We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Lynchburg
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

I travel to Lynchburg on business 28 weeks of the year and stay at the Wingate Hotel. The management and staff (Sue, Bryan, Annette, Joe, etc.) are the absolute best! If you have a legitimate need, they will do their best to meet it. Joe gives the best recommendations on restaurants. The amenities from the rooms to the breakfast are great. Monday evenings, free massages are offered by area massage therapists. Stay in a room with a view of the mountains and Liberty University. The sunsets are magnificent! The hotel is mere minutes from the airport, restaurants, shopping, Snowflex, and Liberty University. It is a home away from home and I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BusinessTraveler043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wingatelyn, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this review, June 25, 2011
Thank you for such kind words, it was our pleasure to have you. The greatest compliment a guest could give to a hotel and its staff is that we made it "your home away from home"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    341
    181
    70
    33
See reviews for
486
101
90
380
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2011

I have stayed here twice in the past couple of months due to a career / job offer for my daughter.
We stayed in a room that had a view of Liberty University campus and the sunset is beautiful over the mountains.
The amenities are all there, the continental breakfast is good, the staff is friendly and courteous.
It was a quiet stay and I would stay there again. The price was a bit expensive - although in this case, it was covered as part of the job offer expenses.
Total price with tax was $150. If paying on my own, I'd hope to find a somewhat cheaper rate online. It was a bit pricey compared to other similar qualities hotels I've stayed at.

Ask for a view side room.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bookishrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wingatelyn, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this review, April 1, 2011
Thank you for your time and positive response. We will soon add to our hot full breakfast and we hope that this will add value to our hotel. If you have any suggestions, please feel free to email me at sue@sehotel.com, I always welcome comments and suggestions from my guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2011

The wingate has a great and caring staff. My stay there went very well and the staff was very polite and caring the rooms were always well kept and very clean, if I were to travel to lynchburg again i would highly recommend staying at the Wingate. Some of the perks are a good exercise room, a great breakfeast, shuttle service and a very friendly home like atomsphere.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trifivemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wingatelyn, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this review, March 3, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am very fortunate to have the staff I do, such caring individuals. It was our pleasure to have you and looking forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasco, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2011

I have been staying here for about 4 months now and would have to say this is the best hotel i have ever stayed in and would love to come and stay here again. IF i am ever given the chance to come back to Lynchburg I will not hesitate to staying here. The staff are like my family I have gotten to know several of them really well and made good friends with as well. The room was always clean breakfast was good great choices,if anything ever came up Sue (the manager) would take care of it without question. The counter personnel are the most friendly group of people i evere met together especially in a hotel. I could keep saying nice things about it but dont have that much time i will recommend this to anyone i know going to lynchburg and would hope and love to see these people again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rflaherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wingatelyn, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this review, February 24, 2011
It was our pleasure! You, your co-workers, and your family were a joy to have as one of our guests. Guests like yourself make our job a joy to perform.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2011

The hotel was good overall. Parts of my room seemed a little worn. The closet door knob wobbled, for example. The room was clean. Comfortable bed...though the pillows seemed too soft. Adequate free breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Braden_Israel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wingatelyn, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this review, February 24, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to write the review. I appreciate your input and will certainly address the door handle issue. We will be upgrading the breakfast in the near future so if you have any suggestions, please let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2011

DO NOT STAY HERE. Sue [-], the manager.. is ridiculously rude. After the problems I recieved being a flooded fridge, broken lights, water pooled on the heater, white streaky stains on the sofa [looks like you know what], i complained to the company through email, recieved an email back from Sue [-] being told that I was a liar, that I could not make 'adult decisions.' etc etc. The worst customer service i've ever seen.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manic21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wingatelyn, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this review, March 3, 2011
I am sorry that "Manic 21" felt that I was rude, but you see he failed to include that he and his friend decided to paint with oil base blue paint while he was a guest and created a blue mess in the bathroom and on linens. The problems he stated he had were not brought to my attention until I started to discuss the damages and how he would be held liable for it. I told him that if he had notified me of these problems I would have been happy to either fix them or move him to a different room. In my position it is my job to protect the interests of the hotel and its employees. You see I would much rather thank a guest for staying instead of discussing damages that they will be liable for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

I stayed at this hotel while in Lynchburg for an interview and I was very pleased with the accommodations. Very clean, comfortable, convenient location, and friendly competent staff.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wingatelyn, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this review, February 24, 2011
Your comments are very much appreciated, I will share them with the staff. Good Luck with the interview! Lynchburg is a great place to live.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lynchburg hotels
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lynchburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lynchburg
1.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Lynchburg
SpringHill Suites Lynchburg
#10 of 23 in Lynchburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University
Address: 3777 Candlers Mountain Rd, Lynchburg, VA 24502-2227 (Formerly Wingate by Wyndham Lynchburg/Liberty University)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Lynchburg
#8 Family Hotel in Lynchburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other hotel in Lynchburg offers a better location! Travel with confidence by checking into Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott®, a hotel with outstanding service to make all of your travels easy and comfortable - at an exceptional value. We are always ready to welcome you with amenities like thoughtfully designed guest rooms and suites that allow you to work and relax, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel to stay connected during your stay, and fitness facilities that include a pool and exercise room. You'll find it easy to settle into our vibrant lobby, with spaces to gather, relax and work. Jump-start your day with our free breakfast, now with more hot choices like scrambled eggs, sausage and oatmeal, plus favorites including fresh fruit and yogurt. You'll always find the courteous service you deserve, plus all the little things you expect from Fairfield Inn & Suites to help you get it done when you travel. Complimentary Shuttle Service to/from Lynchburg Regional Airport and Kemper Street Train Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham - Lynchburg Hotel Lynchburg
Lynchburg Wyndham
Wingate Lynchburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing