We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for UVa visit (or Graduation)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Orchard House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Lovingston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Great Falls, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Ideal for UVa visit (or Graduation)”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I do not recall where I found the Orchard Inn, but thank God I did. We were seeking a place to stay for the weekend of our son's graduation from Univ of Virginia (UVa) as all the in-town and nearby hotels were either full, charging premium rates, or demanding 3 night stays. I was intrigued by the various rooms on their website,and the hardest decision was which one. We chose the Northern Spy,which I recommend most heartily - spacious, lots of windows so very bright, great bed, very comfortable, nothing to mar our enjoyment. The grounds too were terrific - altho there are no truly spectacular views, the gardens are just so welcoming that you are drawn to the front porch chairs, hammocks, etc, just to listen to the many birds singing their heads off. What bliss! So inviting! The decor in all the BRs as well as common rooms was excellent - very elegant without seeming pretentious, very comfortable and truly inviting. The hosts too were simply terrific. We have stayed at hundreds of B&Bs around the world, and very few have had as charming, friendly and helpful hosts as Deb and Richard. They really made you feel they valued your friendship, and wanted you to enjoy their home - not just their business. Never intrusive, but always there if needed, and ready to socialize if you so chose. We were especially impressed with their breakfast offerings. Not only extremely unique (and delicious), but served in a most convivial manner,with particular attention to individual needs. We for example cannot eat pork, so they very subtly substituted turkey sausage and turkey bacon for all guests at each weekend, making us feel even more welcome and valued. My only regret is we only discovered this superb venue on our likely last visit to Charlottesville. Although the Inn is nearly 30 miles from downtown Charlottesville, the drive is very easy, and it actually took us far less time (35 minutes) to get to UVa from that distance than it would have coming from any other direction (especially from the northern side of town). It truly is an ideal base for a weekend trip to the University,or to Monticello, local wineries, etc. Even the local restaurants had very good food,equal to Charlottesville restaurants, at prices substantially lower than the premiums charged in town. My only (constructive) criticism is that the hosts should warn guests of the potential speed traps on Rt 29 in the early morning. The road is full of hills, and therefore very easy to exceed the limit when coming down a very long and steep hill, but very hard to see the hidden police cars and their radar devices. I might have been more cautious had I been forewarned. But that was just a minor cloud on an otherwise perfect horizon.

Room Tip: Our Northern Spy room was great, though the York Imperial and the Gala looked equally attractive, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    18
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
168
9
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
clifton,vaa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Our quilting group visits orchard house twice yearly and we're never disappointed. The innkeepers couldn't be more accommodating. The food is delicious,coffee and tea stations are provided,as well as soft drinks. The rooms are clean and comfortable with a private bath in each bedroom. Oh, and did I mention the scenery,you can't find any better.

Room Tip: The rooms are named for apples. I stayed in both the black twig and the gala. Both are good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raquel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville
2 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Our quilting group had a wonderful quilt retreat at Orchard House last weekend. The food is wonderful, the rooms are comfortable and the workspace is great for quilters. Nice table space, good lighting, and room to set up different workstations. There are also places to relax and work on hand projects inside, and also outside on the front porch with a beautiful view of the surrounding area. Richard and Deb are the perfect host and hostess - always there for you. Our group has been coming to the Orchard House for the last several years and it just keeps getting better. We can't wait to return for our next retreat.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koricard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Orchard House B&B is a home away from home in a peaceful country setting, which is hosted by a lovely couple, who spend a great deal of thought preparing for their guests. A third visit recently, with my quilting bee, reminded me how much I relax, enjoy the breakfast of the day, and the back-to-nature experience I have while sitting on the front porch of Orchard House. I look forward to the next visit knowing that I will not be disappointed in the country getaway. If you are looking for a peaceful relaxing getaway, I highly recommend the Orchard House B&B for singles, couples, families, and groups.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plangdorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2012

My wife and I and 4 of our friends ventured out to Orchard House this weekend for a couple's wine tasting weekend. The bottom line is that I cannot imagine the weekend going any better than it did!

We were welcomed into our room (which had chocolate chip cookies waiting for us) on Friday afternoon and given a tour of the inn and plenty of helpful information about local dining options. There are a couple neat breweries in the area to check out, and we enjoyed Wild Wolf Brewing Company on this trip which was about 20 minutes from the B&B.

Saturday was the highlight of our trip! Shortly after breakfast our host Richard gave our group a short class on wine tasting, and you can tell that Richard really does know a lot about wine, to include tasting and about the local wineries. Then, we all piled into the B&B's van where Richard transported us and our friends to several local wineries. Not having to worry about driving or navigating the local area ensured we were able to focus on enjoying our day and our wine. Throughout the day, Richard took pictures of our activities and presented us with a complimentary CD the following day. He also packed a lunch for us. I cannot say enough about the chauffeured wine tour package; it was totally worth the money!

I'd like to thank Richard and Deb for the perfect weekend. I will be recommending the Orchard House to my friends, and if we ever decide to take another trip to this region I know where we'll be heading.

Room Tip: Our stay in the Gala room was delightful and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Society Hill, SC
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2012

The Orchard House B&B was absolutely perfect for our family quilt retreat! The food was amazing and the inn keepers could not have been more gracious or accommodating. The set-up is great for quilters and scrappers, but would also be wonderful for anyone hoping for a get-away to the beautiful Virginia mountains. There is a lot to see and do within a short drive. We will definitely be back! The Grapeful Thread

Room Tip: All of the rooms have beautiful quilts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGrapefulThread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2011

My sisters and I spent two nights at the Orchard House. We hit bad traffic on the way and did not arrive until 8:30 in the evening. We were greeted, shown around the house and then Richard and Deb helped us find a place to grab a late dinner. The two breakfasts that we had were delicious! The house is a gracious, old home and the surrounding grounds are just as nice. Richard and Deb answered any questions we had, and they also had typed out directions to just about any place you would want to go. We had a chance to see most the rooms in the house since the first night, most were opened. ( We arrived on a Thursday). We stayed in the York Imperial, which was very nice. All the rooms were unique. The entire house was well maintained,clean and comfortable. We were not your typical group to stay at a bed and breakfast, but they made us very comfortable with extra bed set up. We enjoyed the house, the grounds , the food and the people! Would highly recommend this bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: The York Imperial is a larger room, very comfortable if you need the extra bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 626StLouisGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovingston
20.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Waynesboro
Comfort Inn Waynesboro
#4 of 9 in Waynesboro
176 reviews
19.2 mi away
Iris Inn
Iris Inn
#1 of 6 in Waynesboro
738 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Mark Addy
The Mark Addy
#1 of 1 in Nellysford
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Amherst Inn
Amherst Inn
#1 of 1 in Amherst
47 reviews
21.1 mi away
Steeles Tavern Manor Bed and Breakfast
1.7 mi away
Village Inn Motel
Village Inn Motel
#1 of 1 in Lovingston
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Orchard House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 9749 Thomas Nelson Hwy, Lovingston, VA 22949-2302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lovingston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lovingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchard House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Orchard House B&B! An historic farmhouse built in 1874, it was once the location of a thriving apple orchard for many years. Start your visit with a glass of wine and homemade cookies on our front porch. Stroll around our picturesque 14 acres and watch for the resident bunnies scampering across the lawn. While at the Orchard House, you can choose to be as busy or as relaxed as your mood decides. Enjoy our chauffeured wine tours, hike the famous Crabtree Falls, drive the Blue Ridge Parkway, tour Monticello, explore the various antique shops nearby, visit the local orchards or swimming quarries, check out the multitude of wineries, breweries, and distilleries. Or choose to lay in the comfy hammocks gazing up at the endless skies, take a dip in the pool, stroll through our one-acre vineyard, relax in the new gazebo, listen to the frogs chirping from the pond, identify the beautiful birds that flit from one birdfeeder to the next, read a book in one of the many Adirondack chairs that grace the front lawn, rock on the sprawling front porch while soaking up our amazing views of the Blue Ridge Mountains. No matter what you choose to do while visiting us at the Orchard House, we guarantee your time will be rejuvenating, memorable, and filled with good food, good memories, and new friends. Relax and rejuvenate in an elegant country atmosphere. Leave feeling better than when you arrived! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Orchard House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing