We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Orchard House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Lovingston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2011

My sisters and I spent two nights at the Orchard House. We hit bad traffic on the way and did not arrive until 8:30 in the evening. We were greeted, shown around the house and then Richard and Deb helped us find a place to grab a late dinner. The two breakfasts that we had were delicious! The house is a gracious, old home and the surrounding grounds are just as nice. Richard and Deb answered any questions we had, and they also had typed out directions to just about any place you would want to go. We had a chance to see most the rooms in the house since the first night, most were opened. ( We arrived on a Thursday). We stayed in the York Imperial, which was very nice. All the rooms were unique. The entire house was well maintained,clean and comfortable. We were not your typical group to stay at a bed and breakfast, but they made us very comfortable with extra bed set up. We enjoyed the house, the grounds , the food and the people! Would highly recommend this bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: The York Imperial is a larger room, very comfortable if you need the extra bed.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 626StLouisGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
There are newer reviews for Orchard House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 326 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2011

From the moment we walked in we felt like we were at home. The innkeepers couldn't have been nicer and the house was beautiful with a warm and comfy feel. The rooms were cleanly and the breakfast was excellent. We were so glad we decided on the wine tour package. Richard was an excellent guide and provided behind the scenes tidbits and knowledge of the area and its wines. Our weekend stay made our first anniversary very special.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bmorejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

The Orchard House was beautiful as was the surrounding area. The innkeepers were friendly and attentive but kept distant enough to allow us privacy and relaxation. If we are back in the area I would stay here again. Thanks for a great weekend getaway!

Room Tip: I love the Northern Spy Room! Felt like I was in the turret of a castle.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willowchicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We were at the Orchard House for a weekend getaway with our friends. The rooms were lovely, the breakfast good, the owners wonderful, always gracious (we were quite noisy (lol), and the location, perfect, the price - even better!. Have nothing bad to say, will definitely visit again! Thank you for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vlakvark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

This is the low end of B&B's. In fact I will not recommend the Orchid House, nor will I consider staying there again. The bathroom floors are dirty, the base boards are filthy. The ad is misleading. The cookies promised are 2 cookies put out one time, and they are the store bought frozen that you bake. The snacks are 1 bag of microwave popcorn, and a tiny bag of Chex mix. There were bugs in our room. If you look out the windows you can see mold on the inside of the window casings. The magazines in the magazine rack are dated 2008. The woman of the manner barely let me in door before asking for my credit card. Truly I was given the impression they are only in it for the money. Once they get your money. You get the bums rush!

Room Tip: Choose a another Bed and Breakfast!
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shellfinder971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orchardhousebb, Owner at Orchard House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2011

It is unfortunate that this guest did not enjoy their stay, even though they told us they did when they checked out and said they’d be recommending us to friends. I am troubled with a review like this after serving thousands and having over 180 five star reviews and have a 35% return rate. Even the best of the best get a bad review now and then. If something would have been pointed out to us directly, we would have tried to correct any problems. Our rooms are thoroughly cleaned after each guest checks out. Did our cleaning staff miss something that particular day? How can I take corrective action on something I cannot see or am not told about at the time? Our house is 137 years old with original windows, so yes, there can be discoloring here or there. The house is power washed twice a year to clean off any dirt or mold. When each guest arrives we greet them at the door and then take them on a tour of the house (something we have received high praise for). When we get to the dining room or at the end of the tour, we ask for their payment. (In a hotel, you don’t get past the front desk). When these guests arrived, they informed us they were late for a rehearsal dinner and needed to move quickly. Therefore, we did rush through the check in process a bit. This was to accommodate them. At least we could chuckle over the comment indicating we were in this for the money; there isn’t an innkeeper in the world that is in it for the money! As far as snacks, that is what they are supposed to be…a snack. Two snacks, two fresh baked (not frozen) cookies per day and all the complimentary soda, coffee, tea, water and hot chocolate you can drink should be more than adequate. We are not quite sure what happened between here and their drive back to SC, but certainly the rest of our reviews are not in agreement with this young couple. However, we will continue to strive to improve what we do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed here as we had always wanted to experience an American Bed Breakfast, so we chose this one for its location. Our hosts, Richard & Debbie couldnt have been more helpful and provided lots of little extras such as, Complimentary Soda, cookies along with tea and coffee making facilities. The house and grounds were lovely, very quiet setting and we saw deer freely roaming the grounds of the house.
This was the very first american Bed & Breakfast we had stayed at, so we have nothing to compare it with but we think that the breakfast was a wee bit skimpy. On the web site it advertised eggs and such like, we never saw an egg and we were a bit disappointed. It is only a very small point but only we thought that it should be made.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Loved it. They had everything covered/thought of, including the brew your own coffee, free soda's & water, chocolate chip cookies, tiki torches near the hot tub, robes & towles for use at their pool or hot tub, free wi-fi, hammocks, etc, etc.

We've been to about 5-6 B&B's in Va. and this was the best overall.

Richard & Deb give great advice on places (e.g., wineries/breweries) on places to go, things to see/do/eat.

I've already recommended their B&B to friends.

Room Tip: Two night minumums on weekedns/holidays.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HudLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovingston
19.2 mi away
Iris Inn
Iris Inn
#1 of 4 in Waynesboro
775 reviews
15.0 mi away
Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast
9.8 mi away
The Mark Addy
The Mark Addy
#1 of 1 in Nellysford
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Steeles Tavern Manor Bed and Breakfast
15.8 mi away
Amherst Inn
Amherst Inn
#1 of 1 in Amherst
49 reviews
1.7 mi away
Village Inn Motel
Village Inn Motel
#1 of 1 in Lovingston
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 9749 Thomas Nelson Hwy, Lovingston, VA 22949-2302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lovingston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lovingston
Price Range: $159 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchard House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Orchard House Bed & Breakfast! Our 14 acre historical property includes a one-acre vineyard, a pond with a fountain, a gazebo, a new in-ground salt water swimming pool, a new gas firepit overlooking the Blue Ridge Mountains, hammocks, multiple Adirondack chairs scattered around the sprawling front lawn, two separate homes for guests, and our newly renovated event barn. Built in 1874 by a Virginia state judge, our main house has six bedrooms (each with a private bath), and multiple common areas for your relaxation and breakfast dining. The Farmhouse was added in 1910 as the apple orchard manager’s family home. It has 3 bedrooms, (each with private baths), and access to a shared large kitchen that we keep fully equipped should you choose to cook additional meals. Regardless of which house you choose, you will be treated to a homemade, multi-course breakfast served each morning in our main house dining room. We take great pride in supporting local farmers, serving coffee from our local coffee beanery, and making our muffins and breads from scratch. We want each one of our guests to feel like they are “home”, only better! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Orchard House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing