We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fresh food and great drinks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Market Table Bistro

Market Table Bistro
13 East Broad Way, Lovettsville, VA
(540) 822-3008
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Croydon, PA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“fresh food and great drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were thrilled with every aspect of our meal at this restaurant from the yummy drinks (hot buttered rum!) to the lovely risotto and freshly baked bread. We loved the desserts. The food definitely had love in each bite:)

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank VLouis11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Baltimore
Level Contributor
84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Love this restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

I love this restaurant! We live over an hour away and it is worth the drive. The food is from local people and is incredibly fresh. The beer is cold and there is a good selection. They had excellent local wines! The staff was friendly and professional-they really knew their job. The cheese board here is incredible and everything we had for dinner we loved! We can't wait to go back.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
155 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Very Nice Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The food was very fresh and well prepared. Service was good too. Loved the paintings on the wall. I would dine here again, I just wouldn't go out of my way to do so.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GEOCacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purcellville, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Outstanding food, most grown locally. Service was great. Prices were comparable to our area's other high quality restaurants. I'm so glad we finally tried this little gem.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laurie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Conversation with the Chef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

A buddy of mine and I were out riding this past Saturday and I led us to the Market Table for a beer, as I had been there once before while out on the bike. I had the most pleasurable opportunity to sit with the owner/executive chef Jason Lage and chat for about 30 minutes. Even though he was gearing up for the Saturday evening hours, he still took the time out to talk, food, wine, more wine, and how much he would have rather joined the US Navy instead of the Army...but that is another conversation.
Chef Jason turned us on to his chilled poached foie gras appetizer with wild cherry gelatin on top and cherry preserves on the side. This was truly a creative, amazing way of preparing the foie gras.
The previous visit, I had the smoked pork barbeque sandwich, which was moist, plentiful and smothered in their wonderful house made sauce.
Though I have only had the opportunity to enjoy a couple of things on the menu, the passion and quality was very evident. And the fact that Chef Jason took the time to sit with my buddy and I, talk food, talk wine, talk military, gave us an indication in Jason's conviction to his art. He explained meticulously how he purchases as many of his ingredients from local farmers, how he grows his herbs out behind the restaurant and how he loves to adapt his menu to the season and local flavor.
Having eaten in fine restaurants all over the world, the heart and conviction that was in Jason's voice supported what I suspected about the restaurant...that it is full of spirit, intensity, and soul that is exhibited in the menu and the quality of the items served to the patrons.
Thanks for the time, Chef. Anchors aweigh. Keep doing what you are doing.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel3613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market Table Bistro also viewed

Sterling, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Market Table Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing