We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Nice quiet place to camp

We have been here several times. At this time of year, not too many people. Need more level sites... read more

Reviewed December 2, 2018
margaretbC7285UR
via mobile
Nice waterfront park, popular with power boaters

I have frequented this park for a good many years - we used to launch a sailboat here. The boat... read more

Reviewed August 27, 2018
Dave J
Read all 66 reviews
  
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveler rating
27
26
6
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
26
6
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews camp store frisbee golf regional park boat ramp full hookups nice waterfront tent camping pirate themed pool mini golf course last visit the river camping facilities water activities hiking trails campground cabin campers
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 66 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2015

I live close by and visit often! They have trails to ride bikes and run on. They offer a boat ramp which we use often, cost is around $8 or you can get a season pass. Have playground and other activities for kids and families- Frisbee golf, put-put golf, small boat rentals, picnic areas, cabins to rent and campsites as well. The VERY large pool can get very crowded in summer on weekends, but much less so during the week. Free for local residents to enter, but they charge a fee for those not from the "region".

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank Carly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2015

There is a lot to do at this park in the summer, the bay, pool and water park, playgrounds, hiking, camping and picnicking. But, in November, the water park is closed and the crowds are gone. The campground is quiet, peaceful and offers a wonderful camping experience.
It is conveniently located to explore the VA countryside or DC. I used one of the full hookup sites, which aren't plentiful.
Highly recommend. Friendly, clean, charming place. Lots of leaves :)

Date of experience: November 2015
1  Thank PalmettoRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2015

Attending a wedding near DC We rented a delux cabin in October. SPECTACULAR! Although the campsites sit close together the delux cabin had more than a smidgen of privacy. We enjoyed the porch, kitchen, and bathroom for the fancy activities and the grill, campfire, and walking trail the rest of the weekend. The water park was closed so I can't comment but the kids were having a great time in the playground and the comfort stations have running water for showers, laundry, and dishes if you want to camp.

Date of experience: October 2015
Thank cardinal988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2015

Pohick Bay Park is a smaller park that's easy to miss next to nearby Mason Neck Park. Lots of picnic seating in the shade and near the river bank, and a large viewing deck built off of the ranger's station make it a great place to stop off with a bag lunch and take in the views.

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank Pchampan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2015

We stayed several nights during our family vacation (mini-van, tent, 6 kids) and drove into DC each day. The campground was well-maintained, bathrooms cleaned daily, and helpful staff at the camp store. Was about a 45-minute drive into DC each day, and we found this worked better than taking the Metro (was cheaper to just park downtown for the day than for all of us to take the Metro -- we had a car carrier on top of the van, so we didn't fit in most garages, but an open-air lot on New York and 10th worked great for us).

Date of experience: August 2015
3  Thank CraigKerser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews