We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place and reasonable rates”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Lexington
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Clarkston, Michigan
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice place and reasonable rates”
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We were originally thinking of the Country Inn and Suites directly across the street, but the price there was too much even with a senior rate. The front desk staff were helpful and even made sure we had choices of type of room and floor preference. They seemed happy to share info about the surrounding area. The hotel was clean and the beds comfortable. Breakfast area was large and the food was super with the famous Holiday Inn cinnamon rolls enticing us. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parksorbust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    83
    34
    16
    15
See reviews for
98
53
13
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

I'm not sure how this stunt was pulled, and honestly I am very upset at HI as I am a Platinum Priority Member, but they changed my booking fee from $77 when I booked the hotel, to $97 when I checked in. I have never been fooled by a stunt like this from them ever before, so the thought never occured to me to print and bring my confirmation letter. The reason I am absolutely sure of the booking cost is that it was so low compared to the usual rates for this particular HIE. You see they have a captive audience. This HIE is 1 mile away from Virginia Military Institute. Normally a hotel near a college is going to have higher rates, but this one is unique because at VMI, students are isolated from the world (telephone, internet, etc) during thier first year at school. This makes parents very anxious to get up there and visit them, but since visitation is controlled as well, the hotel industry around it takes advantage of the parents.

So when I booked the hotel at $77 I made a point to tell my wife and friends who would be staying there with us, that it was so cheap, and we were all happy. So imagine my surprise and outrage when I arrived and saw that they were charging me $20 more per room! I immediately asked about it and the staff was courteous but insisted that the cost was correct, and encouraged me to look it up online. So I went to the room, and pulled up my HI platinum card member account and was outraged again! They had changed my single two room booking, to two separate rom bookings, and it showed the now increased price! What kind of company would do that to save $20?! HIE if you're reading this you better make it good!!!

needless to say I will forever print and bringing my reservation slip with me. I will not be cheated like this again. Also, I have started using the Hilton Honors program unitl HIE makes it good.

One other note about this particular hotel's price gouging. IF the normal room rate is $77 or $97, and I understand raising your rates a little during peak booking, but two weeks ago(before our "incident") I went to book this hotel for VMI's parent's weekend. the rate was $269 per night!!! Same hotel, same room. That's criminal and I'm telling all the VMI folks to look at alternatives. Seriously. I'm staying in Lynchburg, an hour away, because I refuse this type of business taking advantage of parents who will pay anything to see thier children for the short periods they're allowed. One of our fellow parents also suggested we rent a house/condo there instead. You can bet I'll be looking into that!

Room Tip: Until they do a reset and pull thier heads out of thier A#$@s book somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seahawksman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed here one night on our way back from a funeral so we were not in the best state of mind but the hotel needs some updating and they use way too much air freshener or scented cleaning stuff. It was overpowering. It's a decent location and convenient to all Lexington has to offer (which isn't much). We had previously stayed at the Hampton Inn Col Alto and for the same price we got a gorgeous hotel on beautiful grounds right in the City of Lexington. But if you are with a horse show or just need a night on your way west or east, this isn't too bad.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knc510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

This hotel is in a great location. We stayed here because we were showing all week at the Virginia horse center. it is very close to the show grounds. When i arrived all i had to do was give them my last name and they immediately knew who i was by first name. The check in took just a few minutes and the guy at the desk was very nice and knowledgeable. Our room was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. We got plenty of towels and they even put a rubber ducky on our tub every day when they cleaned the room. We had a fridge and microwave in our room that were plugged in and ready to use upon arrival. The only downside to the rooms is that the walls are pretty thin. One morning i could hear the guy on the phone word for word what he was saying. The breakfast is great. They have a pancake machine where all you have to do is press one button for 2 fresh pancakes. They have a fridge full of milk cartons and yogurt. The usual bacon and eggs, biscuits, muffins and cereals. I will definitely be coming back to this place. All the staff that i came in contact with during my stay was great and very helpful and pleasant. It was so nice to be able to focus on the horse show and not have to worry about the hotel or breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tymchakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

A standard room, comfortable and clean, with a nice view of the mountains from the 3rd floor. But beware--this hotel claims to have a fitness center and pool, but neither are on the property--you have to go to two different nearby motels (one for the fitness center, one for the pool). The free breakfast was low quality even by motel standards. The "healthy" fruit option (which they promote) was some overripe bananas and kids "Trix" yogurts. Bad coffee in styrofoam cups. Your kids might like all the sugar, but adults will leave hungry and looking for decent coffee. For $129 + tax I felt ripped off.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaileyC55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level Contributor
68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We go to the Virginia Horse Center to show horses several times a year and our Cairn Terrier, Baxter, is a member of the Family (and better behaved than many children ;-) ) The Holiday Inn Express could not have been more accomodating for him (even not giving us a hard time for bringing him to the eating area which I later realized was a no-no, whoops!) Beds were comfortable with nice linens- decor a little outdated but not horrible. A new fave in Lexington (old fave was the Hampton Inn, but they are NOT pet friendly.) We couldn't get the internet to work, unfortunately...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginiagirl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

This hotel is very clean although the decor (lots of flowery wallpaper) and amenities are a little dated. No flat screen TVs here! We stayed at this hotel after an uncomfortable night at the Wingate nearby, and this is a much better choice. The room, a king suite, was quite small and the sofa bed was a twin -- not big enough for our 9 and 11 year old children. The room and bathroom were very clean and smelled fresh. The bed was fairly firm but we slept well. Breakfast was average, but did include a pancake maker and the rolls this chain is known for. All the staff were very helpful and attentive. For the limited options in Lexington, this hotel is a good choice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tarheel08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn at Hunt Ridge
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#7 of 16 in Lexington
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Lexington Inn
Best Western Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
385 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lexington
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Lexington

Property: Holiday Inn Express Lexington
Address: 880 N Lee Hwy, Lexington, VA 24450-3725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Lexington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the charm and warmth of Lexington, Virginia at the new Holiday Inn Express Lexington. Conveniently located at the intersection of I-81 and I-64, we're just minutes from all the areas attractions, such as: Washington and Lee University, Virginia Military Institute, the Virginia Horse Center and Natural Bridge. At the Holiday Inn Express Lexington you'll immediately fall in love with the hotel's beautiful decor and be greeted by our courteous staff. Our hotel will surround you with the conveniences that make business and pleasure travel easy. Relax and get ready for the day ahead in one of our guest rooms, featuring 27 HD flat screen televisions, a comfortable large well lit work area with ergonomic chair, two phones with data ports, complimentary high speed Internet access, complimentary weekday newspaper, in-room coffee and complimentary continental breakfast. In addition to traditional hotel rooms, the Holiday Inn Express Lexington offers you two room suites with two full-size beds. These suites have a separate sitting area with a second television, 48' pull out sofa bed, table for four or a desk for corporate needs. There is also an over-sized, fully-equipped kitchen with microwave, large refrigerator, dishwasher and utensils. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Lexington Hotel Lexington
Holiday Inn Lexington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing