We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Too Short Stay at Orchard House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Orchard House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Lovingston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Too Short Stay at Orchard House”
Reviewed July 25, 2006

We stayed at Orchard House for only one night but it was the most pleasant and relaxing stay on our trip to the Charlottesville area of Virginia.

Orchard House built in 1884, is spacious and extremely comfortable, with a very informal and friendly atmosphere. The rooms were all very clean and nicely furnished. Richard and Deb, the proprietors, made us feel welcome from the very start, and they were both very knowledgeable about the local area and helpful in suggesting what to see and do.

We embarked on this trip ostensibly to hike over some nearby portions of the Appalachian Trail and Richard directed us to the trail at Crabtree Falls as a possible alternative. Crabtree Falls, remarkable for its scenic beauty, is located about 20 minutes drive from Orchard House. The trail climbs for 3 miles from the parking lot (parking is $3) and it follows the cascading water of Crabtree Falls as it descends from roughly 3000 feet to 800 feet. The view from the observation deck at the top is nothing short of spectacular, but if you don't feel like doing the full 3 mile climb, there are ample opportunities along the way to see the falls splashing and meandering over huge granite boulders as it makes its way to the bottom.

Richard and Deb were also very knowledgeable about the local wineries in the area. We visited 5 of them in all and we recommend Jefferson and Del Fosse

Breakfast at Orchard House was a wonderful experience. Richard and Deb's effusive friendliness seemed to rub off on all of the guests and breakfast was accompanied with happy chatter and interesting conversation.

This was our first visit--we really just sort of stumbled on Orchard House, but to us it is quite a treasure and we hope to return soon for a longer visit.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank unbridled27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    18
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
168
9
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 4, 2006

My husband and I are both full-time working people. We never get enough rest during our busy week, and with an eight year old grandson close by and all the work that needs to be done that you can't get to during the week, our weekends are quite hectic, also. We always try to get away and make long weekends when holidays are involved. The Fourth of July was a perfect time to extend and just get away somewhere to relax. The Orchard House Bed and Breakfast was the perfect relaxing, laid-back, get away place. We are both wine-lovers, and the vineyards in the area provided just enough leisure activity for during the day. We have stayed at many B & B's and we must say Richard and Deborah were the most friendly, warm, and caring people we have had the pleasure to meet! They provide a terrific breakfast, wonderful accommodations, and all the right amenities. We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 30, 2006

There are not enough words to express what a fantastic and relaxing experience visting the Orchard House was for us. Deb & Richard did an awesome job fixing The Orchard House up as a Bed & Breakfast as it is absolutely beautiful. The amazing detail they put into every thing they do just gives it that much more charm. They are fantastic hosts who make you feel like family. This is simply a MUST DO on your vacation planner. We look forward to coming back again. Robert & Deb.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 27, 2006

The Orchard House is a wonderful place to relax and to enjoy the rural setting. There were wonderful birds to watch and lots of rabbits that made it feel so comfortable. The hosts are gracious and fun to talk with. They were most helpful, providing directions and answering questions. The extra touches, from the fresh baked cookies upon arrival, to having coffee and tea along with soft drinks and bottled water were greatly appreciated. The hearty breakfast was incredible and their pan baked apple and walnut pancakes were amazing. They even gave out the recipe upon request. We would certainly stay there again and recommend it unconditionally.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 26, 2006

This was our second visit to the Orchard House - ostensibly to be close to the Nelson County Festival - but the relaxation and hospitality at this beautiful B&B was the real attraction. Deb and Richard are great hosts and make you feel right at home. The entire property is well appointed, well maintained, and not pretentious. The rabbits, birds, and sometmes deer add to the relaxation and enjoyment of just sitting on a rocking chair on the porch and taking in the beautiful rolling landscape. For us flatlanders, the surrounding mountains are a constant source of joy and tranquility. Practically speaking, the Orchard House is close to several wineries and many Nelson county attractions as well as convenient to Charlottesville and Rte. 29. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 4, 2006

The Orchard House has so much charm and history in an updated, comfortable setting. The small touches, like fresh baked cookies each afternoon, were delightful. The maple egg cups for breakfast were awesome. Deb and Richard are excellent hosts. They provided a great route through the VA wine country and were helpful and informative. We highly recommend for a country escape!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 2, 2006

This was our first experience at an American B&B. We have plenty of experiences in the UK and Ireland with "professional" B&B's and the Orchard House left them all in the dust. I will return to the Orchard House as often as possible.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovingston
20.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Waynesboro
Comfort Inn Waynesboro
#4 of 9 in Waynesboro
176 reviews
19.2 mi away
Iris Inn
Iris Inn
#1 of 6 in Waynesboro
739 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Mark Addy
The Mark Addy
#1 of 1 in Nellysford
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Amherst Inn
Amherst Inn
#1 of 1 in Amherst
47 reviews
21.1 mi away
Steeles Tavern Manor Bed and Breakfast
1.7 mi away
Village Inn Motel
Village Inn Motel
#1 of 1 in Lovingston
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Orchard House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 9749 Thomas Nelson Hwy, Lovingston, VA 22949-2302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lovingston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lovingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchard House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Orchard House B&B! An historic farmhouse built in 1874, it was once the location of a thriving apple orchard for many years. Start your visit with a glass of wine and homemade cookies on our front porch. Stroll around our picturesque 14 acres and watch for the resident bunnies scampering across the lawn. While at the Orchard House, you can choose to be as busy or as relaxed as your mood decides. Enjoy our chauffeured wine tours, hike the famous Crabtree Falls, drive the Blue Ridge Parkway, tour Monticello, explore the various antique shops nearby, visit the local orchards or swimming quarries, check out the multitude of wineries, breweries, and distilleries. Or choose to lay in the comfy hammocks gazing up at the endless skies, take a dip in the pool, stroll through our one-acre vineyard, relax in the new gazebo, listen to the frogs chirping from the pond, identify the beautiful birds that flit from one birdfeeder to the next, read a book in one of the many Adirondack chairs that grace the front lawn, rock on the sprawling front porch while soaking up our amazing views of the Blue Ridge Mountains. No matter what you choose to do while visiting us at the Orchard House, we guarantee your time will be rejuvenating, memorable, and filled with good food, good memories, and new friends. Relax and rejuvenate in an elegant country atmosphere. Leave feeling better than when you arrived! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Orchard House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing