We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveler rating
46
6
3
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
6
3
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 56 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We just returned from a trip to Lexington, staying at Shenandoah Manor. The care, hospitality, and attention of the owners, Nancy and Jan-Willem Boer, is evident in all that they do. Their inn is extremely clean and tastefully decorated with interesting items and paintings, many by Jan-Willem, who was a commercial artist. The breakfasts were very delicious with an array of freshly prepared food items. They noticed I do not like eggs, and were anxious to provide something I might like to substitute. The brightly colored new quilts on the beds made the rooms very inviting. There was a comfortable feeling of spaciousness as none of the rooms was crowded with too much furniture or decoration. We enjoyed sitting out on the private porch connected to our room, overlooking the garden. The sound of the stream and the fountain made it very relaxing. We were on the second floor of the main house, but there is an adjacent smaller house which would probably be easier for guests who find stairs difficult. We did not notice any problems with the availability of hot water. The Boers were always friendly and kind, offering a welcoming glass of wine, and brought us some hot tea after we arrived back in a thunderstorm from Lexington. They are interesting to talk to, and are sensitive to being professional as well friendly. The price was quite reasonable for the quality of the inn and the breakfast. For us, it was wonderful to be out in the quiet and peacefulness of the country yet close to the restaurants and sights of Lexington. Unless you want to be in the center of downtown Lexington, this is an extremely enjoyable place to stay. We would have liked to remain some days longer!

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Shenandoah Manor occupies the old Inn at Union Run building on Union Run off Collierstown Rd. (Rt 251) south of Lexington. The owners, Nancy and Jan-Willem, have beautifully renovated the building, making it home-like for guests without over-populating the space with knick-knacks and clutter that sometimes overwhelms other B&B establishments. Jan-Willem's paintings adorn the walls and his lively studio is visible in the bright front room of the house.

The bed and bedding were comfortable, and we slept soundly while listening to the night sounds and rushing creek outside our open windows. We enjoyed our adjacent balcony and private bath. As far as I could tell, all of the bedrooms are upstairs, which provides quiet privacy. The common dining and living area is on the first floor.

Breakfast both mornings was three courses (!) and all were lovely. Coffee was excellent--smooth and strong--and there were a selection of teas available as well.

As others have mentioned, the rooms do not have locks. We were not bothered by this but it is something to be aware of. I agree with another reviewer that the towels provided need to be replaced--they do not absorb water well and are uncomfortable to use. Another desirable upgrade would be to increase the number of electrical outlets or provide power strips for guests, who often come with laptops and phones that need charging. We were able to negotiate enough plugs, but they were in inconvenient locations in our room. There is wi-fi access in the house; however, we had to get the code from the owners since it is not on the information sheet in the rooms themselves. Cell phone service out on Union Run is spotty. My AT&T iPhone worked at times but had a very weak signal. As others have mentioned and the hosts noted upon arrival, the plumbing is a bit quirky (hot water takes a while to arrive, for example) but that is to be expected in an old house and did not negatively impact our stay.

Guests needing ADA accommodations might first call the owners to ascertain accessibility -- the property is situated on a hill, and the various walkways might be hard to navigate for those with limited mobility. With bedrooms upstairs in the main house, you will want to call ahead. However, there seemed to be another building on the property where guests could be lodged, and so this might be a possibility for guests needing special accommodations.

Room tip: Ask for a room with a balcony, if possible -- I am not sure that all have one.
Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honeybee530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We spent the weekend of our 39th wedding anniversary at the Shenandoah Manor Bed & Breakfast and had a wonderful, relaxing weekend. The owners Jan-Willem and Nancy are welcoming, gracious and thoughtful yet give plenty of space for alone time. The food was hearty and served with a sophistication that wasn't intimidating or off-putting. The decor spoke of world travels and the country without being cutesy or "precious".
Jan is an incredible artist and illustrator known world wide and the "Art destination" portion of the weekend was my anniversary gift. I was lucky enough to be the only participant of the art workshop so I had a private tutor for the entire weekend. Jan provided just enough input to engage and encourage while leaving me time for lone painting as well. He is capable of relating to artists of all levels and abilities and I heartily recommend the Art Destination for professionals looking for a change of pace and a creative breakthrough.

Room tip: Grab a balcony room for wonderful summer cross-breezes
Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Just spent two nights at Shenandoah Manor B&B. The house is lovely and the countryside surrounding it beautiful. We liked our room and loved having the outside porch which was so relaxing. The views are wonderful and the night sky is just amazing for star gazers.

Our hosts did everything to make us feel at home - even offering a welcome glass of wine on our arrival. We enjoyed seeing all the art work on the walls and were almost tempted to buy a painting we especially admired.

We enjoyed Nancy's home cooking - her baking is excellent. We had been a bit apprehensive about sitting around a table at breakfast with the other guests but find it a very enjoyable experience. It was like being at a very good dinner party but at 8.30 in the morning!

Our room was delightful with beautiful wooden floors and attractive furnishings. The bed was extremely comfortable.

The plumbing in our room (in the old Manor House) was a little quirky and took a bit of getting used to - the taps had to be turned a different way from usual. What's more, the hot water took a long time to arrive! The shower was not the best in the world but we appreciated having a separate loo.

Our only real quibble was the towels which are made of micro fibre. They're meant to be quick drying and absorbent - but aren't! We were also surprised to find that - even though we stayed two nights - that our bed was not made nor the towels changed. We were also not able to lock our room when we weren't in it.

We put all of these things to our hosts who told us that it was normal in the States for B&B rooms not to have locks and that beds were not made or rooms serviced. We have travelled extensively worldwide (including many trips to the States) and have not found this to be our experience in other B&Bs. I would be interested to know what others have to say.

Overall, it was a good experience and one I would recommend.

Room tip: Choose a room with a porch.
Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy08London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is a return visit to Shenandoah Manor B&B. It is just a short distance outside of Lexington but is wonderfully situated in "the country." The pond, creek, and woods are soothing and relaxing with plenty of areas to walk. We enjoyed our private balcony, spacious and clean room, delicious breakfast, and thoughtful hosts. The decor is uncluttered, but so interesting with handmade quilts and items from around the world. We particularly enjoyed viewing the various art work that the host and artist, Jan-Willem Boer has painted. You get your own private gallery showing as all of the pieces are for sale. Shenandoah Manor is "one of a kind" B&B, it is the best of Lexington.

Room tip: All the rooms have great views and interesting decor. You can't go wrong.
Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carollee-6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews