We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Lynchburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cochranville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Short Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

Only stayed at the hotel for one night and unfortunately we were woke up at 8am by the housekeepers after getting in the hotel after 1 in the morning. The breakfast which was included in the stay was over by 9am which was a little early but had a good variety. Overall, the hotel was clean and the rooms were comfortable and spacious. The hotel is in a good location for visiting Liberty.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heatherNkyle0827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    343
    181
    70
    33
See reviews for
487
101
90
380
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

When I stayed at the Wingate in Lynchburg I found the beds to be very comfortable and the room to have a decent amount of space. The pillows by themselves were extraordinarily soft and the bathrooms were some of the cleanest I have seen in any hotel. The commplimentary breakfast was had a good variety. THe hotel was also located somewhat close to some fine restaurants, shopping centers, and attractions. The view was incredible from the hotel. Overall it was a great value and incredible experience for me.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wingatelyn, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience you had at our Wingate with others! It was our pleasure to have you and we hope to see you again soon. Keep in mind that with the spectacular fall colors coming and our view for them this is the place to be!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

I have stayed at Wingate at least five or six times and it's always been a plesurable experience. My son is a student at Liberty and I feel like this is my home away from home. Clean, comfortable and convenient. The rooms are equipped with mini-fridges and microwaves, and the desk area is great for computer work. My best experience was last winter when everyone got snowed in. The staff had soup going in the hot pots, and I sat in the hot tub watching the snow come down.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room facing the University. The sunsets are breath-taking over the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DadimaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed overnight at the Wingate and found the accommodations to be excellent. The room was spacious and top-notch clean. The extensive complimentary breakfast was delicious. And an added plus was the indoor pool! I enjoyed a swim and admired the beautiful surroundings with nice comfortable deck furniture; a good place to relax with a book. Wonderful hot tub too! You can enjoy breakfast at one of the several tables by the pool as well. We will return!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roanoke-reader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

Trying to escape our hurricane, we chose Lynchburg and not knowing what we would get on Hotwire, we ended up with this hotel. Reviews are right about beautiful views. breakfast was great, too. The pool was decent, nothing fancy, but a nice whirlpool as well. my only complaint would be the smell in our room was almost moldy. Not bad, but there was definitely a hallway smell, too...could all be from the pool.
front desk very friendly, too...Beds are nice but not HILTON nice. :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnasVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

Our stay was a dual purpose visit - part of local wedding party and also to escape Hurricane Irene. Staff was very accomodating and went the extra mile to meet guests' needs in midst of influx of people escaping the storm. The manager personally greeted guests and made sure everyone was comfortable. Great breakfast. Rooms were large and clean, comfortable beds. Only concern was the noisy a/c which ran non-stop. We visit Lynchburg often and will definitely stay at the Wingate again.

Room Tip: Ask about the view - some rooms face
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MinJ2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

I have stayed here in the past and didn't have any issues but that was back in 2003. This time it was a bit muggy in the room but expected as it was very humid out. Laid on the bed to do some work on computer and saw a bug crawling on top of the bedding. I have never encountered a bed bug in my life so looked them up on internet and confirmed that the type of bug I saw was in fact a bed bug. I checked all the rest of the sheets etc. and found yet another one deep under the sheets so I then decided to switch hotels. In reading about bed bugs, if there's one, there's more hiding and they can spread if not taken care of. It has nothing to do with cleanliness of hotel and they can travel in other travelers luggage to get to that hotel. I left and am still waiting for the hotel manager to call and credit my charge as I left in the middle of night late and located another hotel. Always check your bedding, and please keep in mind that bed bugs are on the rise in the u.s. Otherwise the staff was friendly, rooms were nice and I was looking forward to my still until I saw the bugs.

Room Tip: Check the bedding and under mattrresses just in case
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWittmer, Owner at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Orkin Exterminating has done a full investigation/service of this room, and I regret to inform you the report was 100% negative of ANY bed bugs or bugs of any type. Should you like a copy of this report we will be happy to furnish that for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lynchburg hotels
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lynchburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
1.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Lynchburg
SpringHill Suites Lynchburg
#10 of 23 in Lynchburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University
Address: 3777 Candlers Mountain Rd, Lynchburg, VA 24502-2227 (Formerly Wingate by Wyndham Lynchburg/Liberty University)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Lynchburg
#8 Family Hotel in Lynchburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other hotel in Lynchburg offers a better location! Travel with confidence by checking into Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott®, a hotel with outstanding service to make all of your travels easy and comfortable - at an exceptional value. We are always ready to welcome you with amenities like thoughtfully designed guest rooms and suites that allow you to work and relax, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel to stay connected during your stay, and fitness facilities that include a pool and exercise room. You'll find it easy to settle into our vibrant lobby, with spaces to gather, relax and work. Jump-start your day with our free breakfast, now with more hot choices like scrambled eggs, sausage and oatmeal, plus favorites including fresh fruit and yogurt. You'll always find the courteous service you deserve, plus all the little things you expect from Fairfield Inn & Suites to help you get it done when you travel. Complimentary Shuttle Service to/from Lynchburg Regional Airport and Kemper Street Train Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham - Lynchburg Hotel Lynchburg
Lynchburg Wyndham
Wingate Lynchburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing