We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice facility, needing some downstairs staff training...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Lynchburg
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Lynchburg
Certificate of Excellence
Buda, Texas
Level Contributor
357 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Nice facility, needing some downstairs staff training...”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The HGI in Lynchburg is a big modern place, clean and comfortable with -- important, this time of year -- good air-conditioning. Internet worked well too. And, the staff situation to which my headline refers is a downstairs issue; the housekeepers and others working our floor were unfailingly friendly and efficient.

When we checked in at about 4:15 on a Saturday, however, we were told our room was not ready. After a time the young fellow at the front desk did find a room that had been cleaned and set up for new occupants; whether the room cleaning process was lagging, or the front desk didn't know which rooms were and weren't ready, I can't say, but my money would be on the latter. (As evidence: the clerk kept telling us they had no rooms with king-sized beds, when in fact our booking was for two queen-size beds and had been on the books for weeks.)

The next morning the front desk was in the hands of two women, one of them (an apparently self-absorbed staffer named Sarah) who seemed much more interested in conversing with her colleague (who really was trying to get on with her job) than in dealing with the Great Traveling Public (i.e., us...). At one point I approached the desk with a question -- no other guests were there at that point -- and Sarah continued her chitchat and wanderings behind the desk at some length, despite the fact that we'd made eye contact, until finally her colleague reminded her that somebody had a question. My question: could I have a full-sized luggage trolley; her answer: no, they didn't have any, even though my wife had seen one the day before and the guy who checked us in said he thought one could be had. Not long after, my wife approached the desk with a question of her own (having not heard, at that point, of my difficulties in communicating with Planet Sarah) and drew a similar lack of interest (i.e., she got out four words of her question, only to have Sarah turn away and continue with the chatter).

Not long after that, my wife checked into the prospects for breakfast, for which we had a voucher, and was struck by the restaurant staff's lack of interest in clearing off a table and seating additional guests (this was well before the end of breakfast service). We went elsewhere.

Now, none of these episodes fall into the category of major crises, and if we should find ourselves in Lynchburg again (we chose it because it made a good place to stop after visiting Appomattox Courthouse) I suspect we'll end up at the HGI. Dealing with these hiccups would take no more than some improved communication and somewhat more vigilant supervision and training. The hotel is nice enough that whoever is in charge should see such changes as a worthwhile investment for the longer term...

Room Tip: There is a busy rail line located behind, and slightly above, the hotel; we only occasionally became...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itinerant_scholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    159
    91
    30
    17
See reviews for
232
88
39
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lynchburg, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Accomodations were excellent but the service by all the personnel was the best. One of our travelers had a bad experience with a room. Her concerns were dealt with promptly and a breakfast ticket was provided for her inconvenience. It is not what a business does when things are going well rather what it does when things go wrong. This hotel passed the test.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Owen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheboro, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

The hotel staff was excellent in every aspect from check in to just passing in the halls-everyone very friendly and helpful-room was wonderful-clean-with all the amenities that you need-breakfast was done very well-better than I have received at some name brand restaurants - When I am in Lynchburg, this is where I will stay

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Ricky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

When we arrived the receptionist couldn't find our reservation. Both my wife and I repeated our surname but still she couldn't find our booking. I went back to the car to find some paperwork, after about five minutes my wife came to me and said they had found our booking and that the receptionist had misheard our surname. The receptionist didn't seem to bothered that we had started to panic slightly about not finding our reservation and did nothing to re assure us that everything would be sorted out.

We had a standard room which in my opinion was slightly dull compared with other hotels we'd stayed in on our 2 week vacation.

The room was equipped with a coffee maker that didn't work, mini fridge, television, hair dryer and alarm clock.

The bed was huge but unfortunately on my side there was massive dip, when I lied down my feet where almost higher than my head. It was by far the worst bed Ive ever slept in. We were only staying two nights before moving on and on the first night we were both that tired we would have slept stood up. Rather than complain, which I wished I had, we just put up with it.

On the first night we ate in the restaurant, a three course meal for two came to $90 which we thought was expensive. The meal was very nice and the lady who served us was very nice.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank diggerbarnes2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2014

I visited this location the weekend of June 8, 2014. All though the 1bedroom ste was large and very clean and lovely. The cable service did not work at all, the food was horrible, and the Pool/Hot Tub was not working correctly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank 893leahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George Island, FL, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

I've stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn in Lynchburg VA several times and have always been pleased with the high quality of accommodations and the good value. It's conveniently located and consistent in service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Due to a family emergency we arrived several hours later than expected with 3 small tired children. We had booked 2 rooms next to each other. The young woman at the front desk could not have been nicer or more helpful.
Both of our rooms were clean and cool (hot outside). My room was a large king. I was exhausted from the day's events and a long ride. Happily our floor was a quiet one. Everything I could need was in the room and working properly. I have found from past experience this is not always the case.
In the morning I was able to make a cup of coffee with the Keurig in the room before heading out to breakfast. Coffee was actually good for in room coffee. Bathroom was clean, shower hot and plenty of towels.

Room Tip: I had a king room while my daughter and her family had 2 queens and room for the pack and play for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lynchburg hotels
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Lynchburg Liberty University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
1.8 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lynchburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Lynchburg
SpringHill Suites Lynchburg
#10 of 23 in Lynchburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Lynchburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Lynchburg

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Lynchburg
Address: 4025 Wards Rd, Lynchburg, VA 24502-2943
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lynchburg
#4 Family Hotel in Lynchburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Lynchburg 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than one mile from the Lynchburg Regional Airport and adjacent to Liberty University, the Hilton Garden Inn Lynchburg hotel is the perfect place to stay while visiting VA. Enjoy a sound night’s sleep in a Garden Sleep System bed, a cooked-to-order meal from the Great American Grill, free wi-fi and more. Take a quick dip in the pool or stick to your exercise regime at the fitness center. Need a snack? Forget a bath product? Visit the onsite 24-hour Pavilion Pantry to grab what you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Lynchburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Lynchburg Hotel Lynchburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing