We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, Private, Convenient Lexington Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
1868 Magnolia House Inn
Ranked #13 of 18 Lexington B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Great B&B. Nicely furnished. Comfortable. Private. Ten minute walk to downtown along Main Street. House has beautiful Victorian period decor and scrumptious breakfasts. Wes, the Innkeeper, is the perfect host. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Sunshine Room as just the right size for two. Plenty of seating for quiet moments in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 69 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2014

The Inn is next door to a fraternity house, making a good night's rest problematical. Our sleep was interrupted several times Friday night by loud voices outside. At 2:30am I went outside to ask them to move away from the Inn. It was a bad experience. Other than the neighbor problem, the Inn was as advertised. The 'For Sale' sign in the yard was suspicious but now understandable. I think the owners should lower the rates, or close it. Neighborhoods do change.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We had come in from the bitter cold and snow to be greeted by a warm fire in our suite of rooms. Our host explained all we needed to know of the room and complimentary beverages the inn had to offer. We loved our garden room with the wicker rocking chairs, the comfy beds and lovely creaky floorboards. Our host definitely loves to cook as we were served tasty cheese grits and a most scrumptious special omelet....Loved it....Great stay and walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barneygirlnewport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Delighted to find our spacious room with a fire burning in the fireplace to welcome us when we arrived on a cold afternoon. Appreciated Wes' thorough explanation at check-in of idiosyncrasies any older home has (it was not a "lecture on the rules" as one previous poster wrote -- the assistant innkeeper was a pleasant fellow who seemed truly concerned with our comfort -- and we've stayed in other B&B's where we certainly wished someone had gently reminded other guests that noise travels in old buildings!). Coffee, tea, sodas, & cookies available at no charge (again, prior review is incorrect, or perhaps policy has changed). Beautifully and tastefully decorated with antiques. Very comfortable bed & delicious, hearty breakfast. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiredtravelerzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed for a short weekend trip to the Devil's Backbone brewery. It was our first time staying in a B&B and it was great! The innkeeper was wonderful and the room was very nice. If we ever go back to Lexington, we'd consider staying here again.

Room Tip: We had the room on the first floor. It had a king sized bed, nice sitting area, fireplace, and a hug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanM09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Very well done home built in 1868 and updated recently. Our room was the downstairs suite with a king bed and very nice antique furnishings. There are four other rooms upstairs. It is located in Lexington, VA. which is home to Washington and Lee college as well as the Virginia Military Institute. Excellent breakfast and the working host was outstanding in his hospitality and breakfast preparation. He was also very knowledgable about the house and the town which has numerous restaurants and interesting shops. Parking is on the street but there was ample space during our visit. Two small porches are present for morning coffee in good weather.

Room Tip: The downstairs room is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Endodoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This was our first trip to Lexington,VA and staying at a B&B. We absolutely had a wonderful time!It was our wedding anniversary and a romantic setting. Our host Wes couldn't have been more helpful and hospitable. We stayed upstairs in the Garden room and it was lovely. We had a private bath and a nice sized room, bed was comfortable and there were extra pillows in the closet. There is a common balcony upstairs where you can enjoy coffee in the morning or just sit and relax. There was complimentary water,drinks, and snacks also.Coffee was served at 6:30am and breakfast was at 8:00am. Before morning coffee is served you can brew your own for 50 cents donation( can't believe some people complained about the cost!) The decor is charming, and the breakfast was fantastic!It's an easy walk to Stonewall Jackson Cemetery and downtown. We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to our friends! Enjoy!

Room Tip: There are options depending on how many are traveling together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pnelson73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.0 mi away
Abigail Inn
Abigail Inn
#8 of 18 in Lexington
62 reviews
1.6 mi away
Brierley Hill Bed and Breakfast
6.3 mi away
Maple Hall Inn
Maple Hall Inn
#5 of 18 in Lexington
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sheridan Livery Inn
Sheridan Livery Inn
#9 of 18 in Lexington
46 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Georges
The Georges
#2 of 18 in Lexington
203 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1868 Magnolia House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1868 Magnolia House Inn

Address: 501 S Main St, Lexington, VA 24450-2307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range: $139 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1868 Magnolia House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your 1868 Magnolia House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing