We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“it was ok -”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Country Cookin

Country Cookin
Ranked #20 of 76 Restaurants in Lexington
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Westchester
Level Contributor
150 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“it was ok -”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Ate here looking for some local southern food. It was ok. I can not remember what I ate - but they had sweet tea - which I wanted. I know I would not bother to come back to it. Was fine as it was for a quick dinner - and thats what we needed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mishy119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    62
    31
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Shenandoah National Park, Virginia
Level Contributor
305 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Certainly Not One of Our Favorites!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

We should have known by the name of the restaurant, but thought we'd give it a try since friends wanted to go. As we expected, we felt the food was less than appetizing, overcooked, and the place was noisy. There are too many other nice eating establishments in Lexington for us to find our way here.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IAmEve7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“If you are going to only serve a buffet, then you should tend it”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We went here for breakfast before going to Natural Bridge. This place smelled sooo bad when I walked in, I didn't even want to stay. But... my other experiences in Lexington were not that great so I thought. Can't really screw up a breakfast buffet. We were wrong. Arrived around 9:00 am to find the bar all dried up, and not well stocked. Waffle machine located on a nasty table away from the buffet. Grit and Oatmeal looked like cement and the scrambled eggs were undercooked. No butter, bacon was undercooked, sausage was burnt, sausage gravy looked like mystery wallpaper glue. Don't waste your time or money- Go to Waffle House- at least they are consistant.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mistie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Compared to other restaurants in the area, this place was very pretty, clean, good service, food good; and free salad/dessert bar with any entree...

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank tolbert89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Vista, Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Ick.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

I don't understand all the rave reviews for this restaurant at all. It is very noisy, with what seems like a lot of unsupervised kids running around and food that's more institutional than homey. We aren't headed back any time soon. Sure it's cheap, but you get what you pay for.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eastskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Country Cookin also viewed

 

Been to Country Cookin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing