We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 502 South Main

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
502 South Main
Ranked #1 of 21 Lexington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newport News
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We planned a family reunion weekend at this beautiful Bed and Breakfast. Mary Stuart and Russ welcomed us with the most cordial hospitality we've experienced anywhere. The house is warm and welcoming. The rooms, comfortable and well appointed, and the food, far beyond our expectations. Mary Stuart is quite an accomplished chef. This place and these hosts are gems. We shall be back soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
122
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
National Harbor, Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

What a wonderful weekend to spend at a B&B with gracious innkeepers that assist in providing a trip you'll want to repeat. In this historic quaint town, with wonderful history, scenery and restaurants, Russ and Mary Staurt provide a beautiful, clean, and comfortable home away from home. Mary Stuart is a Chef that prepares a masterful breakfast and will address any special dietary needs. We travel a lot have have been to quite a few B&B's. This ranks very high and you can not be dissappointed. Go, stay, and enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank forthekauz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

My boyfriend and I came for the Veterans Day weekend complimentary night's stay for retired military. The house was beautiful and the food was amazing. Russ and Mary Stuart are so warm and gracious, we felt right at home. Their home had personal paintings and family items that added to the cozy feeling. An added bonus was the charming town and the opportunity to visit our former students (we both formerly taught high school) who were attending nearby, VMI. Mary Stuart even offered to take goodies to our students at VMI. We will definitely return to see you Russ and Mary Stuart you are the best!

From Frankie and Sharon

Room Tip: We stayed in the South Room and it is definitely fit for a king!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharey64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

The Harlow's were simply wonderful hosts. The B&B is one of, if not the nicest that we've discovered. A beautiful home within close proximity to downtown. We chose the "South" room, huge room, sitting area, master bath with walk-in shower + claw-foot tub.., everthing was well appointed room and clean + a small refridgerator stocked with drinks, tv, etc. Breakfast was wonderful, an egg/sausage/grit soufflé the first day and french toast the second - so good it didnt need syrup. We're looking for reasons to return to Lex so we can stay again soon.

Room Tip: The south room is the largest - we peaked in the others, all well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank we_ther_yet_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed at the B&B for our wedding anniversary and Mary Stuart and Russ were the most wonderful hosts! They were very warm and friendly and had a LOT of information in what to see and do.

We stayed in the East room. The room and bathroom was beautiful and immaculate. There were wonderful extras including snacks in the afternoon and a nightly turndown service. Breakfast in the morning was delicious! We had a quiche and even caramel pecan French toast.

I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone staying in the area! I feel like we left with two new friends and a new favorite place to visit!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jmucci07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

502 South Main is a beautiful house surrounded by a lovely yard. Our room was spacious and comfortable. We enjoyed meeting Mary Stuart and Russ and our fellow guests. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Russ and Mary Stuart couldn't be more gracious, helpful and hospitable. My room was large, extremely comfortable and kitted out with anything you could want. The common areas indoor and outdoor are great. Mary Stuart cooks up a wonderful and plentiful breakfast every morning, and there are lots of little extras they shower you with. You're a short walk to town and campuses of both schools. Ample parking behind thd house.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unionsq212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District
0.4 mi away
Robert E Lee Hotel
Robert E Lee Hotel
#9 of 16 in Lexington
3.5 of 5 stars 95 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Hunt Ridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lexington
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 stars 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 502 South Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 502 South Main

Property: 502 South Main
Address: 502 S Main St, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 502 South Main 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk from historic Lexington's town center, 502 South Main is the discerning traveler's choice: finely appointed accommodations, close to restaurants, galleries, shops and the colleges. Offering 3 Guest rooms/1 Suite allows the owners at 502 South Main to provide First Class, personalized service in a gracious and relaxing atmosphere. Each morning guests look forward to a 3 course, gourmet breakfast. Homemade cookies, complimentary beverages and tasty snacks are available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your 502 South Main reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing