We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful place.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lexington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Applewood Inn, Llama Trekking & Cottage
Ranked #11 of 19 Lexington B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The positive reviews on TripAdvisor steered me to the Applewood, but I'll admit that some of them we're so gushy and positive that I was a bit skeptical. It couldn't be that perfect, could it?

Well, it is. The Applewood Inn is lovely, set on a hillside 2-3 miles outside of Lexington, in the Blue Ridge Mountains. The scenery is wonderful, it's quiet, and when you walk up the hill, you get a gorgeous 360 degree view.

Our rooms were beautiful without being overdone, quiet, perfectly clean, absolutely comfortable. Me and my friends had the two, and only, rooms on the first floor. We had gas stoves, and private enclosed porches off our rooms. One room had a big soaking bathtub, the other had a jacuzzi on the private porch. We had genuine patchwork work quilts on the beds, and comfortable furniture. There was a little bar between our rooms in the hall with a Kuerig coffee maker, a vast array of coffee, sugar and creamer, plus a little refrigerator.

On the second floor is the kitchen, with a nook with mugs and at least 30 kinds of tea that we could help ourselves to. The office, dining room and a common room / living room are also on the second floor. The innkeepers, Chris and Linda, live on the third floor, so it's very private and quiet for everyone.

We had two generous, tasty, healthy breakfasts during our stay, everything made from scratch - multigrain muffins and pancakes, veggie omelettes, fresh mixed fruit, fresh squeezed juice, good coffee. Linda and Chris are friendly and interesting, but not intrusive. They answered our questions about birds, trees, the mountains, local history and of course, llamas.

We loved our trek with the llamas. We had a leisurely two hour walk up and down the hills, through the trees and along a stream. The llamas are beautiful, calm and gentle. My friend and I are both photographers and Chris and Linda were very patient and helpful with us taking pictures of the llamas. We both want llamas now.

The inn is convenient to Lexington, where there are many good places to eat lunch and dinner. The inn is not at all hard to find, yet it felt very private and faraway. I'm so glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Siobhan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 76 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were looking to get out of town for the long weekend and came across this place in our Google search. I'm so glad we did! Chris and Linda are super friendly, helpful, and welcoming, and their inn is the perfect place for a romantic getaway. And the location is beautiful - even in the middle of the winter. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The European has the hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lrr86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We loved Applewood Inn from the minute we saw it going up the driveway. The house was beautiful, the owner's welcoming and friendly and our room (Blue Ridge) was adorable. We loved the balcony with the mountain and llama view. Breakfast was delicious pumpkin pancakes, fruit, sausage and great conversation. It was a pleasure staying there and we felt as if we were visiting family. We hope to visit again soon!

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms that we know of so choosing shouldn't be a problem!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTess1425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I was heading to West Va for a conference and needed a place to stay en-route. The llama trekking caught my eye and the inn looked nice so I booked myself a room & a trek. The room was lovely- spacious, clean and nicely decorated. The bathroom was also large with a whirlpool tub. Right outside the door was a fridge filled with drinks, a coffee machine and a jar filled with cookies- sweet!

In the morning I checked out the pool area and the gardens- they both were beautiful.

The hosts- Chris and Linda were delightful. I arrived after dark and was a bit concerned about finding the place- but Chris gave me very specific directions and finding the inn was no problem at all. When I arrived Chris gave me a map of Lexington and several suggestions on where to have dinner. I chose Niko's Grille and had a pleasant meal with good food.

Breakfast was delicious- an apple/ham/cheese omelet with a cup of fresh fruit.

The llama trek was after breakfast and was fun. Basically a walk (leading a llama) up into the mountains with spectacular views and then down through the woods. Not too strenuous- just perfect for all ages and abilities. My llama Chaos was very well behaved- he stopped for an occasional nibble on a leaf but was more cooperative than most animals.

The inn is out of town and in a spectacular setting- my cell phone did not work on the property at all. But there was wireless access. Chris told me they have a dog but I never saw it nor did I see dog hair anywhere. For a brief stretch the road into the neighborhood is a single lane with a river on one side and a cliff on the other so you might want to drive more carefully there- the rest of the road is fine.

Room Tip: If you want to use the hot tub ask for the European room. If you want your own sitting room there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen78703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We loved our stay! Chris and Linda are the nicest hosts ever :) we had the most lovely weekend, and we would love to come back and see the llamas!!! We stayed in the Blue Ridge room and had a lovely, romantic weekend. The llama trek took us through the scenic property, and provided a much-needed break from city life. Please go if you want to escape city life, and enjoy some R&R in the scenic Blue Ridge Mountains!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dcharlton08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

The Applewood Inn is the perfect place if you really want to get away from it all. The accommodations were excellent and the innkeepers, Chris and Linda, were friendly and responsive to questions and requests. They provided the perfect balance of offering friendly conversation and providing guests privacy. We found the inn to be welcoming and immaculate with all of the comforts we could possibly ask for (healthy & tasty breakfasts coffeemaker, & WiFi). The pool and gazebo area are beautiful and provide a wonderfully relaxing respite. I had no idea what to expect on a llama trek but the animals were sweet and well behaved and Linda and Chris were very informative about the care and behavior of these fascinating creatures. We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary at the Applewood Inn and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We will definitely return for another visit!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed at the Applewood Inn for only one night. Chris and Linda, the owners were very nice. Our room, on the first floor, was clean and roomy. We chose the Applewood Inn because of their location near the Blue Ridge Parkway as well as the fact that they allow dogs. We have a very well-behaved Golden Retriever, Tessie, who often travels with us. I was pleasantly surprised to see beautiful artwork by Linda adorning the walls-- it gave the Inn such a personal touch. The setting is beautiful and walking up the hill in back of their home is picturesque. I liked the fact that they didn't allow smoking inside their Inn as I am not fond of stale cigarette smoke, which permeates a room once someone smokes in it. After telling Chris that we prefer "heart healthy" meals, Chris made us hearty, healthy waffles-- not with the normal white flour ingredients. They were very tasty. We highly recommend the Applewood Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greatbaydeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lexington
6.4 mi away
Natural Bridge Historic Hotel & Conference Center
7.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn at Hunt Ridge
7.0 mi away
Best Western Lexington Inn
Best Western Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 16 in Lexington
95 reviews
7.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lexington
5.6 mi away
Robert E Lee Hotel
Robert E Lee Hotel
#6 of 16 in Lexington
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applewood Inn, Llama Trekking & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applewood Inn, Llama Trekking & Cottage

Address: 242 Tarnbeck Lane, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range: $145 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
36 hilltop acres of woods and pastures surround Applewood Inn and Cottage, providing 365 degree views of the Blue Ridge and Alleghenies. Three Inn rooms all have queen beds, fireplaces, private baths, whirlpool or hot tub and private porches. All rooms are pet friendly and two will accommodate extra persons including children 8+. One of these is a suite sized room that will comfortably sleep four with in-room refrigerator, coffee maker and bar sink. A full hearty whole grain breakfast is included as well as complimentary snacks and beverages. Wonderful patios and gardens surround the inn along with a full sized in-ground swimming pool. In addition there is a two bedroom delux cottage that sleeps 2-5 persons. Perfect for honeymoons and families with young children with or without pets. Activities include swimming, hiking, fishing in Buffalo Creek, bird watching and exploring all the attractions of the Lexington area, including Natural Bridge, the Virginia Safari Park, the Virginia Horse Center, Washington and Lee University and two wineries and much more. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing