We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveler rating
46
6
3
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
6
3
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 56 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at this wonderful Inn. My husband and I decided to stay here overnight when we were in town to pick up our son from VMI for the summer. We had never stayed at a Bed and Breakfast before and we were definitely not disappointed. The owners, Nancy and Jan, were delightful and welcomed us with a snack and glass of wine for me and beer for my husband. We booked the Van Gogh Room and enjoyed having a covered porch where we could sit and enjoy the quiet as well as the convenience of a private entrance with direct access to the grounds. The home-cooked breakfast was delicious and we loved everything that was served! We already have plans to return to the Shenandoah Manor B&B in August and would highly recommend to anyone.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amp67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Loved our stay here, although it was too brief! The owners were attentive and welcoming without being overbearing, so we had relaxing time to ourselves but could engage in interesting conversation with them as we wished. The rooms are simple but clean and well decorated in a creative way (versus a frilly B&B style). Jan-Willem's artwork is intriguing and inspiring. And the breakfasts--delicious! Hoping to return to take art classes.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMBBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I spent an evening at Shenandoah Manor. It was peaceful, situated in beautiful countryside, and sounds of frogs, creek, fountain and baby birds nesting on my own balcony. The breakfast was hearty and delicious and the innkeepers Nancy and Jan were very attentive and welcoming.

My room was spotless and very comfortable. I would not hestitate to recommend this b and b and hope to return sometime.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eliza339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

What place would you setup for yourself if you wanted to relax, unwind and create? Probably you would be sure to place yourself in an idealic countryside bursting with aromatic smells, farm sounds that welcome you and beautiful little creatures in spring green forests and warm fields. Then you would have someone cater to your every need, (with a smile). Overfeed you for sure. You would also want a teacher to encourage you, but not overcrowd you.
Oh! I have found that place-Shenandoah Manor. You want this! You will be relaxed, pampered and inspired. Enjoy!

Room tip: All rooms have a lovely view and airy feel.
Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We just returned from a trip to Lexington, staying at Shenandoah Manor. The care, hospitality, and attention of the owners, Nancy and Jan-Willem Boer, is evident in all that they do. Their inn is extremely clean and tastefully decorated with interesting items and paintings, many by Jan-Willem, who was a commercial artist. The breakfasts were very delicious with an array of freshly prepared food items. They noticed I do not like eggs, and were anxious to provide something I might like to substitute. The brightly colored new quilts on the beds made the rooms very inviting. There was a comfortable feeling of spaciousness as none of the rooms was crowded with too much furniture or decoration. We enjoyed sitting out on the private porch connected to our room, overlooking the garden. The sound of the stream and the fountain made it very relaxing. We were on the second floor of the main house, but there is an adjacent smaller house which would probably be easier for guests who find stairs difficult. We did not notice any problems with the availability of hot water. The Boers were always friendly and kind, offering a welcoming glass of wine, and brought us some hot tea after we arrived back in a thunderstorm from Lexington. They are interesting to talk to, and are sensitive to being professional as well friendly. The price was quite reasonable for the quality of the inn and the breakfast. For us, it was wonderful to be out in the quiet and peacefulness of the country yet close to the restaurants and sights of Lexington. Unless you want to be in the center of downtown Lexington, this is an extremely enjoyable place to stay. We would have liked to remain some days longer!

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews