We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Musty rooms. Dirty duvets. Stay elsewhere if you can!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Cleveland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Musty rooms. Dirty duvets. Stay elsewhere if you can!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Needed a place to stay enroute from NC to OH. Booked 2 rooms for family here. Both rooms smelled musty. Both rooms had duvet covers that were clearly soiled! Yuck. Need I say more? Look for place with clean beds for each guest! However, two other alternatives were booked up already. If you plan to stop over, book early and book elsewhere if you can.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mln10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
I apologize for the less than satisfactory conditions you encountered in your rooms. We are working to improve our operations and your feed back is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    80
    50
    25
    17
See reviews for
118
49
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed here for a night during a road trip and used a coupon from the visitor center coupon booklet ($75/night in June). The room was clean and the beds were comfortable with down filled comforters. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The guy at check in recommended a local pizza place that delivered, and he gave us a menu as well. The customer service at that restaurant was excellent and the food was great, but that's a separate review.....The pool was clean and the breakfast was good for the price (included in room rate). We would have stayed again on our way back but we ended up driving farther to another Country Inn and Suites.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for your positive review. We will continue to work hard to provide our guets with the quality of service and facilities that exceed xpectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We found bed bugs in the first room and stink bugs in the second. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clem248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
I apologize for the problem you experienced during you recent stay with us.
Please get in touch with me at the hotel so that we can discuss the issue, as it was not reported to the staff or myself prior to your posting.

Thank you very much;

Charles Haywood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lexington hotels

Charlotte
Level Contributor
292 reviews
248 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stay at Country Inns fairly often, and found this one to be very nice. It's located in a quiet location a mile or so north of downtown Lexington. The hotel was very clean, and looked fairly new. There's an indoor pool and other amenities you normally expect from Country Inns. Our king room was well furnished, and the bed was comfortable. The front desk staff were especially friendly. The free hot breakfast seemed to be a little better than the average for other Country Inns we've stayed at. The price was about what you'd expect for such a hotel in a small town location. So overall we had a good stay here, and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lchjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast of the U.S.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We normally do not stay at this chain but decided to because we found a good rate in a booklet at the Visitor Center ($69.00). I would not pay more than that for this hotel. Lobby is very nice. Room is clean but could use better bedding. Internet service was good (Wireless too). Free bkfst was sufficient. Pool seemed clean and fitness center was basic but in good working order. Lady working the bkfst room was pleasant and efficient. Fresh baked cookies was a nice treat on the way home. If you like frozen yogurt walk next door to the mini mart/gas station/ Subway....yummy!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adventurers67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelburne, Vermont
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Always a great value at Country Inn and Suites. Our hotel of choice while traveling!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolsm44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

One of my favorites, stayed at this name many times in Canada and the Lexington site was just as good and very close to a duplicate.

From the moment you walk through the door it is appealing, lovely fireplace, free desktop internet, fresh cookies, desk staff that were always helpful and efficient.

Rooms are large, well finished, this one had a big screen flat TV with fifty plus channels. Wifi is free in all rooms.

Although it is located near the highway it is very quiet with Subway, Applebys, Dairy Queen and a Wallmart a short walk over the interchange. Parking is sufficient and well lit.

Some small changes from our Canadian location, we have old style tube TVs, they have plastic cups and some paper plates in breakfast while we have china.

The breakfast is included in the price and delicious for a traveler. Hot, cold, fruit, plus many other options that make an excellent morning meal or early lunch.

The price is a little more than many of the cut rate chains but I find the service and quality worth it.

Room Tip: Home away from home
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigBlue01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Hunt Ridge
0.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#10 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington
Address: 875 N Lee Hwy, Lexington, VA 24450-3725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Carlson, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington Hotel Lexington
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Lexington
Country Inn Lexington
Lexington Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing