We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
1868 Magnolia House Inn
Nearby Hotels
Wingate by Wyndham Lexington(Lexington)(Great Value!)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn & Suites(Lexington)(Great Value!)
$77
SleepInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $87/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$149
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center(Lexington)(Great Value!)
$111
$89
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Lexington Inn(Lexington)(Great Value!)
$79
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Inn at Hunt Ridge(Lexington)(Great Value!)
$136
$119
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Lexington(Lexington)(Great Value!)
$116
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Robert E Lee Hotel(Lexington)(Great Value!)
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveler rating
43
16
7
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
43
16
7
1
2
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 69 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2014

The Inn is next door to a fraternity house, making a good night's rest problematical. Our sleep was interrupted several times Friday night by loud voices outside. At 2:30am I went outside to ask them to move away from the Inn. It was a bad experience. Other than the neighbor problem, the Inn was as advertised. The 'For Sale' sign in the yard was suspicious but now understandable. I think the owners should lower the rates, or close it. Neighborhoods do change.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We had come in from the bitter cold and snow to be greeted by a warm fire in our suite of rooms. Our host explained all we needed to know of the room and complimentary beverages the inn had to offer. We loved our garden room with the wicker rocking chairs, the comfy beds and lovely creaky floorboards. Our host definitely loves to cook as we were served tasty cheese grits and a most scrumptious special omelet....Loved it....Great stay and walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barneygirlnewport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Delighted to find our spacious room with a fire burning in the fireplace to welcome us when we arrived on a cold afternoon. Appreciated Wes' thorough explanation at check-in of idiosyncrasies any older home has (it was not a "lecture on the rules" as one previous poster wrote -- the assistant innkeeper was a pleasant fellow who seemed truly concerned with our comfort -- and we've stayed in other B&B's where we certainly wished someone had gently reminded other guests that noise travels in old buildings!). Coffee, tea, sodas, & cookies available at no charge (again, prior review is incorrect, or perhaps policy has changed). Beautifully and tastefully decorated with antiques. Very comfortable bed & delicious, hearty breakfast. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiredtravelerzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed for a short weekend trip to the Devil's Backbone brewery. It was our first time staying in a B&B and it was great! The innkeeper was wonderful and the room was very nice. If we ever go back to Lexington, we'd consider staying here again.

Room Tip: We had the room on the first floor. It had a king sized bed, nice sitting area, fireplace, and a huge bathroom.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanM09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Very well done home built in 1868 and updated recently. Our room was the downstairs suite with a king bed and very nice antique furnishings. There are four other rooms upstairs. It is located in Lexington, VA. which is home to Washington and Lee college as well as the Virginia Military Institute. Excellent breakfast and the working host was outstanding in his hospitality and breakfast preparation. He was also very knowledgable about the house and the town which has numerous restaurants and interesting shops. Parking is on the street but there was ample space during our visit. Two small porches are present for morning coffee in good weather.

Room Tip: The downstairs room is the best
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Endodoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews