We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, Reasonable, and Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sheridan Livery Inn
Ranked #12 of 18 Lexington B&B and Inns
herndon va
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quaint, Reasonable, and Comfortable”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

This Inn has the look of a bed and breakfast, but the privacy and convenience of a very nice hotel. For us it was just the right mix. The room we stayed in (#10) was spacious and very comfortable. We wanted to stay in the historic area of Lexington, and the rate was comporable to chain hotels near the interstate. Check in was painless, and the reserved parking for each unit, was a nice touch. Without hesitation, will stay here again. Lovely, lovely building, and very nice owners.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linemanm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    13
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
19
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed for one night whilst travelling down the skyline/blue ridge parkway. We found the inn after the recommended one in our guide book was closed, and were given a very large room. It was clean, had wifi, free breakfast, good shower and a good location close to the nice restaurants in town. The only negative for us was that the heater was very loud. It was a bit dated but still very comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhea_L195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radford, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

My family and I stayed here for Thanksgiving. It was just what we wanted! The inn was clean and the staff friendly. Our bed was one of the most comfortable beds on which I have ever slept and the location of the hotel was perfect, right in downtown Lexington!
This might not be as "fancy" as some of the bed and breakfasts around town, but it still has its own charm and one can not beat the price.
We will tell our friends good things about the Sheridan Livery Inn and we hope to stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadLang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed here 1 night on a road trip. It's a great location, right downtown Lexington. Parking is free, and they include a free continental breakfast. Our room had a small refrigertor, which was nice. As long as your expectations are such that this is an old-school B&B, then this place fits the bill. The prorprietors are very welcoming and kind. The decor is more in keeping with the times of the building. Don't expect modernity here, but it's clean, spacious, and has everything you need for a good stay. In my opinion, it was a good value (the price was right for what you get). Note: there is no elevator, so you'll need to carry your bags up the stairs (fortunately, the staircase is very wide).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T-birdTraveler98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kittanning, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I stayed at Sheridan Livery Inn in the Fall 1999, and I'm please to report that nothing has changed upon my return in the Fall of 2013! Needless to say the Sheridan has a great location, though it is in desperate need of an interior and exterior renovation.

It lacks a dedicated reception area along with front desk personal, and an archaic method of requiring the room paid in full upon check-in. Additionally, my biggest complaint is that of the use of a "actual" room key not card, mind you I was in Romania a month before and did not have to use a "actual" key once. Disclaimer, I did lose my key and was subsequently charged $20 for the infraction.

You are paying for Location that' why I stayed, and obviously not the outdated rooms, lack of service, brass keys, cones in the parking space, mini fridge on the floor, and a horribly mislabeled continental breakfast. Overall, the Sheridan could be so much more, but it's not.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MillironJm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I thought it was a good value, however, no ice machine nor elevator-dinner was delicious and the managers were very nice, walking to anything related to VMI or W&L was a breeze-most popular restaurants are very close.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
3,133 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,038 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We recently made our fourth trip to Lexington, Virginia, a wonderful small town in the Shenandoah region that often is described as one of the best places in the country to retire. For history buffs, there is a lot of it, from Stonewall Jackson's home and gravesite, to the Lee Chapel on the Washington & Lee campus where Robert E. Lee is buried, to Virginia Military Institute (VMI) and the George C. Marshall library and museum. For accommodations during our three-day stay in Lexington, we decided to try something new. Sheridan Livery Inn on Main Street was highly recommended by Frommer's and Fodor's so we opted to give it a shot. We certainly weren't disappointed. Everything the travel experts said about it was true and then some. For location, there is nothing better. From the front door, you can walk to all of the historical sites. The Jackson house is in the backyard. Washington & Lee and Lee Chapel are across the street and up the hill. VMI is just around the corner. Jackson's cemetery is a refreshing morning walk down Main Street. Who could ask for more? The room was large and comfortable with a high ceiling. As a bonus, Sheridan Livery Inn has an outstanding but little publicized restaurant that got us up and going at breakfast and filled our appetites at dinner. Built in 1887 as a stable, the building was renovated and converted to a hotel in 1997. Hospitality is a plus. The owners are hands-on in the restaurant and always eager to please. The nightly specials are to die for. More people ought to be aware of this restaurant, which also offers outside patio dining. There is no elevator and there are 25 steps leading to the second floor. So if you don't like climbing stars, request a first-floor room. Credit young chef Franky Benincasa, son of co-owners Ugo and Gina Benincasa, and his wife Meredith for turning the kitchen and dining room into a four-star delight. He specializes in South Carolina Low Country style--he sold his restaurant in Charlottesville to come here--such as shrimp and sausage over cheese grits and grilled rainbow trout. Whatever he does, he does it right.

Room Tip: Request a first-floor room if you don't want to climb 25 steps (no elevator) to the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Taylor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.1 mi away
Robert E Lee Hotel
Robert E Lee Hotel
#7 of 16 in Lexington
167 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn at Hunt Ridge
1.4 mi away
Best Western Lexington Inn
Best Western Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 16 in Lexington
82 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lexington
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheridan Livery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheridan Livery Inn

Property: Sheridan Livery Inn
Address: 35 N Main St, Lexington, VA 24450-2520
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheridan Livery Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of picturesque Lexington, Virginia, The Sheridan Livery Inn is within walking distance to Virginia Military Institute, Washington & Lee University, and all of the downtown shops and restaurants. We are approximately ten minutes from the Virginia Horse Center and Lime Kiln Outdoor Theater. The twelve room inn features seven double rooms (queen and full bed in each), three suites (king bed and separate living room with a queen sofa bed), and two single rooms (one king bed)- all rooms have private baths, wireless internet access, and an iron. Off street parking is available for inn guests and a continental breakfast is included with your stay along with access to the offsite fitness center at the Robert E. Lee Hotel, and the offsite pool at the Lexington Golf and Country Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sheridan Livery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheridan Livery Hotel Lexington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing