We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not judge the man by his location”

Stonewall Jackson House
Ranked #4 of 27 things to do in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Damascus, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Do not judge the man by his location”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I continue to be fascinated with the stories of the Southern generals. What a shame for some of these men to wind up in the wrong side of history! This house gives wonderful insight, not only on the period lifestyle and culture, but also on the character of General Thomas J. Jackson. The tour only takes half hour, and the grounds are relatively small, so this place can most definitely be fully appreciated in less than one hour.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank gianessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    74
    34
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glenpool, Oklahoma, USA
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
148 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Stonewall's Home”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Interesting place to visit. Even if you aren't a huge Stonewall Jackson fan, this is worth the stop and visit. Always like to look into old homes and they have a lot of original furniture. we enjoyed the gardens out back too. With Washington & Lee University and VMI just up the street and a nice historic small town feel in Lexington it's a nice place.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank slas86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stonewall Jackson House”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you want to learn about Stonewall Jackson, this is a great place to start. The fifteen minute movie was very good and well worth watching. The little lady working in the gift shop could have been there since Jackson's time and we sincerely worried about her as the crowds of visitors started arriving and she had to work the register by herself!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Interesting Museum”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Worth a visit the guide was knowledgeable and the house interesting with lots of period furniture. Easy to find just up the street from the visitors centre.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great house, interesting history, knowledgeable guide”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My 15 year old daughter and I took a little trip from our campground at Natural Bridge KOA into Lexington to see the Virginia Horse Center and, while in Lexington, visited Jackson's house. We were too late to see the video, but from what other reviewers are saying, we may be glad that we missed it as the guide repeated most of the video.

Anyway, our guide was very long winded, but extremely knowledgeable of the house, the Jacksons, and even answered some pretty good questions about the house and the adjoining street that was much steeper than we see it today as observed by going outside to the opposite side of the street and seeing the original stone foundation being exposed whereas in Jackson's day, the main entrance was street level (now you have to climb stairs).

I got in trouble for leaning on the doorjamb while the guide spoke. He professionally stated, "Please do not lean on the walls, thank you." Of course was my reply and nothing more was mentioned of it. I'm not sure why leaning on a wall is dangerous unless there are issues behind that wall that need to be addressed.

Regardless, we learned some interesting antectdotal information about Jackson and his wife and how they lived, especially the fact that Jackson taught at VMI with no teaching background and would only know the material to teach the day before he would have to teach it. He was such a perfectionist, he would read the text book the day before (standing up I might add as he had acid reflux and believed standing helped with his digestive system) while in the study, then adjourn to the parlor and sit, face the wall, and rehearse his lesson for the next day for at least an hour. Only then would you be allowed to interrupt Jackson. Any time before that he would have to start the whole rehearsal over again.

Interestingly enough, for fun and exercise, he would have his wife play the piano and he would dance! Oh, only if the drapes were closed as he lived near the corner of the Methodist Church!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank vwbeetle72jellybeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stonewall Jackson House also viewed

 

Been to Stonewall Jackson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing