We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A true find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Restaurant at Patowmack Farm

The Restaurant at Patowmack Farm
42461 Lovettsville Road, Lovettsville, VA 20180
540-822-9017
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Restaurant at Patowmack Farm is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $200
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Rt. 15 and Lovettsville Road
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
200 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A true find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Don't go on the one other review. This restaurant is a gem. The food is amazing sourced from locally grown produce and prepared by a tremendously talented chef. The service is befitting of a fine dining restaurant but with a sociable flare subtitle to the country setting. And the venue is tranquil with a view of point of rocks.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank clherrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    22
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jarrettsville, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More than pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We are so thrilled to have happened upon this delightful farm-to-table restaurant. The food was exquisite and the atmosphere was lovely. We will surely spread word amongst our family and friends of Chef Edwards' culinary talent and Beverly's abundant hospitality.

We are already looking forward to returning (soon) as The Restaurant at Patowmack Farm certainly "nourished our souls and excited our palates", as promised.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not worth your money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

So maybe if you want the farm experience you can pay for that, but other wise this place is over priced for the food, the service and the ambiance. It costs as much or more than high end places in down town DC, but doesn't measure up. I think if they cut their prices in half it would be appropriate.
When I went there I went with a professional chef and she said the same thing, it was just over priced for what was offered.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MVH3YMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very Good But Not Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We dined here on Sunday for Easter Brunch. Open Table listed the cost as $60/pp for a 4-course fixed menu, but when we got there the menu said $65/pp so that was an unwelcome surprise but we did not complain.

For $65/pp, I expect impeccable service. The service and the servers are a major problem area. No one offered to take our coats. We waited a long time to be greeted by our server. When she did arrive, she seemed to be overwhelmed with her duties, stressed out, and somewhat frantic. She did not seem like a professional but perhaps an acquaintance helping out. She spoke in a loud, abrasive tone of voice and didn’t pause long enough to answer our many questions as the menu is a bit unusual. Good but unusual, so naturally one might have questions and the servers should be prepared to allow time to answer them. We had to flag – and I mean flag – her down twice to get all of our questions answered.

We waited an unacceptable amount of time for our drink order to arrive. The wine pours were stingy. We were never offered any bread until we asked and this was about 20-25 minutes after being seated. It took another 10 minutes for our first course to arrive, again, after we inquired as to its whereabouts. We had to ask for additional bread and butter. Our server never acknowledged or apologized for these delays until the end of the meal.

The main courses were very good; perhaps a little skimpy on the portions and generally lacking in green vegetables, but the quality and farm freshness was there – the thing that drew us to this restaurant to begin with. The dessert was outstanding. The coffee was good too, but was had to keep asking for more cream, sugar, etc. Loosen the purse strings, people!

The atmosphere is lackluster except for the view of the Potomac River. It is a greenhouse with a few dying potted plants scattered around and uncomfortable, cheap tables and chairs with white table cloths thrown over them. There are certainly some simple improvements that could add some charm.

Overall, it’s worth a visit maybe once a year. The intentions and food are good, but it’s not quite all there yet. Try and catch something at a reasonable price and don’t be afraid to speak up if you’re abused by the wait staff. For $65/pp, you deserve better!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Luv2travel123Usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Top shelf...one of the 5 best we have visited this year.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

For the food and the view....but not the coffee...Gorgeous view, even on a fog shrouded and rainy day. Service is efficient, courteous...but slightly timid...food: every course is carefully prepared and presented, just the right texture and mix of flavors. Priced is reasonable for a four course prix fixe meal with wines and ciders...after dinner coffee was ok, mild and unobtrusive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rbrtgldstn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant at Patowmack Farm also viewed

Lovettsville, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to The Restaurant at Patowmack Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing