologize that your experience was not up to our own high standards and hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you better. Please contact me directly so I can set up a reservation at a discounted rate to make up for your inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lynchburg hotels
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lynchburg
327 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lynchburg
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Lynchburg
Courtyard Lynchburg
#17 of 23 in Lynchburg
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University
Address: 3777 Candlers Mountain Road, Lynchburg, VA 24502 (Formerly Wingate by Wyndham Lynchburg/Liberty University)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Lynchburg
#8 Family Hotel in Lynchburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other hotel in Lynchburg offers a better location! Travel with confidence by checking into Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Lynchburg Liberty University. Our Lynchburg, Virginia hotel offers outstanding service to make all of your travels easy and comfortable - at an exceptional value. We are always ready to welcome you with amenities like thoughtfully designed guest rooms and suites that allow you to work and relax, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel to stay connected during your stay, and fitness facilities that include a pool and exercise room. You'll find it easy to settle into our vibrant lobby, with spaces to gather, relax and work. You'll always find the courteous service you deserve, plus all the little things you expect from Fairfield Inn & Suites to help you get it done when you travel. Enjoy complimentary Shuttle Service to/from Lynchburg Regional Airport and Kemper Street Train Station, and an ideal location close to Liberty University and Lynchburg College. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham - Lynchburg Hotel Lynchburg
Lynchburg Wyndham
Wingate Lynchburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing