We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent soups”

Sheridan Livery Inn
Ranked #11 of 76 Restaurants in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
100 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent soups”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had lunch at the Sheridan and it was excellent. We had the crab bisque, with just the right touch of sherry in it, and though no lump crab, the flavor was delicious. The caesar salad was perfect--not too much dressing and fresh. Our adult son had the daily soup special (chili) and a Reuben sandwich which he enjoyed. The waitress was excellent--knowledgable about the menu, perfectly attentive--and the service was quick.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank looksformuseums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    73
    23
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“a lovely dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

The waitress was incredibly helpful and pleasant in answering our many questions, even volunteering to check with the chef when she didn't know. DH had duck, and although I'm not a big duck fan, it was the best duck I've ever tasted. Interesting menu, nice surroundings.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andee110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Virginia
1 review
“Excellent food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Best chicken salad sandwich I have had in a long time. We were in a group of 8 and everyone LOVED what they ordered.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haymarket, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not blown away but food is ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

For the price I would expect exceptional food but it was pretty average. Husband ordered surf and turf. The scallops were perfect, but the steak was jerky and not cooked to his request. They did cook another one but it took a while to get the servers attention so that was a bit annoying. The sweet potato stuffed pasta was good, although seemed a bit overcooked.

Helpful?
Thank Karrot719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Food - Service = Blech!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Dinner last night at the Sheridan Livery Inn was an experience to say the least. The food ranged from good to excellent. The service was mediocre to poor, and included having no clue about the beverage list, no recommendations on the menu, and a thumb on top of the plate as she served it. I think I could have accepted the unpressed shirt and unrestrained hair, but the thumb was too much.

If, as seems possible, it was her first day on the job, someone else from the staff should have been coaching. I kept thinking of the poor chef in the kitchen working hard to prepare his meals, only to have the experience ruined by the service.

Will we return..probably. The food is worth a return trip. But we will definitely NOT sit at a table with this server.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nigel'smom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sheridan Livery Inn also viewed

 

Been to Sheridan Livery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing