We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We Loved it and we will be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Lynchburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
141 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“We Loved it and we will be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

My husband had to take a Intensive class at Liberty University and we decided to stay and Wingate by Wydnham based on the overall rates on Trip Advisor. I am very happy with our choice. We had to stay for 6 nights and the staff was always very helpful. Our room was clean, quite and we had a nice area to work. Internet speed worked great too. Breakfast was really nice, good variety Hot and Cold, the breakfast area was a little bit crowded sometimes because everybody had to leave at the same time but we managed well. Workout area was very small but it was good. Pool was great. My son and I had a lot of fun. Location also was perfect, very close to Liberty University and restaurants and we had a couple of options for shopping too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to Liberty University, otherwise you will just see the back of a hill as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilovetotravel211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    344
    182
    70
    33
See reviews for
489
101
91
381
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
newnan
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

I stayed in the Wingate during a one week intensive. Great breakfast. Great business center. Good housekeeping. Kinda expensive and not close to anything. If you can catch a ride to the walmart with one of your classmates, to get some hot pockets or etc., then you dont need anything but breakfast cause there is a microwave and frig in all the rooms. Overall I would stay there again if I was splitting it with someone else. Even when you ask for the distant learning price for liberty university students

Room Tip: If booking directly thru hotel site call directly to the hotel for the Liberty student price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triple-cee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

It's an OKAY stay. There are positives & negatives. The negatives out-weighed the positives for me so I WILL NOT BE BACK!

POSITIVES:
1. JOE was AWESOME! He was very accommodating when the other front desk person told me that a particular room was not available. Joe found just what I wanted.

2. Very close proximity to LU! Walking distance even!

3. Beautiful view.

4. Great breakfast. However, there was no meat on Friday.

5. Nice pool. However, no outlets for laptops or electronics.

NEGATIVES:

1. Front desk person did not greet me, that is until I greeted her first and asked how she was doing!!

2. Bathroom WAS NOT CLEAN. Hair on the floor, mold in the shower. Bathroom door had some sort of paint or discoloration and it looked GROSS!

3. Some staff members (front desk) seemed BOTHERED by doing things that were their job, ie. answering the phones and connecting calls to guest rooms.

4. There were ONLY 2 luggage carts for 5 floors. People were waiting in the lobby for the luggage cart. That was ridiculous. After a three hour road trip, the last thing I wanted to do was wait for a luggage cart!!!

All in all, the hotel wasn't the worst I've stayed in. I would stay here for my next trip, but some staff members have made it a deal breaker for me!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LUSTUDENT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wingatelyn, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
First of all let me apologize for some of my staff members, I will be sure to bring this review and all its contents to my staff. I am very sorry you did not get the warm welcome that all our guests deserve, as you can see from other reviews that is not our norm. I do appreciate you mentioning Joe by name and his outstand service to you! I commend you for not only mentioning the negative but also praising the positive! This review will give us the opportunity to not only grow but to also improve for the future. If there is anything I can do to sway you in giving us another opportunity to have you as our guest, please do not hesitate to contact me at sue@sehotel.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

This hotel is the poster child for southern hospitality :) The staff made me feel like a VIP, very attentive, helpful, and polite to my every request. The hotel itself sits high on a hill; amid lush greenery. The rooms are nicely updated, with extra nice linens and touches (Wolfgang Puck coffee packets, Earl Grey tea, Neutrogena toiletries). I had an extremely comfortable week-long stay here while completing an intensive course at Liberty University (there's a shuttle provided to and from Liberty). The breakfast items were much more than just bagels, and the area is nice and roomy. At first I intended to take on a roommate, but this felt so much like a small getaway for me, that I just decided to indulge by being alone. The pool and spa areas are wonderful, as is the exercise room. All the little touches at this hotel made all the difference and made my stay so relaxing, that I actually felt a little spoiled for not staying at a budget motel. Still, we need our spoils every now and then, don't we? I am SO looking forward to staying here again when I return for my next intensive!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank futureprofessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wingatelyn, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
WOW! What a review I just want to thank you for ALL your kind words and I am so happy you enjoyed your stay here at the Wingate, Lynchburg. It was our peasure to have you and looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springbrook Township
Level Contributor
98 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

While walking in cities across the US with 2 brain tumors and a walker, I stayed at this hotel. I thoroughly loved my stay! The service from the staff was outstanding and my room was spacious and comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is traveling through Lynchburg VA on business or for pleasure.

Room Tip: Tell them Harold from HaroldSays referred you
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaroldSays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wingatelyn, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this review, June 25, 2011
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay, it was our pleasure to have you. See you again on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

I travel to Lynchburg on business 28 weeks of the year and stay at the Wingate Hotel. The management and staff (Sue, Bryan, Annette, Joe, etc.) are the absolute best! If you have a legitimate need, they will do their best to meet it. Joe gives the best recommendations on restaurants. The amenities from the rooms to the breakfast are great. Monday evenings, free massages are offered by area massage therapists. Stay in a room with a view of the mountains and Liberty University. The sunsets are magnificent! The hotel is mere minutes from the airport, restaurants, shopping, Snowflex, and Liberty University. It is a home away from home and I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusinessTraveler043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wingatelyn, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this review, June 25, 2011
Thank you for such kind words, it was our pleasure to have you. The greatest compliment a guest could give to a hotel and its staff is that we made it "your home away from home"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2011

I have stayed here twice in the past couple of months due to a career / job offer for my daughter.
We stayed in a room that had a view of Liberty University campus and the sunset is beautiful over the mountains.
The amenities are all there, the continental breakfast is good, the staff is friendly and courteous.
It was a quiet stay and I would stay there again. The price was a bit expensive - although in this case, it was covered as part of the job offer expenses.
Total price with tax was $150. If paying on my own, I'd hope to find a somewhat cheaper rate online. It was a bit pricey compared to other similar qualities hotels I've stayed at.

Ask for a view side room.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bookishrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wingatelyn, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this review, April 1, 2011
Thank you for your time and positive response. We will soon add to our hot full breakfast and we hope that this will add value to our hotel. If you have any suggestions, please feel free to email me at sue@sehotel.com, I always welcome comments and suggestions from my guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lynchburg hotels
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lynchburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lynchburg
1.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Lynchburg
SpringHill Suites Lynchburg
#10 of 23 in Lynchburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University
Address: 3777 Candlers Mountain Rd, Lynchburg, VA 24502-2227 (Formerly Wingate by Wyndham Lynchburg/Liberty University)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Lynchburg
#8 Family Hotel in Lynchburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other hotel in Lynchburg offers a better location! Travel with confidence by checking into Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott®, a hotel with outstanding service to make all of your travels easy and comfortable - at an exceptional value. We are always ready to welcome you with amenities like thoughtfully designed guest rooms and suites that allow you to work and relax, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel to stay connected during your stay, and fitness facilities that include a pool and exercise room. You'll find it easy to settle into our vibrant lobby, with spaces to gather, relax and work. Jump-start your day with our free breakfast, now with more hot choices like scrambled eggs, sausage and oatmeal, plus favorites including fresh fruit and yogurt. You'll always find the courteous service you deserve, plus all the little things you expect from Fairfield Inn & Suites to help you get it done when you travel. Complimentary Shuttle Service to/from Lynchburg Regional Airport and Kemper Street Train Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham - Lynchburg Hotel Lynchburg
Lynchburg Wyndham
Wingate Lynchburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing