We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay with Pets!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Gunston Corner
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lorton
Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay with Pets!”
Reviewed July 13, 2009

Great place to stay with a dog! Very friendly and helpfull staff! The hotel is right off I-95 and very easy to access. Plenty of places in the immediate area to get food and drinks. The room was very clean with a very comfortable bed and pillows! The value is great which includes a nice breakfast spread. I would highly recommend.....

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oscmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    91
    58
    36
    17
See reviews for
100
68
32
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
carConn
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2009

Hotel staff was very professional, friendly and courteous. Upon check-in I asked if we could get a room on a lower floor and was immediately accomodated to a lower level. Front desk provided information relative to restaurants in the area including menus and directions. Continental breakfast provided the next morning (included in room rate) was more than adequate. Room was very clean and hotel was in a convenient location for us to get the Auto train and easy to find.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carConn_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMoran, General Manager at Comfort Inn Gunston Corner, responded to this review, July 16, 2009
Thank you very much from everyone at the Comfort Inn for your review of our hotel. When your comments were shared with our staff last week it made everyone feel honored that our hard work and attention to detail did not go unnoticed during your stay. We provide all our guests with a 10% discount at our area restaurants and are glad you were able to enjoy the same. Our upgraded hot breakfast that now includes bacon, sausage, and eggs has been a huge hit and is a great start to any morning! We pride ourselves in making sure each and every guest leaves our hotel with the same impression as you, and we all appreciate you taking the time and recognizing our hard work. I personally hope that you find us during your next Auto Train trip and look forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boiling Springs, Pa
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2008

I had a wonderful, brief stay at the Comfort Inn. Bathrooms were clean, the breakfast bar was well-stocked, the staff was friendly and helpful.
I told myself when I left that I would take the time to write a brief review. . .that's how good the service, value, and over all experience was.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank Quaraterking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2008

I picked this hotel primarily for its proximity to the Auto Train. The room was nice and well-appointed. The front desk was helpful in telling us about dining places (My Korma), and how far the drive was to Gunston Hall (a good place to visit before heading to the Auto Train). There is a tourist information desk in the lobby which was very helpful in providing information for sites all around Virginia.

The only somewhat negative thing I could find--and this is not unique to this hotel--is the dreaded breakfast bar. I am all for doing things cheaper, but the set-up of many hotels serve-yourself breakfast bars leave a lot to be desired. Comfort Inn Gunston Corner is no exception--circular tables take up too much floor space, at times there is not enough seating, coffee service is placed in an area such that it conflicts with other traffic around breakfast bar, etc. Okay, I'm off my high horse on that...

Overall: Very good, just get to breakfast before the crowds!

  • Liked — Close to Auto Train
  • Disliked — Breakfast bar chaos
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_from_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2008

Good rooms, nice Americian breakfeast, Good P/Q.

  • Liked — Room, breakfeast
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AbelMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2008

Surprised to read about the smoking/air freashener issues. We've stayed there a few times and always been very good.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2008

I stay in hotels pretty often, and can say this air "freshener" was excessive. The staff was very helpful. I tried to air out the room, by opening window that was screwed shut, but after two days I had a migraine headache. The location was excellent, I was visiting my daughter around the corner, so I accepted a change in rooms (the housekeeping staff told me sometimes if a room has a particularly bad smell they put a packet or something in the air conditioning unit) The following day I did not use the housekeeping service, and the following day, they came in and SPRAYED! I was up until 2 am trying to open the window again (not particularly safe since it was nailed shut and on the 4th floor)
The staff was 100% great! HOTEL OWNER - BUY A CARPET CLEANER AND CLEAN YOUR HOTEL! Your great staff will undoubtedly get fed up and move on to a great hotel chain! They did make good on their 100% money back guarantee, I got one night free (the night with the migraine trying to open the window) Some people seemed unaffected, but my son-in-law's parents had the same experience ( minus the migraine i think)

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the smell
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank galadriel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMoran, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Gunston Corner, responded to this review, August 26, 2008
The Comfort Inn - Gunston Corner apologizes that your stay was not satisfactory. We take any guest concern very seriously, although I am sorry we could not resolve your needs immediately I am glad you were able to experience our 100% satisfaction policy. Thank you as well for your wonderful compliment on the staff, we all take great pride in our hotel and the relationships we build with our guests. We look forward to the next time you our in Lorton visiting your daughter and only hope you would give us another chance to prove why we are a Gold award winning hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lorton
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Potomac Mills/Woodbridge
5.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Springfield
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn near Potomac Mills
Quality Inn near Potomac Mills
#13 of 15 in Woodbridge
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South
5.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Potomac Mills Woodbridge
3.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Gunston Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Gunston Corner

Property: Comfort Inn Gunston Corner
Address: 8180 Silverbrook Rd, Lorton, VA 22079-2913
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Lorton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lorton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Gunston Corner 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Lorton hotel is ideally located off I-95 just a few minutes away from the nation’s Capital and 2 blocks from the Amtrak Auto Train station. It offers many service amenities and features including a complimentary Hot Breakfast buffet, free weekday newspaper, free Wi-Fi, 24 hour sundry shop, fitness center and access to Gold’s Gym, business center, complimentary shuttle to the Metro station for easy access to downtown DC. Hotel guests can enjoy a 10% discount on participating area restaurants. Local historic attraction in the area include George Washington’s Estate Garden Mount Vernon, the world class Workhouse Arts Center in Lorton and George Mason’s estate Gunston Hall Plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, HotelsforEveryone, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Gunston Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Gunston Corner Hotel Lorton
Comfort Inn Lorton
Lorton Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing