We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pane E Vino - CLOSED

Pane E Vino
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $31
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Family-owned & operated Italian restaurant with extensive regular menu, brick-oven wood-fired pizza, homemade gelato and bread, weekday buffet and specials, private party room, Sunday Brunch, free Wi-Fi. Offsite catering available. Wine Bar offers wide selection of wines and tapas-style Italian appetizers, and live music Saturday nights.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
313 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

I arrived on Sunday evening, and it was quiet. Sat at the bar with a friend and we were talking all night long. The bartender was very courteous filling up our water glasses...we both just had a glass of wine. He even brought us a bread tray.
We decided to order the appetizer sampler as we both weren't hungry and get a bottle of wine to share. Everything was great!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank corkscrewd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    38
    19
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
107 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Overpriced, worse than Olive Garden, subpar service.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

First, this place is LOUD, very loud. It is not set-up for quiet, intimate dining. It's more like a two room cafeteria. Bad bad bad. Cheap tables with uncomfortable chairs.

Pros: The Aracine (fried rice ball with meat, cheese, peas filled) served with Marinara sauce. Another friend liked the calamari, another liked the ??? unidentified app (maybe a piece of fried pasta?).

CONS: Everything else.
1) Veal marsala. Inedible. If that was veal, it was either OLD, very poorly prepared or both. So tough I had trouble cutting it even with a knife. It was a huge plate of food, but nothing was edible. The "marsala" sauce tasted like watered-down brown gravy: zero flavor, not even salt or pepper. The entire platter was covered side-to-side with food, dripping off the sides even. A lot of food does not mean good food.

I have to wonder if ANYONE in this restaurant tastes the food before it goes out or if this frozen and reheated. Really a disgusting platter of totally inedible slop.

2) Another person in my group had what appeared to be shrimp scampi over a giant plate of spaghetti. She took two bites and said it was nasty, couldn't eat any more.

Another pasta dish (rigattoni) was again another GIANT plate of food that looked like reheated leftovers. The sauce appeared to be out of a can. No cheese was offered with any of the pasta dishes.

3) Even the bread and what-appeared to be pita triangles were stale and tasteless. The pita triangle seemed more likely to be pizza dough just cut into triangles.

4) Wine was overpriced and pours per glass were short. Our server did not come back to offer refills on wine even! Duh.

5) Service was weak. It took a long time to order, but amazingly the food came out fast. I suspect because all of this nasty food was already prepared and was simply microwaved.

The server NEVER came back to check on us. Even when he was removing full, untouched dishes he did not inquire about that (i.e. "Is there a problem?" or "can I get you something else.") He just didn't care. He was happy to offer up desserts.

6) Gelato was subpar (probably out of a tub), certainly not fresh. Ours had chunks of re-frozen gelato in it and a bit of a freezer burned taste. And a small cup was SIX DOLLARS! What?!

The people that rated this place highly must either be friends of the owners, smokers (with burned out taste buds), or people that think Olive Garden is real Italian.

This was the biggest disappointment for "Italian" I've had in Northern Virginia/DC. Horrific. I would not return. Cannot recommend it to anyone for any reason. Olive Garden is better and that's not saying much.

$75 for dinner for two: terrible food, poor service, overpriced, and certainly NOT Italian by any stretch of the imagination. Stay home and make your own. You'll save $70 and it will taste better.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LuReeBa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeway, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice local joint”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

I don't have anything bad to say about it, I just wasn't impressed enough to drive there again. If it was across the street from my house I would probably go there, if there was nothing in the fridge, but I have many options nearby and it doesn't rate a second visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank VAGal0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Better Go Hungry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

We had the pleasure of dining at Pane E Vino in Lorton last week. It being our first time, we wanted to try a bit of everything. Starting with the arancini (kind of a rice-based meatball) in a beautiful marinara, superb salads, house made ravioli in a very tasty,creamy sauce, a generous rib eye and all topped off with shared tiramisu. We savored each course and ended up taking home enough for an entire second meal. Very friendy service and a nice atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Ok place...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

The atmosphere and food are ok. They are not great Italian dishes, and the pizzas are sub-par. RedRocks in Alexandria is much better for pizza. The foods are cross-contamintaed. On multiple occasions, our vegetarian pastas smelled and tasted like sea food. It's also VERY over-priced.

I wouldn't return to this place for the food, but I know people love their wine atmosphere.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank MMNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pane E Vino also viewed

Lorton, Fairfax County
Lorton, Fairfax County
 
Lorton, Fairfax County
Lorton, Fairfax County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing