We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay, but ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Lynchburg
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
LATROBE
1
Reviewed August 25, 2012

My wife and I were very pleased with the motel cleanliness. This attribute is always the most important for us. The fact that your facility in Lynchburg, VA is totally pet and smoke free is great. However, the cost per room (excluding taxes) is approximately 30-35% higher than rooms of equal or better quality at other motels in the Lynchburg area.

This was my first stay at a Wyndam and stayed there only because all other motels of equal and/or better quality and value were booked in the Lynchburg area. As always, I will continue to shop around in the future to ensure that I receive the best value for my money. You should consider lowering your prices to match those of other smilar quality motels.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Many of our Housekeeping Team Members have been working at the Wingate Lynchburg for 5-10 years and strive to exceed guest expectations. They will love to hear your comments.
When comparing hotels, be sure that that are no “hidden charges” such as breakfast. Our rates are always inclusive so they include everything such as a Hot Breakfast Buffet. We also include amenities that other hotels are not able to provide such as a Heated Indoor Pool & Spa with a retractable roof so you can enjoy being outdoors while you are indoors! Finally, be sure to ask for any available discounts or internet specials. You can also sign up for Wyndham Rewards so can earn valuable points for every stay. We feel that no other hotel chain can match the value of what the Wingate Lynchburg offers and hope you will chose us again on your next trip!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,023 - 1,029 of 1,166 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2012

It was our first time staying at the Windgate hotel. The view from our room was amazing. The one complaint would have to be the pool, it was not a good representation of what the rest of the hotel and outside surrounding presented.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group
Thank Zaira D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Yes, the view from the Wingate Lynchburg is simply amazing… on a clear day you can see for 50 miles! On a daily basis we typically receive many positive comments from guests about our Indoor Pool. Many like the fact that the pool roof is retractable and can be opened during the summer months. I am sorry that the pool did not meet your expectations on your recent visit and we keep a closer look to make sure it looks as good as the rest of our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Enjoyed our 2 night stay. Comfortable, quiet room with lovely view overlooking Liberty University. Sofa bed not very comfortable. Delicious hot breakfast, although eggs not quite as good the second morning (odd texture and taste).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Glad you enjoyed stay and look forward to staying with us again! Anytime you need extra padding, please let us know and we will bring an extra comforter to your room. Unlike some hotels, we don’t use powdered eggs, but they may have been a bit overcooked. I will let our Breakfast Manager know so we can keep things fresh!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The hotel staff was very nice and accommodating. We enjoyed the indoor pool and hot tub. We were pleasantly surprised with complimentary chair massages in the dining area, and after traveling in the car and moving our student into the dorm, the massages were wonderful. The only improvement needed was the cleanliness of our room. The room was clean, but it was obvious that the room needed to be freshened up and aired out. A quick dusting and fluffing of the bed sheets would have made the room feel just cleaned for us. The bathroom was clean, but you could see where mold had stained the grout in the tub. Overall a good stay, but negotiate with the staff for their absolute best price. We saved an extra $50 a night!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Thank you for recognizing our staff! We’re glad you enjoyed the complimentary massage too, this is something new that we offer to our guests every Monday evening during check-in from 4:00 to 6:30 pm. We are already begun stripping and replacing grout in all bath tubs and this should be completed in a month. Your suggestion on “airing out the room” was excellent and we will remind our Housekeeping Staff how important this freshness is. We should to inspect what we expect! Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We have been to this hotel several times over the last couple years as our daughter is attending college there. We have also tried several different hotels in the arera. When we arrived in our room and there was a mold smell. My wife at this time spoke with house cleaning person about the smell. They just stated that they would spray some air freshener. After leaving for a while and returning the smell was still in the room. We believe it was from the air conditioner and hope this is looked into.
Thank you

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group
Thank Ronald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

You are correct; the smell was coming from the drip pan in your air conditioning unit. We are in the process of upgrading all HVAC units at the Wingate with newer models that are more reliable and energy efficient. You will be very pleased when you come back for your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Daytime front desk staff could have been more friendly and helpful. It seemed as if we were bothering them by being there. Night staff much more pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

We always try to do our best to give a friendly smile and greeting to each and every guest and we are sorry that we missed this opportunity. Even when our day gets a little hectic, we should make an extra effort to give a friendly greeting. (Many of our staff members have worked at the Wingate for years and know the guests on a first-name basis.) Each time a guest enters the Wingate, they greeted by a sign that reads: “May ALL enter as GUESTS, and leave as FRIENDS.”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Breakfast was good but never enough help at front desk called down for help with something said they'd come never came

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group
Thank Queenbee4067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

When a guest needs help, we are happy to assist them. However, sometimes it is so busy at the Front Desk that it is difficult get upstairs. To better assist our guests, we recently hired a new team member who will be able to assist the Front Desk with special requests from our guests, including maintenance issues, fresh towels or just lending an extra hand. We appreciate you staying with us and will try not to let this happen next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lynchburg hotels
1.3 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lynchburg
351 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lynchburg
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
1.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University

Address: 3777 Candlers Mountain Road, Lynchburg, VA 24502 (Formerly Wingate by Wyndham Lynchburg/Liberty University)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Lynchburg
#8 Family Hotel in Lynchburg
Price Range: $94 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other hotel in Lynchburg offers a better location! Travel with confidence by checking into Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Lynchburg Liberty University. Our Lynchburg, Virginia hotel offers outstanding service to make all of your travels easy and comfortable - at an exceptional value. We are always ready to welcome you with amenities like thoughtfully designed guest rooms and suites that allow you to work and relax, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel to stay connected during your stay, and fitness facilities that include a pool and exercise room. You'll find it easy to settle into our vibrant lobby, with spaces to gather, relax and work. You'll always find the courteous service you deserve, plus all the little things you expect from Fairfield Inn & Suites to help you get it done when you travel. Enjoy complimentary Shuttle Service to/from Lynchburg Regional Airport and Kemper Street Train Station, and an ideal location close to Liberty University and Lynchburg College. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham - Lynchburg Hotel Lynchburg
Lynchburg Wyndham
Wingate Lynchburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing