We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Miss a Chance to Stay”
Review of 502 South Main

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
502 South Main
Ranked #1 of 19 Lexington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2014

502 South Main - A very pleasant B&B experience! The rooms are well appointed and have many little touches that make the accommodations special ... and the Inn is conveniently located. However, the best feature is your very accommodating and gracious hosts, Russ and Mary Stuart. A warm and welcoming reception, exceptional service, and an assortment of home-made goodies ... topped off by good, hearty breakfast ... as some would say, it doesn't get much better than that! I'll be back!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayland P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
There are newer reviews for 502 South Main
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 294 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014

Why would anyone stay in an ordinary chain hotel, when you can stay in an amazing B&B? Russ and Mary Stuart couldn’t have been more pleasant. The rooms are amazing, and not overdone like some other B&B's. Great reception, great service, and great location. I was treated like family, and it was the little touches that you often don't find, anywhere, anymore, that made it really special. I will definately stay there again, and this time bring my wife. She loves B&B's and she was so jealous when I showed her the picture of my room. Remember, why stay in an ordinary hotel chain when you can have the extrordinary at 502 South Main in Lexington, VA. (signed, VMI alumni, class of 1978).

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vabeach-engineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Owners couldn't have been nicer, more helpful and accommodations were first rate. Unfortunately had to catch an early plane so sadly missed what I'm sure was a delicious breakfast. Lexington is always such a treat to visit. Why spoil the experience staying anywhere else? I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taber S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

I have never taken the time to write a review; but must for 502 South Main. I can not recommend it highly enough. The rooms are beautiful and have everything a traveler might need. The Inn is in the Historic part of town, convenient to W&L and VMI. Russ and Mary Stuart could not have been more welcoming. My daughter and I were greeted with warm cookies and ice tea. When I asked for information on hiking trails, Mary Stuart not only provided a map with options; but drove me there the next day where we went on a 5 mile walk together! The breaksfasts were delicious. Russ and Mary Stuart have the perfect mix of attending to your every need without invading your privacy. The only problem is they have 3 rooms and not 30!

Lynn C

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

A high percentage of the reviews on this helpful website are very accurate and harshly candid, because most of the writers are discriminating, experienced travelers and diners.

But when I read the litany of five star reviews about 502 South Main Street B&B, I wondered to myself, how can it have 99% five stars and only one 4 star?

My wife and I stayed a few weeks back and even after a few weeks, and we're wholeheartedly adding our five star rating to the pack. Our son is wrapping up his W&L stint and we're kicking ourselves for not finding this oasis sooner. Why or why did we spend so many previous visits at those nearby worn-out options.

The owners genuinely care about your comfort and their brand. Their earnest and hardworking ethic coupled with discriminating decorating taste and a talented chef and server, combine for a memorable experience.

The rooms are nicely appointed with luxury thread-count sheets, and really, really, really comfortable beds and sitting areas.

So, next time, drive right past the dozens of downtrodden economy brands hovering on the outskirts of Lexington, and park your tuckus at 502 South Main. If you have a student at any of the nearby schools, do it sooner rather than later, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Circumspect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

My grand-daughter and I stayed at 502 this past week-end and cannot find words to express how much we enjoyed the entire experience. Russ and Mary Stuart have the knack for making you feel welcome and right at home. Their home is beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. Our room was just what we needed, and all the little extras that they provide were unexpected, but very much enjoyed. The food was delicious and beautifully served. We are already planning another girl's week-end,so we can go back.
As far as we are concerned, this was a Five Star experience.
Margaret and Haley

Room Tip: We stayed in the North Room. It was equipped with a King-size bed that could be made into two twins...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

I was on business and stayed here for two nights. The house is utterly charming, beautifully decorated and with every modern convenience. Mary and Rus could not have been more welcoming. Refreshment on arrival and a delicious breakfast. One of the most comfortable beds I have slept in for a long time.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank Dulwichsloper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.4 mi away
Robert E Lee Hotel
Robert E Lee Hotel
#5 of 16 in Lexington
186 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn at Hunt Ridge
1.9 mi away
Best Western Lexington Inn
Best Western Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lexington
2.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 16 in Lexington
91 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Georges
The Georges
#2 of 19 in Lexington
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 502 South Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 502 South Main

Address: 502 S Main St, Lexington, VA 24450-2308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range: $200 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 502 South Main 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk from historic Lexington's town center, 502 South Main is the discerning traveler's choice: finely appointed accommodations, close to restaurants, galleries, shops and the colleges. Offering 3 Guest rooms/1 Suite allows the owners at 502 South Main to provide First Class, personalized service in a gracious and relaxing atmosphere. Each morning guests look forward to a 3 course, gourmet breakfast. Homemade cookies, complimentary beverages and tasty snacks are available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your 502 South Main reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing