We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay in Lexington”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
1868 Magnolia House Inn
Ranked #14 of 18 Lexington B&B and Inns
Washington DC
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay in Lexington”
Reviewed August 8, 2008

We stayed at the Magnolia House on Saturday, August 2, and had a lovely time. Tim and Jan are excellent hosts and our room was really nice. It was comfortable, clean and pretty. There was a great upstairs porch for guests to use and drinks and snacks provided for guests just inside the porch. We appreciated Tim and Jan's restaurant recommendations--Jan was kind enough to call and make a dinner reservation for us just to make sure we could get in on a Saturday night.

Breakfast was yummy and served in the inn's lovely dining room. The location of Magnolia House is great--just down the street from all the shops and restaurants of downtown, but quiet and peaceful.

  • Liked — Lovely house, great location
  • Disliked — Breakfast at 9 a.m. (we get up really early)
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank washingtondcfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    16
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
45
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
florida
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2008

The Magnolia House Inn was beautiful and quaint. It is in walking distance to town and some very good restaurants. The owners, Jan and Tim, were more than gracious. The breakfasts each morning were the best I have had at any B & B. The rooms were very comfortable. I would definitely recommend the Magnolia House.

  • Liked — The rooms and the breakfast
  • Disliked — There wasn't anything I didn't like
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jodie653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, VA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2008

My wife and I sought a B&B via the internet for our first trip to Lexington--and stumbled on a fountain of wonderful experiences. A very gracious and friendly couple, Tim and Jan (the innkeepers) welcomed us warmly yet efficiently, answering questions about local attractions, offering suggestions, and even making dinner reservations for us. Extra touches (such as a jar of freshly-baked homemade cookies near chairs on the porch) made you feel most welcome. Our room was comfortable and breakfasts could not have been nicer!

I would recommend that you print a copy of the driving instructions provided on their website--as Lexington does have some one-way streets--
but Magnolia House is on Main Street and it is easy to find.

We had a wonderful "get-away" weekend and highly recommend Magnolia House Inn!

  • Liked — The innkeepers adjusted to each guest's personality and needs. They are truly a multi-talented, gifted team.
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank USMCPromiseKeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2008

We found the Magnolia House Inn to be very warm and inviting. Our room, the Garden Room, was cozy and very comfortable. In the evenings we relaxed in the parlor and read or checked our email using our laptop. Breakfast was great. Our hosts really made an effort to cater to our needs (food allergies) and prepared a fantastic table for us. We would go back gladly.

  • Liked — Staying in a historic home.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank labauvej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2008

The black wrought-iron front gate is just wonky enough to let you know you are about to enter a magical space. And the English cottage garden filling every inch between the sidewalk and the house welcomes you with open arms. On the front porch are cozy outdoor couches and chairs, saying "Welcome home." That's how it is at Tim and Jan's perfectly furnished Magnolia House Inn in the vibrant college town of Lexington, just a short walk along the street from the delightful downtown area (and especially the Southern Inn, where time stands still, the natives are friendly, and the food is scrumptuous).

After meeting and greeting our affable innkeepers in the front parlor (just like grandma's used to be!), we settled into our ground-floor Lexington Room with its four-poster king bed, stately leather wing chair, old-fashioned wallpaper, comfortable bath, and delightful gas-log fireplace. The bedding was luxurious, the ambiance embracing, and the atmosphere romantic. Just perfect for our anniversary get-away celebration!

The next morning, we shared a delicious, well-presented breakfast around the dining room table with other guests, striking up new friendships and starting the day with unexpected blessings. Soft music was playing in the background to fill the room with soothing richness for the soul. Laughter and good times brought innkeepers and guests together as family, strangers no more. When it came time to leave, we lingered on the front porch with Tim and Jan for far longer than we had planned to stay. Couldn't tear ourselves away, but just knew we'd be back again.

As veterans of many B & B's in America and abroad, we've never had a finer experience. In a trip of many highlights, it was the highlight of all the highlights.

  • Liked — Like home
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Simrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2008

The Magnolia House Inn in Lexington, Virginia is as sweet as its name -- a lovely old home, run by gracious Inn Keepers, on the main street of a wonderful historic little town.

It is an extra bonus that restaurants, shops, several churches and the University of Washington and Lee are within walking distance.

Our suite, The Equestrian, had a big tester bed, a sideboard, and two wing chairs in front of a working fireplace, hard wood floors and an oriental rug in the large high-ceiling room. The thoughtful arrangement of the furniture in the room maximized the ambiance in front of the fireplace, which allowed us to read and chat facing one another while enjoying the fire, which we spent hours doing.

The adjoining room, with a brass antique twin bed, was eclectically decorated with everything from small antlers and a saddle on a stand in the corner to a lovely old dresser with a washbowl and pitcher. It had windows to the outside and doors to both our private bath and to a small porch. My 17-year-old daughter was enchanted and immediately dove into the quilted bed, book in hand claiming it as her own. We wanted to take advantage of “her” outside covered balcony with its cozy wicker chairs and pretty view -- perfect for reading but the weather was too cool. We are looking forward to returning when the weather is warmer.

Pristinely clean and beautifully maintained – this old home – has lovely common rooms including a dinning room and a sitting room with a fireplace. It is in the sitting room that patrons of the inn enjoy quiet time by the fire or await the call to breakfast in the morning. As for me, I’d sneak from my room at 7ish each morning, careful to not disturb my daughter, and enjoy the quiet of the early morning, a fresh brewed cup of coffee (provided by the inn starting at 7 a.m.) and a few chapters of my book.

On two mornings we enjoyed the breakfast provided by our delightful hosts, Tim and Jan. Always delicious, breakfast starts with hot coffee, fresh fruit and fresh orange juice. We had a yummy omelet one day and thick French toast with fresh blueberries the next day.

This home is clean, not a-speck-of-dust anywhere – a great thing for those of us with allergies. This home is quiet. In fact, one morning we thought we were the only patrons at the inn and were much surprised to see four additional faces in the sitting room prior to breakfast.

These folks thought of everything from remotes to turn the fireplace off and on to providing snacks (like granola bars and Jan’s homemade cookies) and refreshments (tea, water, Juice) in the sunroom on the bedroom floor to providing great smelling lavender soap, and make-up remover pads. We loved it so much we stayed an extra day relaxing, napping and reading in front of the fireplaces (gas) and returned home rested and refreshed.

So, to paraphrase Holly Golightly in Breakfast at Tiffany’s when I get a little blue or need a break I’m going to jump in the car and go to the Magnolia House Inn. Calms me down right away. The quietness and the proud look of it; nothing very bad could happen to you there. If I could find a real-life place that'd make me feel like The Magnolia House Inn, then - then I'd buy some furniture and give the cat a name!

  • Liked — I liked the historic home, furniture, our suite, the views, the inn keepers, the fireplaces and the cookies.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Cave-Miranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2008

My wife and I recently spent a weekend at the Magnolia House Inn. Our stay was very comfortable and relaxing. The innkeepers, Tim and Jan Decker, are wonderful, gracious, conscientious hosts. They were always available if you had any questions or just wanted to talk. The Magnolia House is rich with history and conveniently located only a few blocks from historical downtown Lexington, W&L and VMI (see my review of The Southern Inn). We stayed in the Equestrian Suite on the 2nd floor. All of the guest rooms, with the exception of the Lexington Room, are on the 2nd floor. This 3-room suite was large, comfortable, relaxing, immaculate (this was true of the whole house) and tastefully decorated. The highlight of the main room is a gas fireplace with flanking reading chairs. It was perfect for curling up with a good book or puzzle on a cold day. The fireplace was also used to take the chill out of the air each morning. Another amenity of this suite is an outside porch with wicker furniture. We did not use the porch due to the cold temperatures and were content to stay in front of the fireplace. I am typically an early riser (4:45 AM) and have trouble sleeping in a strange bed. However, each morning I was able to sleep until 6:30 AM. Fresh, hot coffee is available promptly at 7 AM in the dining room. There is a 24 hour hospitality room stocked with water, soft drinks, tea, coffee and snacks including delicious home made cookies. Breakfast is served promptly at 9 AM in the dining room for all guests. The food was beautifully presented on the plate and was equally delicious. We were served fresh fruit, scrambled eggs with assorted breakfast meats/vegetables, grits casserole, biscuits and French toast casserole with brown sugar, nuts and fresh blueberries. The helpings were substantial enough to last you until dinner. The Magnolia House Inn is the best B&B we have frequented over the years. It has a delightful mix of antique furnishings, accessories/decorations and modern comforts. We highly recommend this B&B and look forward to another visit in the near future. Kudos to Tim and Jan Decker!

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwasky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.4 mi away
Robert E Lee Hotel
Robert E Lee Hotel
#7 of 16 in Lexington
174 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn at Hunt Ridge
2.0 mi away
Best Western Lexington Inn
Best Western Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 16 in Lexington
89 reviews
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington
2.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1868 Magnolia House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1868 Magnolia House Inn

Property: 1868 Magnolia House Inn
Address: 501 S Main St, Lexington, VA 24450-2307
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1868 Magnolia House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your 1868 Magnolia House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing