We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly quiet, great location, nice service and great dinner!”

Sheridan Livery Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sheridan Livery Inn
Ranked #12 of 18 Lexington B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Surprisingly quiet, great location, nice service and great dinner!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I thought it was a good value, however, no ice machine nor elevator-dinner was delicious and the managers were very nice, walking to anything related to VMI or W&L was a breeze-most popular restaurants are very close.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    12
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
15
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2,781 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,780 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We recently made our fourth trip to Lexington, Virginia, a wonderful small town in the Shenandoah region that often is described as one of the best places in the country to retire. For history buffs, there is a lot of it, from Stonewall Jackson's home and gravesite, to the Lee Chapel on the Washington & Lee campus where Robert E. Lee is buried, to Virginia Military Institute (VMI) and the George C. Marshall library and museum. For accommodations during our three-day stay in Lexington, we decided to try something new. Sheridan Livery Inn on Main Street was highly recommended by Frommer's and Fodor's so we opted to give it a shot. We certainly weren't disappointed. Everything the travel experts said about it was true and then some. For location, there is nothing better. From the front door, you can walk to all of the historical sites. The Jackson house is in the backyard. Washington & Lee and Lee Chapel are across the street and up the hill. VMI is just around the corner. Jackson's cemetery is a refreshing morning walk down Main Street. Who could ask for more? The room was large and comfortable with a high ceiling. As a bonus, Sheridan Livery Inn has an outstanding but little publicized restaurant that got us up and going at breakfast and filled our appetites at dinner. Built in 1887 as a stable, the building was renovated and converted to a hotel in 1997. Hospitality is a plus. The owners are hands-on in the restaurant and always eager to please. The nightly specials are to die for. More people ought to be aware of this restaurant, which also offers outside patio dining. There is no elevator and there are 25 steps leading to the second floor. So if you don't like climbing stars, request a first-floor room. Credit young chef Franky Benincasa, son of co-owners Ugo and Gina Benincasa, and his wife Meredith for turning the kitchen and dining room into a four-star delight. He specializes in South Carolina Low Country style--he sold his restaurant in Charlottesville to come here--such as shrimp and sausage over cheese grits and grilled rainbow trout. Whatever he does, he does it right.

Room Tip: Request a first-floor room if you don't want to climb 25 steps (no elevator) to the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Taylor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
200 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I have been here several times when visiting my parents from Princeton, NJ. This restaurant has great food and good drink selections. The waitstaff has always been extremely nice. I come here whenever visiting my parents. Their chicken salad is awesome!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is our fourth trip to the Livery and once again it did not disappoint. Park your car in the parking lot and you won't need it again until you are ready to leave. The people that run the Livery are wonderful, treat you like family. Breakfast is very simple but if you want more there are several great places in town to grab a bite.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overton, England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

After a long day's motorcycling (from DC), we weren't even sure we wanted to stop in Lexington, I am SO glad we did. We found out about the hotel from the lovely lady at the tourist board, and it was just perfect - great price, comfortable well presented rooms, really excellent dinner (for about $20 the New York Strip was amazing, as were the local cocktails to celebrate my birthday!), decent breakfast choice (included in the price), and a decent bar over the street. Stonewall Jackson's grave and the General Lee memorial church were unexpected highlights and the whole town just had a great vibe (this is June remember so when VMI and the university are in full swing it must only get better!)

Room Tip: Upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank themotorcycleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, CT
Level Contributor
95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

We recently stayed as part of a larger group and found the accommodations very disappointing. We arrived to orange cones in our parking space that my husband had to get out of the car to move during a downpour. We then waited in the lobby for a while until someone came to the window to help us- though I use the term "help" loosely. There is no elevator and there is also no one willing to help carry your luggage upstairs. The rooms were clean and spacious but in need of some serious updating, including an overhaul of the heating ducts that blow like gale force winds on and off while you are trying to sleep! But the most disappointing part of the stay was the "continental breakfast." Not only was this a pitiful selection of foods, it was served by a very grumpy woman who stood and ate her breakfast and made the request for ice water seem like a request to move a mountain. Overall - not worth the money and we will not return.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CrazyaboutDiving88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2010

My wife and I went to Lexington to visit our niece, who attends W&L University. We stayed At Sheridan Livery Inn. It was fabulous, the room was clean, roomy and comfortable. We ate both lunch and dinner at the restaurant, the food was superb, and the service was great. The location in the heart of Lexington added to our enjoyment. Gina and her staff were pleasant, helpful and made us feel like family. When we return, we can't think of staying anywhere else. Thank you

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevedo1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.1 mi away
Robert E Lee Hotel
Robert E Lee Hotel
#5 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Hunt Ridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#10 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
1.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lexington
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheridan Livery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheridan Livery Inn

Property: Sheridan Livery Inn
Address: 35 N Main St, Lexington, VA 24450-2520
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheridan Livery Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Sheridan Livery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheridan Livery Hotel Lexington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing