We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and solemn!”

Stonewall Jackson Grave
Ranked #5 of 27 things to do in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Harrisburg Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful and solemn!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

It was beautiful and quiet. Of course there were lemons there! It was a must see for us as earlier in the week we were at Ellwood where his arm is buried. Also his family plot is just up the path from him. And there are other Civil War soldiers there. A great piece of American history!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank sunsetbeach0718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    56
    21
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Indian Shores, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
435 reviews
163 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Stonewall stands tall”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Mr Jackson has the prime spot in the middle of this very old graveyard. It is difficult to miss it, there is a huge statue of him in the middle of the graveyard. There are other notables also interned. You can park across the street for free.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank millc54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince William County, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“We found him in the cemetery at dusk.”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

You would think walking through a cemetery would be creepy. I think knowing that we were in the present of such honorable men and women helped us to feel at ease. What do you think?

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A nice piece of history”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We enjoyed the cemetery and the old grave markers. Take some water it was hot in the sunny areas. It's hilly so be prepared.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Carla1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Tons of history here.”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I had trouble finding it, but once I did it was cool to see. I don't hang out in many cemetaries, but enjoyed seeing where Stonewall and his family were laid to rest. It's on Main Street but head west of downtown before turning onto Main. His original grave is straight north of the statue where he now lays.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank fischman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stonewall Jackson Grave also viewed

 

Been to Stonewall Jackson Grave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing