We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Southern History” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stonewall Jackson House

Stonewall Jackson House
Ranked #4 of 24 things to do in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
montreat
Level Contributor
148 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Southern History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had picked up a free pass at the Visitors Center right down the street or we may not have paid the fee to get in. However, we found the tour to be very informative so I am glad we went

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank trimic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    63
    30
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was our guide's maiden voyage and he did a wonderful job! I enjoy history but have never been particularly drawn to the Civil War. I learned so much about Jackson and his family and have a greater respect for the man. The guide took time to answer all of our questions. Unfortunately, it was raining so we did not get to explore what looked like a beautiful garden in the back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank alisonwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almond, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stonewall's home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Very interesting. Learned a lot about the man prior to the civil war. Very interesting character, and very nice home in Lexington. Really enjoyed the tour and the tour guide was very informative.
It was possible to learn about the man by observing how he lived, what was important to him, how he prepared for his teaching lesson each evening, etc. As a civil war buff I have some knowledge of Stonewall's war achievements, but no knowledge of his pre-war life.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Interesting and Personable Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This one is well worth the few dollars for admission. It's great education for those of use who have forgot what we learned in grade school. Easy walking access to VMI and other places of interest.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank D F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
222 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Interesting Tour of the House”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The House doesn't look like much from the outside, but the tour was very interesting. Guide was very informative and knew lots of stories. Small but good gift shop.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyTTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stonewall Jackson House also viewed

 

Been to Stonewall Jackson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing