We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn at Meander Plantation
Ranked #1 of 2 Locust Dale B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Wonderful stay!!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I travelled to the Meander Inn to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday this past weekend. It was an amazing stay overall! The Inn Keeper Suzanne was very accommodating and made us feel at home as soon as we arrived. We chose The Grooms Cottage in order to have a private place of our own, and we loved it! The room was niceley decorated- VERY comfortable couch and bed! The fireplace was a very nice touch and we even had a small outdoor patio with a great view of the countryside. We ordered the dinner basket as our celebratory meal- and everything was perfect! The chicken was cooked perfectly and the glaze was delicious! Not to mention the decadent chocolate mousse dessert! Breakfast was served the next morning in the dining room. We were served warm, fresh baked muffins, followed by fruit, and then our main course. I ordered the french toast which was AMAZING...it had baked apples on top and was served in a small square bowl. It tasted like apple pie and french toast combined!

The Inn is located perfectly on the country side...you can see the mountains, fields of horses (I got to pet some!) and the grounds surrounding the inn are very well manicured. There are a lot of benches and cobble stoned paths to just sit and enjoy nature.

Our trip was just as amazing as we thought it would be! Very personalized, with warm service, private accommodation, and delicious food! Thanks again to Suzanne who made our stay SO much more special...it is a trip we will always remember!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBR2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    24
    20
    9
    8
See reviews for
12
119
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Because we are VA residents, my husband and I are lucky to have many nearby B&Bs to choose from as we frequently enjoy our weekend getaways. After returning home from the Inn at Meander Plantation, we are delighted to have found such a relaxing, beautiful, and well-maintained bed and breakfast with historic charm and VIEWS. Suzanne was very welcoming, and we were thrilled with our accommodations. We felt as though we had the place to ourselves, even though most of the rooms were full. The grounds were magnificent. We had a lovely hike down to and along the river, got to meet some horses, and enjoyed sunsets from our private patio. Our formal dinner in the dining room onsite was delicious, well-paced, and everything was fresh. I especially enjoyed the asparagus salad! The best part about this place was that our dog was treated as a welcomed guest - and she enjoyed herself as much as we did! We've stayed at other "dog-friendly" inns before that smelled, weren't as clean or as nice, but our room was spotless and updated with every comfort. I loved the "no dogs on linens/bed" rule! Since our dog sleeps in a crate at night, this wasn't an issue for us in the least. It really kept those amazing linens in the best shape possible. Thank you, Suzanne, for a restful weekend. We will certainly return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our room was very nice. The hostess was pleasant but the overall experience left me feeling a bit cold. Dinner was pris fixe and just okay. Dinner server was rude. Nice hiking trail to the river below. About an hour to Charlottesville.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flicklives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My husband and I (together with our two Golden Retrievers) spent four nights in the Summer Kitchen at Meander Plantation as part of our trip to the Charlottesville area. We absolutely loved it.

As you come up the long driveway to this mansion on a hill, it fells like you are going back in time to an earlier America, to be part of the history that is so present in this part of Virginia. George Washington (and his troops) really did sleep here.

Meander Plantation is the real deal...it is very old. The occasional cracks in the walls and sloping floors demonstrate that these beautiful buildings have been part of this historic community for well over 200 years.

In spite of its age and its quirks, Meander is very comfortable and welcoming. The bed was great, the fireplaces kept us cozy and warm. Starched white table cloths, good bed linens and new, comfortable seating provide a kind of opulence in the old home.

The breakfasts were very good. Suzanne and Suzie were helpful and congenial hosts, patient with our questions and our two silly dogs. We roamed Meander's grounds, hiked to the river and visited the horses. It was restful and quiet. I think that we got a very small glimpse of southern life at the time of the Revolution.

We'll be back.

Room Tip: The Summer Kitchen was large, with a downstairs parlor and upstairs bedroom. Both rooms have beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debandjim15044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hinesville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I would like to say thank you to Suzanne and her crew there at The Inn. I had a wedding there (very small) but it was so wonderful, I would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone and everyone. The breakfasts were wonderful as well as the dinners. The hostess was great. We loved her. The plantation is outstanding. There are horses on ground to view and beautiful landscaping. Thank you again. I will be back for our anniversary.

Room Tip: Madison Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlabrie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia,
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had a delightful stay at the Shearer suite. Very private wing with a bedroom and large sitting room. Beautiful Blue Ridge view from the upper porch. Delightful. Excellent service with the dinner and breakfast too, and adequate portions.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBlissful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Wonderfully friendly service and terrific breakfast. Rooms are huge and fireplaces a nice treat. Owners could not be nicer, more accommodating or helpful. Had a great time. Easy drive from DC and plenty to do if you choose nearby.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPMVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Locust Dale
9.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
22.0 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,216 reviews
7.6 mi away
Walden Hall
Walden Hall
#1 of 6 in Culpeper
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Big Meadows Lodge
Big Meadows Lodge
#1 of 8 in Shenandoah National Park
1,105 reviews
10.9 mi away
Suites at 249
Suites at 249
#2 of 6 in Culpeper
286 reviews
14.0 mi away
Inn on Thistle Hill Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Meander Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Meander Plantation

Property: Inn at Meander Plantation
Address: 2333 N James Madison Hwy, Locust Dale, VA 22948-4837
Location: United States > Virginia > Locust Dale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Locust Dale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Meander Plantation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover wine country at our romantic Virginia B&B, minutes to Culpeper, Orange, and nearby Montpelier. Our Culpeper bed and breakfast is a historic getaway from hectic city life on a beautiful sprawling estate with luxurious rooms and private cottages. Don’t miss out on a truly spectacular and memorable meal at our elegant Orange, VA restaurant. Our Pet friendly Virginia bed and breakfast combines elegance and comfort for a truly romantic Virginia getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Inn at Meander Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Meander Plantation Hotel Locust Dale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing