We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what it used to be...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Inn at Hunt Ridge
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2011

My family and I stayed here three years ago (2008) and had great memories of the stay and hotel overall; however, this time around the visit was all but wonderful. Our room seemed "dirty," and it had an odd smell to it. It's not to say the room was dusty or had dirt everywhere but it just felt as such- perhaps it was the smell.

And when we asked about the motion detector in our room the host at the desk wasn't even sure what it was for- it was odd though. Furthermore the onsite restaurant is now closed (not necessary, but was nice the last time) and the pool was closed for renovation (in the summer time?). The continental breakfast was lacking- and my wife found a hair in her sausage gravy... not cool.

On a good note though- the staff was nice; but I don't think we'll be staying there again.

Room Tip: Ask to see/smell your room prior to staying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryanerickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (767)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

750 - 756 of 769 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2010

I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this BW experience!

Rooms were very nice; comfortable beds; easy access to both I-81 and I-64 and close to the Blue Ridge Parkway.

A little steeper in price with a higher pet fee ($25.00 per night as opposed to the $5.00 the previous night in Winchester, VA) but still worth it for what was offered. Plenty of free parking.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Customs_MP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2010

I looked at the reviews for a great many hotels along Rte. 81 in Virginia and many of them sounded old and run down. The BW Inn at Hunt Ridge does not fall into that category. We requested a room on the first floor because we have a pup, but either none were available or their pet rooms are only on the second floor. Regardless, our room was large (despite the fact that the beds were double and not queen), and there was a comfortable sitting area with a small couch. (If you like rock hard beds, you'll love these!) There was a microfridge in the room and a coffee maker but no free breakfast. It was a nice hotel, but I think $25/night is a lot for a pet fee.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amlbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2010

Each year I attend the Trail Horse Auction at Va Horse Center. Last year the hotel was fine and served the purpose. I did not try the continental breakfast last year. This year I traveled with my daughter and grand-daughter. We woke up to ants crawling all over the nightstand between the beds and all over the side & top of the beds. Not good. We decided to take advantage of the continental breakfast so we could get to the horse center early. It was pretty horrible. The english muffins were hard enough to double as hockey pucks. They did offer prefab cheese/ham omlettes, biscuits, hot sausage gravy, cereals, some pastries and packaged oatmeal & grits. The real problem was the styrofoam plates and bowls you were supposed to use to heat the omelettes and instant oatmeal/grits items. I was surprised they didn't have some other form of bowls or even paper plates. Styrofoam melts into your food in microwaves. The hotel was not as clean as last year.
I do like this hotel for it's location, but won't stay there again next year. I told the desk person about the bugs all over the nightstand and beds and she really didn't react like I thought she should. She did mention they had ants near the front desk area as well. Odd considering it's the dead of winter w/snow on the ground.
How can they improve? Eliminate the bug problem, move the continental breakfast from the 3rd floor to the 1st, keep your breakfast offerings fresher, and for goodness sake - give your customers something to heat up the food items in/on.
The first night we were awakened about every 15 minutes with someone stomping around in the room above us. It wouldn't have been so bad, but the floor above us also squeeked. I know someone stomping around all night is not the fault of the hotel, but maybe the sqeeking floor can be fixed.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovinLif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2010

We stayed for about a week here with one small and one medium dog. The hotel staff were great about the dogs. I have nothing but praise for this hotel. As for food you need to go to the truck stop down the road for an excellent meal. The Berky's Restaurant at the Lee-Hi Truck Stop is great.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pippin_Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2009

I planned to visit Lexington Virginia, to visit friends and relatives and I started looking online for hotels and restaurants. I found some reviews of some hotels and restaurants and I decided to stay at Best Western at Hunt Ridge. I had read some bad recommendations on G.Willaker's restaurant and so I wanted to avoid going there. However, my friends in Lexington insisted on going to G.Wilaker's to eat, so I followed along with them. I was not expecting such great service and excellent food in great portions. I was surprised because i had read terrible reviews about this restaurant. The manager came to our table to ask us how our meal was and i noticed that he had a non-american accent. He introduced himself to us as "Nick The Greek" and it turned out that he was the owner of the restaurant who had gone to Greece for several years and had left the restaurant in the hands of a manager. After talking to us for a few minutes, Nick treated us with a special greek dessert. It was the first walnut cake I have ever tried and was delicious! Now that i have been to G.Willaker's I cannot understand how anyone would write a bad review about it! I went to the restaurant three more times during my stay at Lexington and still had great service even when nick was not there. It think that G.Willaker's is a great family restaurant with great food, service and reasonable prices. One thing you have to do before you leave is ask Nick to Bark! Then you will now you are at the right place!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen22492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

Right around the corner from the arena. Great rate for those attending events at the Horse Center. Wonderful staff and most of all clean.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daman24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Lexington Inn
Best Western Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
430 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 16 in Lexington
100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lexington
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Inn at Hunt Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Inn at Hunt Ridge

Address: 25 Willow Springs Rd, Lexington, VA 24450-2949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lexington
#2 Family Hotel in Lexington
#3 Business Hotel in Lexington
Price Range: $77 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Inn at Hunt Ridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Virginia hotel's service & amenities enhance the historic Lexington experience! The Best Western Inn at Hunt Ridge is a stately hotel located close to historic Lexington, providing the highest service and accommodation to both leisure and business guests. Stay connected with free high speed Internet, available in every room. Be sure to take time to cool off at the indoor and outdoor pool located on the premises! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Best Western, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Inn at Hunt Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn At Hunt Ridge Hotel Lexington
Best Western Lexington
Lexington Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing