We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Bring your pet and be ready to rest and relax!”
other travelers have booked this property
A Sunset at this Lexington VA Cabin rental is Jaw Dropping! Call today!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A Sunset at this Lexington VA Cabin rental is Jaw Dropping! Call today!
Windymile is A Shenandoah Valley Cabin for rent near The VA Horse Center and Lexington VA. Windymile. Think 'Bed and Breakfast'.  We have the beds. You bring the breakfast.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
34 reviews
A Sunset at this Lexington VA Cabin rental is Jaw Dropping! Call today!
Windymile is A Shenandoah Valley Cabin for rent near The VA Horse Center and Lexington VA.
Windymile. Think 'Bed and Breakfast'.  We have the beds. You bring the breakfast.
Windymile cabin for rent has a full size kitchen complete with a dishwasher
Windymile offers a newly constructed cabin near lexington and the va horse center
A windymile cabin sunset over the blue ridge mountains and the shenandoah valley.
The patio from this lexington va cabin rental offers wonderful views of the blue ridge mountains.
A windymile cabin sunset looking towards Big House mountain near lexington.
A view through the window of windymile cabin is of Big Butte mountain, near lexington VA.
A clean modern spacious kitchen with a dishwasher at this lexington va cabin for rent.
Windymile cabin has a great view of the shenandoah valley , and Goshen wildlife management area.
A Windymile sunset over hogback mountain is worth a trip to the mountains. Call windymile today.
The windymile kitchen is full sized, and combines with the living area. Comfortable for a group!
The Goshen wildlife management area comes into view from the patio at windymile cabin.
VMI and W&L sit at the base of Big House mountain near Lexington VA. This rental has the views!
Situated between Goshen Pass and the va horse center, windymile cabin offers views and more!
The outdoor Fireplace at this Cabin for rent near lexington VA overlooks outstanding mountain views!
Relax in the front yard at windymile cabin. With no curbs or steps, this  cabin is ideal for seniors
A windymile cabin skyline looks towards lexington va. Views of the shenandoah valley are awesome!
Seniors will appreciate the single level access and wide doorways at this lexington va cabin rental.
Newly built in 2010, windymile cabin is located near Goshen Pass and the va horse center.
A sunrise at windymile cabin takes in Big Butte Mountain and the eastern flank of the Allegenys.
The new fireplace at Windymile Cabin near lexington va is awesome!
An afternoon sunset at windymile cabin rental is worth a trip to the rockbridge area. call today!
Shade in the summer at windymile cabin rental. Pitch horseshoes, or go swimming at goshen pass.
Lexington VA, VMI and W & L are just 10 miles from windymile cabin.  Goshen Pass is a few miles away
Sunrise at windymile looking toward the goshen wildlife management area
A Kayakers dream! 5 minutes to put in at Goshen Pass.
With thousands of acres of national forest surround windymile cabin. Go hiking today!
jump is a part of the little north mountain wildlife area, and is if full view from windymile cabin.
Lexington Va mountain Cabin Rentals
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Lexington, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lovattm
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bring your pet and be ready to rest and relax!”
Reviewed September 6, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Booked Windymile for Labor Day weekend 2014. We travel with our pet and found this cabin to be the perfect place. Exactly as described only, this cabin is clean and efficient. The property is double fenced in so no need to worry about your pet. Outdoor fire pit (fire place) is outstanding and absolute enjoyment each night. Definitely stay out doors as much as you can and enjoy the long range views of the beautiful mountains. Sunsets were fantastic. Easy to find cabin and owners were wonderful. This is an absolute must if you want to bring fido and get some R&R. Lots of things to do near Lexington so check out the sites!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLGolden
Rockaway, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You need to stay here”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Great place to stay,
Awesome views do not miss the sunset.
Owners are very nice and know the area and can answer questions.
Our three boys (golden retrievers) loved the yard.
We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: the views
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2014
Glad to have you! please come again. Thanks for the review!
-Dave
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cloffutt
Deer Isle, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great spot . . . could use a touch more comfort”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We rented this instead of a chain motel room while passing through the area. This is not really a cabin but a small house, simple arranged and quite adequate. We really appreciated the owner's accommodating us on short notice. Our dog had the run of a 2 acre enclosure. The one suggestion we make is to improve the bed situation. The mattresses sunk in so much that we found ourselves rolling toward each other and decided to sleep in separate beds in order to get a good night's sleep. Also, supply blankets that are correctly sized. The ones on there are a size too small so it's easy to roll over and pull the covers off your partner.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The beds
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 31, 2013
We are glad we were able to accommodate you on short notice, and for just one night!
That there is a mattress store on virtually every corner of the US is an illustration of the difficulty of finding the perfect mattress.
Windymile purchased new bed sets this past fall for Dixon Cabin. One Full size, and One Queen size. One a bit firmer than the other. These were not Low end Mattresses, but very nice Serta Sleeper sets. Imagine my disappointment to read a negative comment about them, I am at a loss. Guests commented that the prior beds were too firm.
It just isn't possible to provide every guest with the bed they are used to at home.
Windymile does not boast that it offers luxury accommodations, or that it is the Hilton, but rather a value rich choice for those needing a clean, quiet getaway. We built this unit to appeal to travelers that were looking for what we search for.
Windymile Cabin is extra clean, and an outstanding value, starting at $125 per night for 4 guests. No other Lodging options in Lexington VA offer such prices, or cleanliness with NEW bedding.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick M
Oneonta, New York
Level 6 Contributor
406 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Shenandoah Serenity yet close to attractions”
Reviewed December 4, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We actually stayed at the Adair Hill Cottage, also run by the same folks - great folks, by the way!! We give Five Stars!! Adair Cottage was a perfect respite for our family - we spent the couple days before and after Thanksgiving and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Wonderful scenery...very quiet and peaceful with Shenandoah sunrises that you hear stories of. We spent time every night just marveling over the stars...wow, is all I can say!!

It is very close to many attractions...Lexington, hiking (Goshen Pass is a must-see!!)) and historical sites (including the infamous Foamhenage!)

The cottage is spacious - plenty of room for a large family - we had three couples and two dogs...and all were very happy!

We look forward to coming back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location - serenity and quiet, yet close to Lexington and many attractions, natural and historical
Liked least: Our stay wasn't longer!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Reviewed October 12, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HeathRF
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cute Cabin”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We stayed in the Adair house. It was a great size for 4 people, and it was nice to have the optional 3rd bedroom if we had extra guests come. Dave is really easy to work with. The house is very clean and pretty, the deck is awesome, and the fire pit outside is great! Plenty of chairs is a plus too! The kitchen has everything you need. It would be nice to have the second bathroom open knowing that there is one, but you have to pay more for it. At least it keeps the cost down if you don't need it. The location is pretty nice, very secluded place, not too far from Lexington. There are a few local breweries that are not too far - worth checking out. My only complaint was that there was not much to do in the cabin, one day was rainy and there are no games or good movies, (with the smallest tv I have ever seen). Cell phone is very spotty but actually better than I thought it would be! Overall a great cabin and we would go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: THe cabin was clean and pretty
Liked least: Nothing to do - no boardgames, internet, TV, etc
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoofire
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spartan chic”
Reviewed March 21, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We (wife, myself & 2 dogs) were looking to get away for the weekend. I found this cabin and thought it would be a good fit. Well it wasn't horrible but I would call it spartan at best. If you were getting ready to go into minimum security prison this would be a good start.
The furniture in the common room was This End Up style. Crate like and not comfortable, that's why it is found in dorm rooms and firehouses across the country. The bed on the other hand could not have been found in another place. I'm pretty sure the pads in our dogs crates were thicker and more comfortable. The floors are concrete and there is one rug by the door and maybe one in the bathroom ie: cold floors. The bathroom was small with a 2 x 2 shower, mismatched towels and no shelves to put anything on. The kitchen stole the show. Nice fridge, oven and fairly well stocked it seemed.
Although advertised as fenced in, it is not, there are farm gates that have no wire on them and passages underneath that I could get through.
I have stayed in state and national park cabins that are nicer. Although the owners didn't come over and we saw them only a few times outside the cabin is not private. We rented two nights and left after one.
Beautiful view from the property

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 20, 2013
Thanks to "Spartan Chic" for enabling us to more clearly spell out who we are and what our wonderful Lexington VA Cabin has to offer.
Dixon cabin is a preferred getaway for guests who recognize cleanliness, value, and don't need or want to pay for the trimmings of a resort.
We specifically built this as a getaway for folks like us..... Teachers with "teacher salaries" who want an exceptional, budget minded, clean getaway.
Canoeists, kayakers, hikers and bicyclists who frequent the area who want an affordable cozy nights getaway.
No other Lexington Virginia Cabin Rental offers our views, cleanliness, and prices.
The floors of Dixon Cabin are highly polished (very expensive) concrete......like a lot of counter tops these days.....Clean, shiny, Nice.
While the Shower does not have grab bars installed, it is a very spacious 36" x 36". The shower head is at 7+ feet with good pressure. A window is just to the side as you enter and exit. Bright white, and cheery.
Our Towel sets might not match, but they are not "Spartan".
Dixon Cabin is on an 80 acre farm well off of the highway, and our private residence is 400' away with 200 plus trees planted between. Some are still at nursery stage, but some are 20 to 30 feet tall.
My wife and I live on site, do not have children, are very quiet, and are going to leave you alone, unless you need us.
The fence around Dixon Cabin is Woven Wire farm fencing and the area is 2 1/2 acres. Areas under gates and fences where a dog might slip through have been secured with "green-no-climb" fence panels. This isn't to say that "an escape artist" won't find a way out, or that a guest won't find passage underneath that they could get through, but on an 80 acre farm without a nearby road or traffic, your pet isn't in harms way, and most guests probably won't be sliding under the fence network.
I (David) personally selected the mattresses, as I have some back pain. I've gotten the best nights sleep that I have ever had on these mattresses. We bought one for our private residence. (You simply cannot make everyone happy where a mattress is concerned).
The furniture is "This end Up" crate furniture, with slip covers that we launder and change out routinely......great for a firehouse or a dorm.....or our residence......or a clean Cabin rental near Lexington Virginia. Clean and Spartan, but comfortable. When you walk in, it smells Garden Fresh.
There is a stainless steel shelving unit in the bathroom.
In short, this ain't the Hilton, but it is New, Clean, Fresh, has great views, is private, and is priced right.
We bend over backwards to keep it clean, and to make sure your stay is quiet and comfortable.
-Dave
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing