We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Market Table Bistro

Market Table Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lovettsville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We love this restaurant and not just because it's in our town of Lovettsville - that's just icing on the cake. The food and service are both flawless here. The menu changes often and is based on what's available, locally, whenever possible. We have gotten so used to the quality of the local, organic foods served here and the spectacular service, that it's hard to go anywhere else.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    19
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Worth the drive to Lovettsville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The growth of the wine industry in northern Virginia is having an interesting side-effect with the appearance of some very good and inexpensive new restaurants in rather unlikely locations. The Market Table Bistro is an example, located in Lovettsville Virginia (yes, I also had to look it up). There's a serious chef at work in this converted house (the roof was recently replaced after superstorm Sandy struck), and the servers couldn't have been friendlier. Butternut squash bisque was a great starter for a cold and damp day, followed by winter mushroom pasta with truffle aioli and arugula. Another terrific dish was the cassoulet, served piping hot in a cast-iron pot -- duck leg, pork sausage, white beans, perfectly spiced with a locally made lamb merguez (another surprise). There is a good selection of reasonably priced wines by the glass as well as bottles, and an eclectic assortment of craft beers.

The clientele appears to be a mix of local residents and DC's "foodies" trekking deep into northern Virginia to find out what's new in the rapidly developing wine country. A gentleman at the next table sent back to the kitchen what appeared to be a beautifully cooked steak because he could still see some red in the middle... oh well.... The server politely accommodated the request, but I may try the steak myself the next time.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fredswartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenandoah Valley, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“You Must Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Meghan was in charge of our drinks and food service. She is a treat and a very able advisor. Three in my party had beef & I had sword fish...Excellent. Artisn cheese appetizer...Outstanding..Ditto for cocktails, wine. Well worth a little travel. Going back for Brunch as soon as possible.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheJazzAge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, PA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“fresh food and great drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were thrilled with every aspect of our meal at this restaurant from the yummy drinks (hot buttered rum!) to the lovely risotto and freshly baked bread. We loved the desserts. The food definitely had love in each bite:)

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank VLouis11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
90 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Love this restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

I love this restaurant! We live over an hour away and it is worth the drive. The food is from local people and is incredibly fresh. The beer is cold and there is a good selection. They had excellent local wines! The staff was friendly and professional-they really knew their job. The cheese board here is incredible and everything we had for dinner we loved! We can't wait to go back.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market Table Bistro also viewed

Purcellville, Loudoun County
 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Market Table Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing