We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Convenient location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

The location of this hotel makes it easy to get to the Virginia Horse Center, Natural Bridge and downtown Lexington.
Our room was spacious, clean and the bed was very good. We had a microwave, refrigerator and coffee pot but you could get coffee, tea, or hot chocolate any time by going to the breakfast area.
We have stayed at Country Inn & Suites many times and I have always found the accommodations to be excellent.
My only objection to the hotel was the price. This was Washington & Lee College parents weekend, a football game at VMI, and a competition at the Virginia Horse Center so the price of the room was triple the cost of the normal rate.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bagelbunny3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    80
    50
    25
    17
See reviews for
118
49
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington NC
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

Efficient, clean hotel close to downtown. Across the street from Dairy Queen-a plus for the kids. Indoor pool was small and sufficient, breakfest was more than enough for anyone. Service was excellent. Best Beds of our trip! Worth it to visit the Safari Animal Park down the road-be prepared to laugh-a lot (the pee in your pants type laughing-i mean)!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GracieGirl100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spammmenot
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

Stayed on the 2nd floor. The door to the room had to be pushed really hard for the latch to grab. Apparently many doors are this way on the 2nd floor as most people are slamming the doors to get them to close. So, be ready to be an early riser.

The advertisements say this place was recently renovated... I've not seen where on the 1st and 2nd floors as the place shows some age.

I expected a little more for the accommodations given this is a CIS.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spammmenot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_lxva, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington, responded to this review, July 9, 2010
When problems with locks occur, once reported to maintenance, the door jamb is usually in need of adjustment. Slamming of the doors causes mechanism to fall out of alignment. Also low battery power will cause malfunction and when reported, batteries replaced cures problem, but we need to be notified when there is a problem. Most slamming of doors is usually inconsideration of others, especially kids not monitored by parents.
Tom West-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

We stayed in a king suite for three nights. The hotel appearance was very clean. Our room was spacious. The suite had a seperate bedroom with a tv, a sitting area with a couch desk and chair and a tv, there was also a frig and microwave. The internet connection was fast which my husband apreciated as well as the extra outlets on the desk. The bed was comfy and the sheets were soft and extra pillows and a blanket were in the room. The airconditioning did a good job of keeping the room cool when 95 degrees outside. I filled out an e-mail survey sent to me by the Country In and Suites chain after my stay. I had a few coments about my stay. The next day I received a personal e-amail response by the General Manger. It was nice to see that they look at the reveiws and were concerned with what we thought about our stay. This was way beyond anything that I have ever received from a hotel before. I will stay again!!

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tbell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
93 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

This was my first stay at this hotel chain. I paid $69.95 for one night with the roomsavers.com rate. Definately worth it. We had a very large room with two queen beds, frige, microwave, large tv and nice size bathroom. Beds and bedding were very comfy. The only complaint I had was that they had feather pillows, which I find very uncomfortable.

It is right off I-81/I-64. There is a family dinner across the street. The food was good and the prices were very reasonable. There is a dairy queen and gas station across the street also with a gas station/convenience store next door to the hotel.

The hotel had a business center with one computer for guests use as well as a large indoor heated pool and spa and a small fitness center. The free breakfast consisted of waffles, biscuts & gravy, bagels, cereals, donuts, etc.

I usually stay at Hampton Inn or Holiday Inn Express. I will defiantely be adding Country Inn & Suites to my list. I also like that there is a hardwood staircase in the lobby leading to the second floor. It gives the hotel the feel of a "Country Inn". Nice touch!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank borntotravel999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardtown, MD
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2008

Quite pricey for an average room. It was clean enough and roomy BUT we were woken up through the night by the very loud comings and goings of those in rooms nearby. (This ceased at around 215AM). Also the in room air conditioning unit was one of those that runs loud and continuously. So you could either enjoy silence but suffer an unbearably warm room with no air movement, or turn the unit on for a comfortable temperature, but then have to bury your head to block the noise.

  • Liked — The breakfast layout was substantial and good.
  • Disliked — The noise
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LMJST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lexington hotels

East Coast
Level Contributor
154 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2008

We can usually count on Country Inn and Suites to be a cut above average lodging. As always a nice roomy room and a good breakfast. The thing we love most about this chain is the ability to open the windows for fresh air. VERY comfortable king bed.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Giggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Hunt Ridge
0.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#10 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington
Address: 875 N Lee Hwy, Lexington, VA 24450-3725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington Hotel Lexington
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Lexington
Country Inn Lexington
Lexington Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing