We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Food with a View” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Restaurant at Patowmack Farm

The Restaurant at Patowmack Farm
Reserve with OpenTable
The Restaurant at Patowmack Farm is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $94
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Rt. 15 and Lovettsville Road
Description: Sourcing food that satisfies the palate while fulfilling our goals of supporting small local artisan growers and producers and utilizing our farm as the chef's pantry gives us the opportunity to create a progressive menu that draws its inspiration from the seasons and in harmony with the earth. The Restaurant at Patowmack Farm presents a venue with a breathtaking view and natural setting overlooking the Potomac River. Our farm to your table presents local, organic, seasonal cuisine. Dining Thursday, Friday or Saturday evening, Saturday or Sunday brunch/lunch, Sunday Supper, a wedding, rehearsal dinner, corporate or special event - we strive to exceed your dreams. The chef's innovative and skillfully excited dishes follow the lead of nature, being mindful of the environment.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food with a View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

It's hard to believe this place exists so close to Washington, DC. The restaurant is on the owner's farm, which starts you off with an outstanding view of the Potomac River and the hills around of Point of Rocks. Our appetizer was the portabella mushroom skewers with a wonderful fonduta cheese sauce. Our entrees were the seared sea scallops and Carolina white shrimp--both were cooked to perfection. The desserts were a little too sweet for our taste, but impeccably prepared. The chefs clearly attend to every detail of preparation and presentation. One of the best items was the lovely pear bread served with the meal. The restaurant is pricey, but when you consider the freshest ingredients, attention to detail in food preparation, attentive service, and the bucolic setting, it adds up to pretty good value. We're planning a return trip soon for their highly thought of brunch.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike_Sylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    23
    10
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“LOVELY setting- food and service hit or miss”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

This is truly a lovely location. We have read about this restaurant and have never been after hearing mixed reviews from friends who had been. The food was fair- it was as if they want to be gourmet but can't quite hit the mark. Much more attention is given to the "sustainable" and "local" aspects than to the actual quality of the food preperation. They were out of the dish I wanted so I got the "Vegetable Plate" which was a disappointing mish mash of vegetables- either very greasy and over fried or raw. The meatballs were good, although hard and cold which was strange. My husband got the catfish and he enjoyed that- although he is a chocolate fan the "Chocolate fantasy/frontier" desert did not appeal to him- and he usually loves all things chocoloate. Wine list was very good, a bit expensive. Our server did not know the wine list or the menu. The servers also spent a lot of time bickering loudly outside of the door to the kitchen which was distracting.

Helpful?
Thank Virginiagirl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Our special occasion "go to" place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Dining at the Restaurant at Patowmack Farm is an experience!

Our family has been several times for our special "holiday out" dinner, or for birthdays.

I love that the food is "in season" from the garden. The food is (mostly) locally grown or raised. It is always delicious, I have never had anything there that I didn't enjoy.

The view is lovely, overlooking the Point of Rocks bridge - any time of year it is very pretty.

The staff is always able to answer any questions about the menu, very friendly.

It is by reservations only, and holidays book up, so get scheduled early if you want to go.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank airowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg VA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful farm to table experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Our second visit in a year was, again, a wonderful experience. Pleasant ambiance (we arrived early and enjoyed the view), good cocktails, fine wine and excellent food. Wait staff was very accommodating without being "stuffy." The pork belly and clam fritters were terrific. We will be back to introduce other friends to this "gem." Service was a little slow but we enjoyed the view while we waited.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EQUITY6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic everything!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Firstly, you need to know that this venue is a true farm-to-table restaurant. Everything is grown on the farm or sourced locally from other farmers/growers. It is all organic and the flavors of the food are a testimant to why organic is better.

I booked the outside patio for my son's rehearsal dinner over Labor Day weekend. We had 45 guests for dinner, which was a menu designed by the chef especially for our group (I provided the wedding reception menu so that the rehearsal dinner menu would not duplicate items). The chef even suggested paired wines for the meal.

From the day I booked the site 8 months prior, to the day of the event, Beverly (owner) and Chef Edward were fantastic to work with. They are creative, accommodating and the food was out of this world good! So fresh, flavorful and beautifully presented. Portions were generous, service was impeccable (I think we had 6 servers, and they were very attentive yet not intrusive at all).

The setting was on the outside patio that is tented, and they provided fans to circulate the air at each corner. The view was over the valley, looking out to the Patomac River. We were not only able to view the sunset, but also the blue moon that rose over the hilltop! (I wish I could say I also ordered the blue moon, but I didn't) It was a fantastic, unique experience.

I would highly recommend Patowmack Farm and I would love to come back sometime and experience their jazz brunch!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mreaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant at Patowmack Farm also viewed

Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Lovettsville, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to The Restaurant at Patowmack Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing