We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the BEST B&B's we have stayed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Frog Hollow Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 18 Lexington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
1,002 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 403 helpful votes
“One of the BEST B&B's we have stayed!”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

As a former Innkeeper and traveler we have stayed in our fair share of B&Bs and small boutique Inns. Must say my wife and I were so impressed with what John and David have put together here. We were warmly received (despite arriving a couple hours later than our anticipated arrival) and given a tour of the place. We chatted at length about the inn, inn-keeping, history, etc. that evening before dinner and also over breakfast. It was nice to see that both of our innkeepers had enough interest in their guests to sit and have a cup of coffee with us at the table. Even after 10-years they are still enthusiastic and fresh hosts. The inn is very well appointed (given David's background as an interior designer). Comfortable and not chalk-full of chotchkies that is often times commonplace in other historic inns. Big points go to the attention to detail, should you have left any toiletry at home, there was a treasure chest of items to pick from in the bathroom.

Breakfast had to have been one of the best ever served at a bed and breakfast we have stayed over the past 20-years. Nicely done poached pear started off the "meal" and was followed by an omelet with a spicy salsa complete with capers. The sides were shredded potato cake with chive and turkey bacon. Peach preserves by local Mennonite accompanied the toast.

Sharon and I can certainly understand why they have such good repeat business.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garden Room. Fridge with complementary water and snacks. Chocolates in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPSaleebyMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
96
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frederickburg, VA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

My girl and I returned to Frog Hollow on the first weekend of December to spend a little time with here son who's at VMI and to relax at this wonderful B&B. John and David, the proprietors, have become very good friends of ours in short time and we were fortunate to be able to dine with them on the occasion of John's 60th birthday!

The house was adorned with traditional and non-traditional Christmas decorations that provided a festive and exciting ambiance in every room. The outdoor holiday decor was very tasteful and elegant and you easily feel transformed to an earlier, simpler time. Things simply feel cozy and familiar at Frog Hollow, and they'll continue to do so for my girl and I as we plan to visit as often as possible, at least a couple of times a year.

Once again, the food is outstanding. John and David seem to like to play "one upsmanship" in the kitchen, as each breakfast is even more fabulous than the last! As mentioned in my last review, when you wake up warm and hungry to the aromas of coffee and breakfast you will not be leaving the dining room with even a corner of your stomach empty or wanting more!

If you're even going to be within 50 miles of Lexington, VA I urge you to try to secure accommodations at Frog Hollow. Frankly, your lives will be enriched for having met and getting to know John and David. As many say, you can never have too many friends!

Room Tip: Tolley Suite is our favorite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purcellville, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in November and we had an excellent time. These guys are the friendliest, funniest hosts we've had the pleasure of staying with ever. Not only did they arrange our dinner reservations, they joined us in the mornings for breakfast and we talked for quite some time. I actually missed them when I got home! I can't wait to go back. I would highly recommend these beautiful, hospitable characters any day over a hotel. Oh- the salsa...was awesome- great food! Best I've had at a B&B, hands down. The room was clean and comfortable, the mattress was super comfy.

Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelWAC5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper492, Owner at Frog Hollow Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
Thank you so much for the great review. We miss you too! We had a really great time with the both of you. We felt as if we had friends visiting us and cannot wait for your next trip to Lexington so we can laugh again. Hurry Back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

A very nice stay in a great room coupled with friendly hosts. A credit to the hosts who keep this accomodation exceptionally clean and welcoming. The first choice for accomodation in Lexington without a doubt. Nice breakfast and conversation, while respecting guests privacy. Great touches around the house with the frog theme prevelant. Many complimentary items, candy,chocolate,water coffee etc. Well Done and 5 Stars.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allanmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper492, Owner at Frog Hollow Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
We would like to say Thank you both for the great review and a big Thank you to all our previous guests for the past reviews. We really enjoyed having each and everyone of you in our home. We are going into 11 years of owning Frog Hollow Bed and Breakfast. Guess time does fly when you are having fun! Thank you all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2011

I had a delightful stay at Frog Hollow B&B while visiting my son at his college in September. The room was extremely clean and comfortable. The breakfast was outstanding. Staying at Frog Hollow was almost like be home. I would absolutely recommend this establishment to anyone visiting Lexington Virginia.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vandyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Maryland, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

My partner and I have stayed at Frog Hollow twice and both visits have been superb. John and David are excellent hosts and make us feel right at home. They were very helpful with restaurant suggestions and reservations, even going so far as to hand draw maps so that we could find our way to dinner and back. We have stayed in two different rooms, both of which have been immaculate and super-comfortable. As other reviewers have mentioned, the breakfasts are heavenly. Frog Hollow is our go-to place to stay when we are in the Lexington area!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
2 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We recently stayed at Frog Hollow for Parent's Weekend of one of the local universities. The accomodations were excellent and the service wonderful. John and David are superb hosts and work hard to understand and meet guests needs. They are very familiar with the area and full of helpful information. The rooms are beautifully decorated, comfortable and private. The breakfasts were first class and wonderful times to visit with the hosts and other guests. The inn is very conveniently located and very well kept up. There are many wonderful touches within the home like bottled waters and cozy sitting areas. We have already booked our return visit!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Lexington Inn
Best Western Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
401 reviews
1.0 mi away
Robert E Lee Hotel
Robert E Lee Hotel
#7 of 16 in Lexington
175 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 16 in Lexington
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn at Hunt Ridge
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frog Hollow Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frog Hollow Bed and Breakfast

Property: Frog Hollow Bed and Breakfast
Address: 492 Greenhouse Road, Lexington, VA 24450
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience Frog Hollow Bed and Breakfast. Located on a quiet country road less than 2 miles from downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Frog Hollow Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing