We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice meal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Prospect Hill Plantation Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Louisa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

For the price we were expecting a fantastic meal. We weren't disappointed. We were seated at a table with another couple, and would have preferred a single table as we were celebrating our anniversary.
Food and service was excellent and worth a return visit.
The facility is beautiful and if we were from out of town, we would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albequerque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    30
    12
    14
    8
See reviews for
19
137
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I can see revisiting Prospect Hill in the future and giving it 5 Stars. It has all the charm to take it there and I'm confident that the relatively new owners will continue to improve as time goes on. Service varied, Doc gives it 100%; however, when we arrived, we were met by another staff member who did little more than point out our cabin. We had no idea whether the Manor House was available to us for anything other than dinner. Speaking of dinner, it was OK. A great soup was followed by some salad greens that were over dressed and the main course was duck that was lost in a sauce. Desert was a VERY lemony tart. I think if the owners play off the colonial theme and have their chef make staples from the colonial days it will be a nice touch. Breakfast was hit and miss. The first day was pancakes and sausage (miss), the second day a tasty egg and spinach soufflé (a big hit). Breakfast in our cabin was a treat for sure!!! Perhaps offering a sparkling wine split for those that want to start the day with a mimosa would be a nice touch. The rooms were great. Definitely looked like you stepped back in time, yet we'll maintained. We stayed in the Summer Kitchen cabin - perhaps an upgrade to wooden blinds and shedding the dusty valances and kitschy knick-knacks would have kicked it up a notch. Being able to connect my iPhone to the clock was a great feature! Sometimes nature and a lack of TV can be too quiet. We found that the cabins don't lock. Doc assured us of the safety of our belongings and offered the use of a safe for valuables but I think that you just really need locks on guest rooms no matter what. All-in-all, it's a great escape just off the Monticello wine trail.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Howard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, GA
Level Contributor
1,299 reviews
214 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 492 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This inn is off the beaten path but worth the drive just outside Charlottesville. The drive up appeal is extraordinary. We were met by one of the owners who works tirelessly on this 40 acre-property on a daily basis while raising 5 teenagers. Everyone does their share at this inn; it is a constant work in progress. It's been around since George Washington was born, yet the modern conveniences are all available. Wi-fi is still a challenge for them, but it is available in the manor house in most rooms. We stayed in Uncle Guy's cabin outside, and we did not have wi-fi; however, my husband and I went inside for awhile and got our work done. The cabin we stayed in used to be slave quarters and still had most of the old beams. We had a king sized bed, a fridge stocked with drinks, a coffee pot, a nice bathroom and a quiet night's sleep. I loved the fact that there were many outlets in the room. There's a lovely pool behind the cabins and lots of places to sit inside or out to read or talk or whatever. Our breakfast was very good, and the dining area is spacious and beautiful. They are also open for dinner on weekends and available for special occasions. After breakfast we peeked at a couple of the rooms inside the manor house, and they were large and decorated very elegantly and comfortably. The innkeepers continue to make improvements to this special place. We hope to return one day to this outstanding property.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We spent a terrific few days at Prospect Hill and thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Carriage House. We visited in early spring and had several rainy days where we appreciated the privacy of the room but also enjoyed champagne on the Inn's back porch. The Findlay's are wonderful hosts and the breakfasts delicious. We would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The Carriage House is a lovely choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I can't stop thinking about our stay at Prospect Hill. Words and pictures could never describe how beautiful it is. We stayed in the Summer Kitchen, which was charming, private and included a porch overlooking a beautiful, rolling landscape for acres upon acres. What a treat to have a delicious breakfast delivered to our door. We set it up on the porch of course! Dinner in the main house was amazing, the staff very helpful and friendly. We felt very much at home, but much more pampered! It's an easy drive into Charlottesville, and to the several wineries in the area. Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer! A great place to go with family and friends, or to visit your student at UVA. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My fiancé found prospect hill for Sunday of Labor Day wknd after we attended a wedding in Charlottesville and we wanted to spend another night in town. The web site drew us to PH and the reasonable room prices that included breakfast. We came upon PH early for check in and were greeted by the owner, Doc who immediately made us comfortable. He led us to the pool to hang out while he put a rush on our room. Towels and chairs were there and hardly anyone was at the pool. The grounds and big yellow plantation main house dotted with small cottages throughout were very charming. We stayed in mrs vashti's room which was small but all we needed for one night. Free in room coffee, bottled water and sodas and a bottle of Spanish red wine. Fresh white towels and a robe with an old but working A/C unit. Also had a gas fireplace that we would use in the fall or winter for hours. We wanted to relax and recover from the wedding and that is exactly what we did. Napped at the pool then napped some more in our room on a very comfy bed with down comforter. Thanks to the in room dining suggestion we found a pizza place 4 mi away that served a tasty pie and a beer. We were home early and asleep by 930. It was silent to sleep here and that was worth the money spent. We had breakfast In the morning. Fresh squeeze oj and lemon poppy seed Belgian waffles. Fabulous. The staff and new owners doc and family are so welcoming but not annoying when you're there for some quiet time. This is a hidden little gem. He plans to add new coffee makers. I home docks and eventually a hot tub and steam showers. All things I agree with. We will be back for a quiet winter wknd to use the fireplace and sleep some more. I'd recommend removing some of the little cheesy decorative items. No need for glass little dolls and random country signs. Less is more. Doc is on the right track.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flynn5020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onancock, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Spectacular 1700 period plantation home. We stayed in Miss Marcie's room in the main house. The room was appointed with amenities that leave no doubt why it us on the Registry.
The dining experience was superb starting with the wine reception to through the wine pairings an dessert. Breakfast in bed was my favorite.
Our hosts exceeded expectations. This is not to be missed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHproprietor, Owner at Prospect Hill Plantation Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Debbie G,


Wow... what a flattering review! Thank you for your kind comments.

We're especially pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast-in-bed. We're all about relaxing on the plantation, and what better way to start your day than awaking to a piping-hot gourmet breakfast delivered right to your door (except maybe breakfast-in-bed, with a roaring fire in the fireplace)!

Thanks again for taking time to share your experiences, and we look forward to serving you again!

Fondly,

Doc Findley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Louisa
12.7 mi away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#20 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Crossroads Inn & Suites
11.1 mi away
Keswick Hall
Keswick Hall
#1 of 1 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
15.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#8 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
9.1 mi away
Boxley Place Inn
Boxley Place Inn
#2 of 5 in Louisa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prospect Hill Plantation Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospect Hill Plantation Inn

Property: Prospect Hill Plantation Inn
Address: 2887 Poindexter Rd, near Charlottesville, VA, Louisa, VA 23093-3005
Location: United States > Virginia > Louisa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Louisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Prospect Hill Plantation Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic 18th-century plantation complex just 15 miles east of Charlottesville, VA and Thomas Jefferson's "Monticello" and UVA. Set on almost 50 acres of lawns, woods and fields the inn offers 13 rooms in the 1732 manor house and renovated outbuildings dating from 1699 to 1840 and offers prie-fixe dinners every Fri and Sat evenings (and some weekdays) by reservation at $49pp. B&B rates from $195 to $395. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Prospect Hill Plantation Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prospect Hill Plantation Hotel Louisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing