We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I'm used to with BW's”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Inn at Hunt Ridge
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were in lexington for a horse event at the horse center. The hotel is nicely situated close to the horse center but that is the only thing I can say good about it. Our room had a faulty a/c unit which did get replaced but not until the next day. The mattresses were so thin and cheap and equally uncomfortable. The free breakfast was served on paper plates, hotel room plastic cups (still individually wrapped in plastic) and individually wrapped plastic ware. They are single handedly filling the Lexington landfill! I was very disappointed with this Best Western. I find myself staying at many BW's as somehow they are frequently located near horse facilities but I can honestly say this one was a huge disappointment. How it is in the 'plus' category is mind boggling.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4willtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominionLodgingSales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Inn at Hunt Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

I appreciate your review of our hotel. Our hotel is located near the Virginia Horse Center and we certainly do get a lot of visitors from there. We are sorry we didn’t fix you’re A/C in a timely manner as you requested. We try hard to make sure maintenance issues are taken care of right away. Our brand does require us to use paper plates and cups. The silverware must be individually wrapped for sanitary reasons. We are currently in the process of upgrading the whole hotel including getting new mattresses. We hope you enjoyed your visit at the Virginia Horse Center.
Thank you,
Stacey DeHaven
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (731)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Inn at Hunt Ridge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

627 - 633 of 731 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

We just got home from our stay at this hotel. 5 Families stayed here and all had poor to terrible experiences. The rooms smelled so moldy and musty on the 3rd floor that one family had to change rooms twice before finding one that was satisfactory. We were told they had had a "humidity" problem the week before and also that the A/C had a problem. When this family went to open their window, hoping to air out the room there were scores of little red ants outside and they didn't dare.
Another family checked in and after one use of the toilet, it flooded. When they called the front desk for help, the hotel sent someone from the front desk with towels and a plunger and told them that they could clean it up. This same thing happened to another family in another room! The first family changed hotels.
Our room was musty and damp but we made do. The door handle to our room did not work correctly, though, and after asking for it to be fixed twice, we got locked out of the room for 15 minutes. We finally got it to work but they did not fix the door. We decided to check out a day early and just head home and as we were leaving, someone showed up to fix it.
When we initially brought the issue to the young man at the front desk, it was very clear that he either didn't think it was his problem or that anything would be done about it. Either he didn't care or he knew from experience that nothing would be done. When we asked the woman at the front desk the next day, she seemed more receptive to fixing the situation but still nothing happened.
When we left and spent the night at a Hampton Inn in Harrisburg last night, the difference was striking. The room smelled fresh and clean and it was bright and roomy. The desk staff was cheery and welcoming, as was the breakfast room staff and everyone we encountered working at the hotel.
We would not recommend the Best Western at Hunt Ridge and will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

It is a great location convenient to the Interstate 64 close to 81. It is decorated very nice and definately is a place to stay. They have a very nice morning breakfast with many different items to chose from. an Indoor/Outdoor pool. Nice in the Summer. And the staff is always working hard to make our stays great.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Mountie1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominionLodgingSales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Inn at Hunt Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for your review of Best Western Plus Inn at Hunt Ridge. We do have a wonderful location right off 64 and 81. We are also close to many things in town. We do offer a complimentary breakfast with many different options. Our indoor and outdoor pool is one of our nice features we do offer. I want to say a huge thank you for remembering our staff that works hard to make sure our hotel is running properly.
Thank you,
Stacey DeHaven
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were impressed with the look and feel of this hotel. Room was comfortable and well appointed. Breakfast was very good, with some unique items such as cheese and halved grapefruits. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aviatrix1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Best Western and loved our stay. We were close to the interstate and had quick access to restaurants and businesses. l loved that we were that close to the interstate but didn't have the noise issue from traffic on the interstate.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Rita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntRidgePlus, General Manager at Best Western Plus Inn at Hunt Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the stay to share your experience with us. We offer one of the best locations in the area. Close enough to the interstate to be convenient but far enough away not to hear the noise. We are also located 1/2 a mile from the Virginia Horse Center which hosts many events during the year. Its great to hear from our guests, our entire staff strives to make each stay memorable. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was clean and the rooms were comfortable. The service was great. They even put this cute rubber duck in the bathroom. Down in the lobby they had tea and coffee all the time. I'm a tea drinker and they had a lot of flavors to choose from. My only complainant was that their restaurant was not always open during the hours they said it would be and one night it rained and when it stopped they did not reopen the pool. The only reason I mention those things is because there is not much to do at night in lexington, but we had a great stay and would go back again!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kmhappysun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My wife and I were traveling down Skyline Drive and the Blue Ridge Parkway and needed a place to stay, found this hotel in the AAA Tour Book. It was a very pleasant surprise, the young man who checked us in was very nice. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The restaurant was right down the hall from our room, and the food was very good. We would absolutely stay here again and recommend it to others. (The rubber duck was a nice touch)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Lexington Inn
Best Western Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
413 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lexington
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 16 in Lexington
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Inn at Hunt Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Inn at Hunt Ridge

Address: 25 Willow Springs Rd, Lexington, VA 24450-2949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lexington
#3 Business Hotel in Lexington
Price Range: $86 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Inn at Hunt Ridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Virginia hotel's service & amenities enhance the historic Lexington experience! The Best Western Inn at Hunt Ridge is a stately hotel located close to historic Lexington, providing the highest service and accommodation to both leisure and business guests. Stay connected with free high speed Internet, available in every room. Be sure to take time to cool off at the indoor and outdoor pool located on the premises! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Best Western, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Inn at Hunt Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn At Hunt Ridge Hotel Lexington
Best Western Lexington
Lexington Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing