We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good Value and Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Lexington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Lexington
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Inman, SC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good Value and Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

Recently stayed at this hotel while visiting the local historical sites, including Stonewall Jackson's home, Lee's Chapel and Jackson Cemetery. The hotel is located less than 5 minutes from downtown Lexington. Parking lot was well kept and clean. The lobby and desk help were both welcoming. We stayed in a large suite room with two doubles in one room and in the other section were a kitchen, TV area and pull out sofa. Everything was clean, new looking and no funny smells. The wall mounted hair dryer died while my wife was using it, but once we told the desk they quickly gave us a new hand held dryer as a replacement. The breakfast was included and the staff was friendly. Very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChDoBishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at Holiday Inn Express Lexington, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Lexington, Va.
Comments from our guests are used to better our services and our commitment to guest satisfaction. I apologize for the difficulty you had with the hairdryer. I trust a replacement was brought to you promptly.
Again, thank you and I hope you will return to the Holiday Inn Express if you visit the Lexington area in the future.
Sincerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    80
    34
    16
    14
See reviews for
94
51
13
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

+ Superb location, an Applebee, a subway and a dairy queen are all within walking distance, along with an Amoco gas station with its attached convenience store
+ I had a nice view from my room of sun rays caressing mountain tops and trees
+ Room was exceptionally clean with a nice smell
+ Comfortable bedding
+ Quiet
+ Sumptuous free breakfast

-1 Breakfast could be improved with more healthy stuff, like sugar free oatmeal, fruits etc.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms looking out to the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 101_201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

Arrived on a Thursday afternoon 5pm; waited 20 minutes for employee to check us in. No one at front desk with 3 couples waiting for rooms. AC was very loud machine; hard to sleep, bathroom floor was not clean. For a pretty town like Lexington, Holiday Inn Express disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kidoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
133 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

This was my second time at this property. It is typical of the Holiday Inn Express offerings--clean, basic, no-frills accommodations.

I noticed a couple of very small stains (mildew?) on the shower curtain, but otherwise the bathroom was spotless, as was the room in general.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2011

I stay here every time I travel through the area. It couldn't be more convenient to the interstates and is near numerous businesses a traveler may need (restaurants, gas stations, pharmacies, etc.). I always request a top floor room with a mountain view. It looks either brand new or newly remodeled. The whole facility is very pretty and extremely well-kept. Rooms have big TVs and very comfortable working areas and lounge chairs. The HVAC worked great. Bath rooms are roomy and spotlessly clean. Yes, it only has one small elevator but it's never been a problem as long as you are a polite person. The free breakfast was excellent. I particularly like the fact that it doesn't have a pool. No noisy, rude, annoying children outside the windows and running up and down the hallways. Nearly countless sites of spectacular natural beauty and adventure as well as historical interest are in the area. Why would anyone sit around a pool? I recommend this hotel highly. Plan to stay awhile and explore one of the most wonderful parts of our country.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I-travel-a-lotmjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

Service is excellent. Wi fi is good. The room is very nice, chairs needed replaced or reconstructed. Bed is very nice. Generous towels and very clean rooms. Good breakfast.
Overall good environment, efficient service, fair breakfast, great location. This is a very good value for above average at a good price.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julsbythelake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2010

above average. room was clean and relatively recently renovated. bathroom was clean. nice flatscreen TV. fridge in room. bed was good. we were there for only a nite, but i would stay again. breakfast was a little less generous than other places, but acceptable.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msingMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Hunt Ridge
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#10 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Lexington

Property: Holiday Inn Express Lexington
Address: 880 North Lee Highway, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Lexington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the charm and warmth of Lexington, Virginia at the new Holiday Inn Express Lexington. Conveniently located at the intersection of I-81 and I-64, we're just minutes from all the areas attractions, such as: Washington and Lee University, Virginia Military Institute, the Virginia Horse Center and Natural Bridge. At the Holiday Inn Express Lexington you'll immediately fall in love with the hotel's beautiful decor and be greeted by our courteous staff. Our hotel will surround you with the conveniences that make business and pleasure travel easy. Relax and get ready for the day ahead in one of our guest rooms, featuring 27 HD flat screen televisions, a comfortable large well lit work area with ergonomic chair, two phones with data ports, complimentary high speed Internet access, complimentary weekday newspaper, in-room coffee and complimentary continental breakfast. In addition to traditional hotel rooms, the Holiday Inn Express Lexington offers you two room suites with two full-size beds. These suites have a separate sitting area with a second television, 48' pull out sofa bed, table for four or a desk for corporate needs. There is also an over-sized, fully-equipped kitchen with microwave, large refrigerator, dishwasher and utensils. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Lexington Hotel Lexington
Holiday Inn Lexington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing