We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B and B!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
1868 Magnolia House Inn
Ranked #14 of 18 Lexington B&B and Inns
South Carolina
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely B and B!”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We came to Lexington so our son could attend a VMI open house. Instead of staying in a hotel we opted for a bed and breakfast. The Magnolia House was great. Very close to campus but still a quiet and peaceful setting. We stayed in the Equestrian Suite which had plenty of room for the three of us. Staff very friendly and hospitable. Would definitely stay here again. Beautiful place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OHWVSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    16
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
45
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We bid on a night in this hotel through a charity auction. The place was lovely, and the room very comfortable. Lexington is a great place to walk around. Breakfast was delicious.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Virginia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We had a room upstairs by the balcony. The room (Graden) was great though the bathroom was tight. But we were on the balcony all the time, like our own private balcony; OK, maybe we hogged it. The communal fridge in the hall was well stocked. Breakfast was excellent, though maybe the host was little uptight about being on-time.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bloatedpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Just got back from a weekend trip to Lexington. Like many of the reviews we found the home very clean, and quaint. Tim was very helpful with information and the location is located on the main street and was only 3 to 4 blocks from the heart of downtown. We walked to several of the restaurants located in the downtown area. We were glad of our decision to stay there.

Room Tip: we took the garden room which is the smallest of the rooms. Bathroom somewhat small. otherwise it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmancharlotte,nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Exceptionally Clean, Outstanding Breakfast, Convenient Location to all Shops,Restaurants and Historical Sites.
Tourist Center employees were very knowledgeable of the area.
Owners,Tim and Jan Decker made us feel comfortable throughout our three day stay. The Equestrian Suite was our choice. An excellent decision.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2011

This was our first stay at the Magnolia House. It was quaint, historic and beautiful. It was very clean. Beds were quite comfortable. The A/C dealt with the muggy heat quite well. Our rooms were well-maintained, albeit a bit dark, however, this is typical of old houses. Breakfast was a very large portion and over-the-top with taste. The 'hospitality' amenity room was a welcome surprise with drinks, water, and snacks for free. The grounds were well-manicured. The innkeepers were very attentive, hospitable, and helpful. We highly recommend this B&B to those visiting the Lexington area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RunOfTheW0rld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solon, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

While in Lexington for the Shenandoah Arabians Classic at the Virginia Horse Center, we stayed 3 nights in this quiet, lovingly restored home currently owned by hosts Tim and Jan Decker. The 80-year old magnolia in front is surrounded by intimate garden areas. Parking is on the street less than 50 ft from the entrance, so unloading your car is a snap. We stayed in the ground-floor Lexington room because it had a king bed which was high off the floor and very comfortable with immaculate linens. A/C with remote control was nice. Breakfasts were excellent and timely, saved in the dining room. Location an easy walk down to shopping, restaurants, and both campuses of VMI and Washington& Lee.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.4 mi away
Robert E Lee Hotel
Robert E Lee Hotel
#5 of 16 in Lexington
162 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Lexington Inn
Best Western Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
385 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn at Hunt Ridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington
2.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lexington
0.0 mi away
502 South Main
502 South Main
#1 of 18 in Lexington
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1868 Magnolia House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1868 Magnolia House Inn

Property: 1868 Magnolia House Inn
Address: 501 S Main St, Lexington, VA 24450-2307
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1868 Magnolia House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your 1868 Magnolia House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing