We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Outstanding B&B!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 502 South Main

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
502 South Main
Ranked #1 of 21 Lexington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding B&B!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

My husband arranged an anniversary weekend for us and found this jewel of a place. Mary Stuart and Russ were delightful hosts and the food did not disappoint, with little extras appearing daily! We also asked for a few special things and they went above and beyond to accommodate us. The house is conveniently located within walking distance of the downtown area and the two local colleges. Our room was spacious, comfortable, and beautifully decorated, and we enjoyed hearing about the history of the various paintings in the house.

We look forward to a return trip!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeAnn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
63
138
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

This is my favorite B&B in the world! We stay here when driving from CT to New Orleans. Impeccable place, outstanding hospitality. Exceeds all expectations. Mary and Russ really. take care of you. Also, extremely convenient. You will be charmed and spoiled. Plus Stonewall Jackson is buried a block away.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed here on our way up to see our son in NJ. The excellent reviews I read encouraged us to stay here, and we were not disappointed. Mary and Russ were very hospitable. The home is beautifully decorated, clean and charming. Our only regret is that we were only staying one night. We want to come back and explore this beautiful area, rich in beauty and history, and know that we can come home each night to quiet and comfort at 502 South Main.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kwade123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Mary and Russ were so generous and kind as hosts that you at once feel at ease. The house is decorated with exquisite taste and admirable restraint. If you are interested in art, there are paintings after Van Gogh and Gauguin properly in conversation across an archway. If ask about going to VMI campus, Russ will point out a painting of campus to illustrate key landmarks. If, in my case, your travel companion is not feeling well, Mary will kindly prepare a bland breakfast, and receive the request graciously even on New Year's morning.

The regular breakfasts are amazing, homemade bread AND jam, yogurt parfaits with homemade granola, and french toast with orange zest--I am not kidding! The rooms are equally well decorated with amazingly comfortable beds and ample space. Coffee and tea are available at all times. With all this, Mary and Russ also manage to be unobtrusive and discrete. I have never met a kinder pair of hosts.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoctorB65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Mary Stuart and Russ were the perfect hosts. They greeted us with a smile and provided the best hospitality imaginable. The Inn was very comfortable, clean, and beautifully decorated for Christmas. Mary Stuart offered us hot tea by the fire and we were able to review menus of the local restaurants - most of which are within walking distance of the Inn. After a restful night's sleep, we were served a most delicious breakfast (sausage and egg casserole in an individual ramekin, fresh fruit, toast, juice and freshly baked gingerbread muffins). I will definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goandgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

502 South Main is a gem! Located within easy walking distance of downtown Lexington, this B&B is beautifully and comfortably decorated and showcases the owners' eclectic interests and global travels. The breakfast is plentiful, delicious, and healthful. The innkeepers hit just the right balance -- warm and helpful without being overbearing.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WVfanCharleston_WV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

Admittedly, we have not stayed at tons of B&Bs, particularly in our younger years traveling with children. Now that we are empty-nesters, it is a trend that is on the upswing for us and we were so glad to include 502 South Main in our experiences. The reviews are spot on when they discuss the beautiful and spacious room and bathroom. Mary Stuart and Russ are incomparable hosts and we didn't lack for a thing. The breakfast was perfectly prepared and plentiful. The fresh baked cookies on arrival were also very welcome. This was our first visit to Lexington, VA, and we enjoyed the close proximity to downtown and enjoyed the restaurants that were recommended. We look forward to future visits to this lovely town and plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wetravelKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District
0.4 mi away
Robert E Lee Hotel
Robert E Lee Hotel
#5 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Hunt Ridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center
2.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 502 South Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 502 South Main

Property: 502 South Main
Address: 502 S Main St, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 502 South Main 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk from historic Lexington's town center, 502 South Main is the discerning traveler's choice: finely appointed accommodations, close to restaurants, galleries, shops and the colleges. Offering 3 Guest rooms/1 Suite allows the owners at 502 South Main to provide First Class, personalized service in a gracious and relaxing atmosphere. Each morning guests look forward to a 3 course, gourmet breakfast. Homemade cookies, complimentary beverages and tasty snacks are available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your 502 South Main reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing