We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good wine!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hiddencroft Vineyards

Hiddencroft Vineyards
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Just a short drive from the winery corridors along Rt. 15 and Rt. 9 in Loudoun County, VA and convenient to Maryland, West Virginia and Pennsylvania wine lovers as well! Hiddencroft Vineyards is situated on a 26-acre former farmstead in Lovettsville, VA. Our tasting room is an 1830’s farmhouse. We hold special music events and tastings in our rustic 1930’s bank-barn or on our large barrel-shaped patio. Our barn is also available for private parties and corporate events. We periodically open our wine production facility for tours and barrel tastings. Our tasting house and winery are surrounded by butterfly gardens and our orchard. You can sample award winning wines, chat with the winemaker / owners, and learn about wine-making. After your tasting, relax on the tasting house deck or patio, snack on light fare available in our tasting house or bring your own picnic lunch. The atmosphere is friendly, casual and relaxing. Open year round for tastings and wine sales, Thursday - Monday, Noon - 6PM. Closed on Tuesdays and Wednesdays. Closed on Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day and New Year's Day.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good wine!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

All the wines we tried here were really good! It's down the road from Doukenie Winery, so I'd definitely recommend stopping here if you're in the area for Doukenie.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank gonesomewherewarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    5
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Purcellville, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Welcome home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

I can't say enough about this winery. My wife and I ventured out over a year ago to this truly hidden gem. We found ourselves in the area once again this weekend and decided to stop in.
A family affair to the extreme, we wer greeted by the sight of children playing in the yard and greeted at the door by the owners daughter. They had expanded since our last visit and now host a personalized tasting to include pairings with cheese and chocolate. The atmosphere of the renovated farmhouse is very warm and welcoming. We enjoyed our tasting and were very pleased to hear a real knowledge of each of the wines and their histories. Afterwards we were happy to each get a glass and sit for a while just to enjoy the afternoon. Our host pointed out the upstairs of the house which had several rooms available with tables and chairs to seat 6-8 adults comfortably. The rooms looked unfinished as they did not have any curtains or wallhangings. I'm not bothered by that sort of thing and I'm sure they have had plenty of other things to do with harvest and the severe weather this year.
My wife and I have said for a while that Hiddencroft has been one of our favorite winery experiences and this most recent visit just confirms that it was not a fluke but that they are really doing the Virginia Wine experience in the best way possible.

Helpful?
1 Thank Joey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephens City, Virginia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful Wine and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

The location seems a little out of the way on the first visit but we realized after that it is a beautiful drive. The wine is amazing, there is a great variety for everyone to enjoy! The atmosphere is great and makes the winery stand out for us. When we had friends visit from NC and only had time for one winery, we chose to take them to Hiddencroft.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank foobear4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great wines, Great people!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

A family owned and operated winery, one of the many in this region, but this one stands a bit apart in all the right ways. On your way into the winery you take a short stroll through a barn and up the walk to the the house that is their tasting room. There you are greeted by the family who runs the business together, you learn about their lives and the struggles and triumphs of the ever changing world of wine making. The wines are varied and well made, and the descriptions given are tinged with stories of the harvest and the process which give you a greater appreciation of what you are sampling. We took three bottles home and would have liked to take more! The setting may not be as picturesque as some of the wineries in the area, but the quality of their product outshines many.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hiddencroft Vineyards also viewed

Lovettsville, Loudoun County
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 
Purcellville, Loudoun County
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 

Been to Hiddencroft Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing