We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice chapel and good museum”

Lee Chapel and Museum
Ranked #2 of 27 things to do in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice chapel and good museum”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

General Lee built this chapel for the university and was laid to rest here after his death. The chapel upstairs is not consecrated as a church and was more of an assembly area. It is dominated by the large marble statue of General Lee resting under a blanket. You can go up close to it and examine it and it is a fine bit of sculpture, though there is an oddity about the way the sword is carved - look carefully to see if you notice the anomaly.
Downstairs the museum is focussed on Lee's office as he left it when he died and his achievements as the president of the Washington-Lee university rather than his military career. It was good to see another side to this remarkable man. There are also George Washington items displayed and the museum gift shop has a lot of books about Lee and the Civil War rather than the more usual "gifts".
There is no fee to enter but a "recommended" donation of $5 per visitor is suggested.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank apq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    73
    15
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Shrine”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

One of the great men history is buried here. Had it not been for the War for Southern Independence, Robert E. Lee would have disappeared into the mists of history. As he is an inspiration to all, not only in his military accomplishments, but in his role as an educator in a new united nation and a cultivated Southern gentleman.

Beautiful building build with contributions from the North and the South. Several of my fraternity brothers' names are inscribed on the marble roster of the Liberty Hall Volunteers, Company I, 4th Virginia Infantry, Stonewall Brigade, CSA; the roster is the first thing one sees upon entering the chapel.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great Small Museum and Gift Shop Under Lee Chapel At Washington & Lee University”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Lee Chapel and Museum is a wonderful historic site for history lovers, not only of the Civil War, but of our nation's history since its founding.. The buyers have assembled an impressive array of giftware, as well as rare and antique books, historic Staffordshire plates, and other memorabilia for collectors. I found pieces related to George Washington that I love last spring and the buyer was able to find more items for me to purchase in October. The Museum and Gift Shop staff are well informed and very helpful.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pretty building with interesting history”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were lucky enough to go to a wedding there. The chapel is very beautiful inside and we loved the history to it - well worth a visit if you are in the area, especially if you are into civil was history. There is also a free museum underneath the chapel and you can see general Lee's resting place and other family members are downstairs in tombs.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank scottycamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent museum and beautiful chapel”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Historical displays on Washington and Lee very interesting. Also we were very interested in Civil War history.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lee Chapel and Museum also viewed

 

Been to Lee Chapel and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing