We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“You haven't seen Hiddencroft Lately” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hiddencroft Vineyards

Hiddencroft Vineyards
12202 Axline Road, Lovettsville, VA 20180
+1 540-535-5367
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Just a short drive from the winery corridors along Rt. 15 and Rt. 9 in Loudoun County, VA and convenient to Maryland, West Virginia and Pennsylvania wine lovers as well! Hiddencroft Vineyards is situated on a 26-acre former farmstead in Lovettsville, VA. Our tasting room is an 1830’s farmhouse. We hold special music events and tastings in our rustic 1930’s bank-barn or on our large barrel-shaped patio. Our barn is also available for private parties and corporate events. We periodically open our wine production facility for tours and barrel tastings. Our tasting house and winery are surrounded by butterfly gardens and our orchard. You can sample award winning wines, chat with the winemaker / owners, and learn about wine-making. After your tasting, relax on the tasting house deck or patio, snack on light fare available in our tasting house or bring your own picnic lunch. The atmosphere is friendly, casual and relaxing. Open year round for tastings and wine sales, Thursday - Monday, Noon - 6PM. Closed on Tuesdays and Wednesdays. Closed on Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day and New Year's Day.
Lovettsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“You haven't seen Hiddencroft Lately”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

If you visited Hiddencroft some years ago, you will be greatly surprised at how they have improved their facilities and the quality of their wine. I first visited them about 5 years ago and found the wine "so-so" and the tasting facility "Spartan".
The owners have since bought the adjoining property adding a great old barn which they use for special events and a nice old farm house that is their new tasting room. In the intervening years the quality of the wine has dramatically improved. They have a just wonder (if pricey) Tannat that I would say is on par with many good CA wines.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Timay11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best wines in Loudon County!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This is one of those smaller but better wineries in Loudon county. The owners are warm and friendly, they know their wines, and most importantly...their wines are really good! The setting is charming, and you can spend a couple of hours with friends relaxing on the back deck enjoying a glass of wine. My husband and I always make it a point to stop by Hiddencroft when doing a Virginia Wine Experience, and always leave with a case of wine...and we are very particular about our wines! Our last trip here we brought some friends from out of state and they were so thrilled with the wine that they even took some bottles back home with them to TX!! Make it a point to stop by here and you'll have a new favorite winery!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kiki_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great wine! Great day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

I have been to Hiddencroft many times. I know Terry and Clyde personally and know their dedication to their wine adventure. I have been to wineries in many states and have tasted many wines. I cannot think of any winery that I have visited that exceeds Hiddencroft in wine or ambiance. Going back Friday!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lorna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice wine and friendly owners..........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

just what we were looking for. We are new to the area and love visiting the wineries. While we always enjoy ourselves, this is the first winery where we felt truly welcomed. The owner's daughter did our tasting and was not only very knowledgeable but was relaxed and easy to converse with. Her father, the winemaker was also on the scene and gave us some recommendations on what to order for dinner at Market Table Bistro. We had a selection of about 10 wines to taste. We both agreed the Chambourcin (smooth with a smoky nose) was our favorite, so we settled on the back patio with a bottle to enjoy the lovely surroundings. The landscape is flat, so no killer view, but it is very pretty none the less. We had some time to spare before our dinner reservation at 7, and although they close at 6, we didn't feel rushed to leave the property. This makes a great pre-dinner destination if visiting one of the highly rated restaurants in the area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank tennisbets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good wine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

All the wines we tried here were really good! It's down the road from Doukenie Winery, so I'd definitely recommend stopping here if you're in the area for Doukenie.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank gonesomewherewarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hiddencroft Vineyards also viewed

Lovettsville, Loudoun County
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 
Purcellville, Loudoun County
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 

Been to Hiddencroft Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing