We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Place in Lexington” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 502 South Main

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
502 South Main
Ranked #1 of 18 Lexington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
McMurray, Pennsylvania
1 review
“The Best Place in Lexington”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

The 502 South Main Bed & Breakfast is the best place to stay in Lexington. Mary Stewart and Russ really make you feel at home. The rooms are well appointed, the bathrooms spacious, and a rocking chair on the porch is great to watch the world go by. To start the day, Mary Stewart provides a wonderful breakfast (my favorite is the crab and artichoke souffle). She even accomodates my wife's gluten allergy. We have stayed in many B&B's and hotels in town and this is our favorite by far.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
64
142
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

Lovely rooms, clean and pretty, comfortable atmosphere, just a really nice stay... maybe the breakfast was lacking in the usual food items, like toast, cereal and such. We would definately like to return one of these days.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

We had a great experience at this B&B! Such amazing food, service and accommodations. Russ and Mary Stuart are so friendly and care to your every need. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 912lovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

This place rightly deserves 9 out of 10. If you are new to Lexington and its surroundings then Mary S and Ross are the people to talk to. They are extremely kind and they tended to our every need. The place is located within walking distance from downtown, about 4 minutes. The house is large, warm, not big on antiques, simple but classy. With a real fireplace the living room would be perfect! The rooms are almost immaculate and the bathrooms spacious and bright. The huge mattress was a bit saggy for my taste. Breakfast is very generous and the spinach and egg soufflé with cinnamon apple tasty, if you are a big eater fresh fruit, homemade cake and cereals are also available. It is slightly pricey but you get an excellent service. I would gladly return if the top 3 places in town are fully booked.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petitprince2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY NY USA
Level Contributor
128 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

Mary Stuart and her husband Ross purchased this village inn this spring. 502 Main Street is perfection in every way. Designer decorated with elegance and charm you can rest luxuriously here in warmth and comfort. The dining room and parlor are chic and at the same time radiate relaxation.
We stayed in the East Suite with a huge canopied bed, period furniture and a fireplace. The bathroom is as up to date as you can get. Beautifully tiled, slick and modern white still retaining the charm of the Inn. The Inn combines the best of country charm and elegance with modernity where it is welcome.
Highest recommendation. You will love your hosts.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, NJ, USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

A visit to this wonderful, quaint and charming village definitely requires an overnight stay at Russ and Mary Stuart's 502 South Main B&B. You will receive friendly and personal treatment, as well as immaculate accommodations and a fabulous, freshly prepared breakfast. The B&B is wonderfully decorated, however, it is more beautiful than the few photos on their website, which we did suggest to the owners to update. It is within walking distance of the restaurants, shops, colleges and various historical attractions. We will definitely recommend these accommodations to our friends and family and any future travelers to this area of Virginia.

Room Tip: All rooms are unique and tastefully decorated.....the bathrooms are to die for!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NJCatLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

We chose 502 South Main to lodge this past weekend. Our dear friends joined us there so we occupied two of the three rooms available. Do not let the limited photos on the website discourage you. I can assure you the king and queen rooms were tastefully decorated and absolutely pristine.The owners of this B and B went out of their way to provide all the extra nuances we could ever want. The breakfasts for two days were fabulous! We were within easy walking distance of downtown. All in all, our experience was outstanding. We would heartily recommend this home. You will leave knowing you have made two new friends in the owners. We will return as soon as we can!

Room Tip: One room has a king, one has a queen and the third room has two twins. So your need should determine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.4 mi away
Robert E Lee Hotel
Robert E Lee Hotel
#5 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Hunt Ridge
2.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center
0.5 mi away
The Georges
The Georges
#3 of 18 in Lexington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 502 South Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 502 South Main

Property: 502 South Main
Address: 502 S Main St, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 502 South Main 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk from historic Lexington's town center, 502 South Main is the discerning traveler's choice: finely appointed accommodations, close to restaurants, galleries, shops and the colleges. Offering 3 Guest rooms/1 Suite allows the owners at 502 South Main to provide First Class, personalized service in a gracious and relaxing atmosphere. Each morning guests look forward to a 3 course, gourmet breakfast. Homemade cookies, complimentary beverages and tasty snacks are available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your 502 South Main reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing